Battle · 9 companies
Museum trading arms
The companies behind the gift shops, cafés and licensing. Which one takes the most?
Royal Collection Trust shops leads on 2 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Royal Collection Trust shops is the biggest by turnover at £72m, against £37m at Tate shops. Kew shops keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £31.20 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. British Museum shops files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Royal Collection Trust shops, Tate shops, Kew shops, V&A shops, Science Museum shops and National Gallery shops file for a single company, which flatters the group on size.
Accounts compared: Royal Collection Trust shops to Mar 2026 · Tate shops to Mar 2026 · Historic Royal Palaces shops to Mar 2025 · Kew shops to Mar 2026 · V&A shops to Mar 2026 · British Museum shops to Mar 2026 · English Heritage shops to Mar 2025 · Science Museum shops to Mar 2025 · National Gallery shops to Mar 2026
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Royal Collection Trust shopsRoyal Collection Enterprises Limited | £72m | +4.8% | £9m | 12.1% | 628 | £40,000 | £115,000 | £0.4m | £19m | Mar 2026 | Single company |
| 2 | Tate shopsTate Enterprises Ltd | £37m | +3.5% | £5m | 13.5% | 425 | £32,000 | £87,000 | £8m | £7m | Mar 2026 | Single company |
| 3 | Historic Royal Palaces shopsHistoric Royal Palaces Enterprises Limited | £30m | +0.6% | £8m | 28.5% | n/d | n/d | n/d | £55k | £7m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 4 | Kew shopsRBG Kew Enterprises Limited | £26m | +4.0% | £8m | 31.2% | 141 | £48,000 | £187,000 | £0.3m | £9m | Mar 2026 | Single company |
| 5 | V&A shopsV&A Enterprises Limited | £25m | +20.7% | £3m | 10.1% | 1,109 | £5,000 | £23,000 | £3m | £1.4m | Mar 2026 | Single company |
| 6 | British Museum shopsThe British Museum Company Limited | £23m | -1.9% | £1.7m | 7.5% | 58 | £50,000 | £398,000 | £50m | £21m | Mar 2026 | Group |
| 7 | English Heritage shopsEnglish Heritage Trading Limited | £22m | -4.3% | £0.9m | 4.2% | 147 | £38,000 | £151,000 | £2m | £0.3m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 8 | Science Museum shopsSCMG Enterprises Limited | £20m | -8.6% | £4m | 21.7% | 912 | £45,000 | £22,000 | £3m | £9m | Mar 2025 | Single company |
| 9 | National Gallery shopsNational Gallery Global Limited | £18m | +10.4% | £1.7m | 9.2% | 165 | £43,000 | £110,000 | £0.8m | £1.6m | Mar 2026 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
Royal Collection Trust shops
£72m
Most pre-tax profit
Royal Collection Trust shops
£9m
Highest profit margin
Kew shops
31.2%
Fastest-growing turnover
V&A shops
+20.7%
Biggest employer
V&A shops
1,109 staff
Highest pay per head
British Museum shops
£50,000
Most turnover per head
British Museum shops
£398,000
Largest net assets
British Museum shops
£50m
Most cash
British Museum shops
£21m
The Takeaway
- Kew shops converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £31.20 reaches pre-tax profit, against £4.20 at English Heritage shops.
- Royal Collection Trust shops is the largest on the top line, £72m of turnover, 2.0x Tate shops's £37m.
- V&A shops is growing fastest, turnover +20.7% on its own prior year. British Museum shops, English Heritage shops and Science Museum shops went backwards.
- V&A shops is the biggest employer with 1,109 people; British Museum shops pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £50,000.
- British Museum shops has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £50m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Kew shops keeps the most: £31.20 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. English Heritage shops keeps the least, £4.20.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each bar is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Royal Collection Trust shops (£72m), Tate shops (£37m), Historic Royal Palaces shops (£30m), Kew shops (£26m), V&A shops (£25m), British Museum shops (£23m), English Heritage shops (£22m), Science Museum shops (£20m), National Gallery shops (£18m).
