Battle · 4 companies

Protein brands

Bulking up or cutting back: the accounts don't lie

Huel leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. MyProtein is the biggest by turnover at £1,718m, against £254m at Huel. Huel keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £7.64 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. MyProtein and Huel file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Bulk files for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.

Accounts compared: MyProtein to Dec 2025 · Huel to Jul 2025 · Bulk to Dec 2024 · Grenade to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 MyProteinTHG PLC £1,718m -1.9% -£69m -4.0% 2,912 £52,000 £590,000 £425m £183m Dec 2025 Group
2 HuelHuel Limited £254m +18.6% £19m 7.6% 337 £79,000 £753,000 £78m £37m Jul 2025 Group
3 BulkSports Supplements Ltd £129m +4.6% -£1.0m -0.8% 373 £33,000 £345,000 £18m £3m Dec 2024 Single company
4 GrenadeGrenade (UK) Limited £81m -13.6% -£0.2m -0.3% 107 £56,000 £753,000 £45m £3m Dec 2024 n/d

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Huel converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £7.64 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £4.04 at MyProtein.
  2. MyProtein is the largest on the top line, £1,718m of turnover, 6.8x Huel's £254m.
  3. Huel is growing fastest, turnover +18.6% on its own prior year. MyProtein and Grenade went backwards.
  4. MyProtein is the biggest employer with 2,912 people; Huel pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £79,000.
  5. MyProtein has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £425m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Huel keeps the most: £7.64 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. MyProtein does worst, losing £4.04.

Financing bites hardest at MyProtein: £4.66 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £10.48 of every £100£10.48Financing: £0.35 of every £100Other costs: £81.53 of every £100Other costs£81.53Profit: £7.64 of every £100Profit £7.64HuelYear to Jul 2025£254mPayroll: £7.50 of every £100£7.50Other costs: £92.79 of every £100Other costs£92.79Loss (the costs beyond £100): £0.30 of every £100Loss £0.30GrenadeYear to Dec 2024£81mPayroll: £9.67 of every £100£9.67Financing: £0.82 of every £100Other costs: £90.29 of every £100Other costs£90.29Loss (the costs beyond £100): £0.78 of every £100Loss £0.78BulkYear to Dec 2024£129mPayroll: £8.75 of every £100£8.75Financing: £4.66 of every £100Other costs: £90.63 of every £100Other costs£90.63Loss (the costs beyond £100): £4.04 of every £100Loss £4.04MyProteinYear to Dec 2025£1,718m
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is MyProtein (£1,718m), Huel (£254m), Bulk (£129m), Grenade (£81m).

By headcount, MyProtein leads with 2,912 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: MyProtein to Dec 2025, Huel to Jul 2025, Bulk to Dec 2024, Grenade to Dec 2024. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

MyProtein£1,718mHuel£254mBulk£129mGrenade£81m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Huel grew fastest, turnover +18.6% on its own prior year, ahead of Bulk (+4.6%), MyProtein (-1.9%), Grenade (-13.6%).

Huel+18.6%Bulk+4.6%MyProtein-1.9%Grenade-13.6%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

MyProtein employs the most, 2,912 people, against 373 at Bulk.

Huel has the highest average staff cost, about £79,000 a head; Bulk the lowest, about £33,000.

Huel brings in the most turnover per employee, about £753,000, against £345,000 at Bulk. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureMyProteinHuelBulkGrenade
Registered nameTHG PLCHUEL LIMITEDSPORTS SUPPLEMENTS LTDGRENADE (UK) LIMITED
Company number06539496079075510565466106978658
Incorporated2008201220052009
Accounts filed30 June 20267 April 20264 October 202516 