By headcount, V&A shops leads with 1,109 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Royal Collection Trust shops to Mar 2026, Tate shops to Mar 2026, Historic Royal Palaces shops to Mar 2025, Kew shops to Mar 2026, V&A shops to Mar 2026, British Museum shops to Mar 2026, English Heritage shops to Mar 2025, Science Museum shops to Mar 2025, National Gallery shops to Mar 2026. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
V&A shops grew fastest, turnover +20.7% on its own prior year, ahead of National Gallery shops (+10.4%), Royal Collection Trust shops (+4.8%), Kew shops (+4.0%), Tate shops (+3.5%), Historic Royal Palaces shops (+0.6%), British Museum shops (-1.9%), English Heritage shops (-4.3%), Science Museum shops (-8.6%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
V&A shops employs the most, 1,109 people, against 912 at Science Museum shops.
British Museum shops has the highest average staff cost, about £50,000 a head; V&A shops the lowest, about £5,000.
British Museum shops brings in the most turnover per employee, about £398,000, against £22,000 at Science Museum shops. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Royal Collection Trust shops
628
employees, about £40,000 pay a head, £115,000 turnover a head, +6.4% on the year
Tate shops
425
employees, about £32,000 pay a head, £87,000 turnover a head, -3.6% on the year
Historic Royal Palaces shops
n/d
employees
Kew shops
141
employees, about £48,000 pay a head, £187,000 turnover a head, +3.7% on the year
V&A shops
1,109
employees, about £5,000 pay a head, £23,000 turnover a head, +7.5% on the year
British Museum shops
58
employees, about £50,000 pay a head, £398,000 turnover a head, +7.4% on the year
English Heritage shops
147
employees, about £38,000 pay a head, £151,000 turnover a head, -12.5% on the year
Science Museum shops
912
employees, about £45,000 pay a head, £22,000 turnover a head, -6.9% on the year
National Gallery shops
165
employees, about £43,000 pay a head, £110,000 turnover a head, +43.5% on the year
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by The Royal Collection Trust
A company recorded as a person with significant control.
Who owns Royal Collection Trust shops →
Tate Enterprises Ltd · 03173975Held by The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Tate shops →
Historic Royal Palaces Enterprises Limited · 03418583No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control.
Who owns Historic Royal Palaces shops →
RBG Kew Enterprises Limited · 02798886Held by The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
A company recorded as a person with significant control.
Who owns Kew shops →
V&A Enterprises Limited · 01955898No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns V&A shops →
The British Museum Company Limited · 01079888No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control.
Who owns British Museum shops →
English Heritage Trading Limited · 02970369Held by The English Heritage Trust
A company recorded as a person with significant control.
Who owns English Heritage shops →
SCMG Enterprises Limited · 02196149Held by The Board Of Trustees Of The Science Museum
An individual recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Science Museum shops →
National Gallery Global Limited · 02280277No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns National Gallery shops →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Royal Collection Trust shops | Tate shops | Historic Royal Palaces shops | Kew shops | V&A shops | British Museum shops | English Heritage shops | Science Museum shops | National Gallery shops |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | ROYAL COLLECTION ENTERPRISES LIMITED | TATE ENTERPRISES LTD | HISTORIC ROYAL PALACES ENTERPRISES LIMITED | RBG KEW ENTERPRISES LIMITED | V&A ENTERPRISES LIMITED | THE BRITISH MUSEUM COMPANY LIMITED | ENGLISH HERITAGE TRADING LIMITED | SCMG ENTERPRISES LIMITED | NATIONAL GALLERY GLOBAL LIMITED |
| Company number | 02778486 | 03173975 | 03418583 | 02798886 | 01955898 | 01079888 | 02970369 | 02196149 | 02280277 |
| Incorporated | 1993 | 1996 | 1997 | 1993 | 1985 | 1972 | 1994 | 1987 | 1988 |
| Accounts filed | 18 August 2026 | 25 July 2026 | 19 December 2025 | 17 July 2026 | 26 July 2026 | 7 September 2026 | 27 October 2025 | 15 December 2025 | 21 July 2026 |
| Turnover, prior year | £69m | £36m | £29m | £25m | £21m | £24m | £23m | £22m | £16m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | £7m | £5m | £8m | £8m | £0.8m | £6m | £1.3m | £5m | £4m |
| Staff costs | £25m | £14m | n/d | £7m | £6m | £3m | £6m | £41m | £7m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 35.1% | 37.0% | n/d | 25.7% | 23.4% | 12.6% | 25.2% | 204.1% | 39.4% |
| Employees, prior year | 590 | 441 | n/d | 136 | 1,032 | 54 | 168 | 980 | 115 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Museum trading arms: common questions
Who is the biggest of Royal Collection Trust shops, Tate shops, Historic Royal Palaces shops, Kew shops, V&A shops, British Museum shops, English Heritage shops, Science Museum shops or National Gallery shops?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m in the year to March 2026.
Which makes the most profit?
Royal Collection Trust shops: £9m pre-tax in the year to March 2026.
Which employs the most people?
V&A shops, with 1,109 employees in its latest accounts.
Royal Collection Trust shops or Tate shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £37m at Tate shops on their latest filings. On margin, Tate shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or Historic Royal Palaces shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £30m at Historic Royal Palaces shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or Kew shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £26m at Kew shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or V&A shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £25m at V&A shops on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Collection Trust shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or British Museum shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £23m at British Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Collection Trust shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or English Heritage shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £22m at English Heritage shops on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Collection Trust shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Royal Collection Trust shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
Royal Collection Trust shops, with turnover of £72m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Collection Trust shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or Historic Royal Palaces shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £30m at Historic Royal Palaces shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or Kew shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £26m at Kew shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or V&A shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £25m at V&A shops on their latest filings. On margin, Tate shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or British Museum shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £23m at British Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Tate shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or English Heritage shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £22m at English Heritage shops on their latest filings. On margin, Tate shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tate shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
Tate shops, with turnover of £37m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, Tate shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Historic Royal Palaces shops or Kew shops: which is bigger?
Historic Royal Palaces shops, with turnover of £30m against £26m at Kew shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Historic Royal Palaces shops or V&A shops: which is bigger?
Historic Royal Palaces shops, with turnover of £30m against £25m at V&A shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Historic Royal Palaces shops or British Museum shops: which is bigger?
Historic Royal Palaces shops, with turnover of £30m against £23m at British Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Historic Royal Palaces shops or English Heritage shops: which is bigger?
Historic Royal Palaces shops, with turnover of £30m against £22m at English Heritage shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Historic Royal Palaces shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
Historic Royal Palaces shops, with turnover of £30m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Historic Royal Palaces shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
Historic Royal Palaces shops, with turnover of £30m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, Historic Royal Palaces shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Kew shops or V&A shops: which is bigger?
Kew shops, with turnover of £26m against £25m at V&A shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Kew shops or British Museum shops: which is bigger?
Kew shops, with turnover of £26m against £23m at British Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Kew shops or English Heritage shops: which is bigger?
Kew shops, with turnover of £26m against £22m at English Heritage shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Kew shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
Kew shops, with turnover of £26m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Kew shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
Kew shops, with turnover of £26m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, Kew shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
V&A shops or British Museum shops: which is bigger?
V&A shops, with turnover of £25m against £23m at British Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, V&A shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
V&A shops or English Heritage shops: which is bigger?
V&A shops, with turnover of £25m against £22m at English Heritage shops on their latest filings. On margin, V&A shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
V&A shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
V&A shops, with turnover of £25m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
V&A shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
V&A shops, with turnover of £25m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, V&A shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
British Museum shops or English Heritage shops: which is bigger?
British Museum shops, with turnover of £23m against £22m at English Heritage shops on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
British Museum shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
British Museum shops, with turnover of £23m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
British Museum shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
British Museum shops, with turnover of £23m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
English Heritage shops or Science Museum shops: which is bigger?
English Heritage shops, with turnover of £22m against £20m at Science Museum shops on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
English Heritage shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
English Heritage shops, with turnover of £22m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Science Museum shops or National Gallery shops: which is bigger?
Science Museum shops, with turnover of £20m against £18m at National Gallery shops on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum shops keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
DIY and trade
Nailed it, or coming unstuck?
Screwfix · Toolstation · Wickes · B&Q
4 companies compared →
CONSUMER BRANDSProtein brands
Bulking up or cutting back: the accounts don't lie
MyProtein · Huel · Bulk · Grenade
4 companies compared →
CONSUMER BRANDSBritish activewear
Leggings on, gloves off
Gymshark · Castore · Tala · Represent
4 companies compared →
SUPERMARKETSSupermarkets
Unexpected item in the bagging area: a loser
Tesco · Asda · Aldi · Lidl · Waitrose
5 companies compared →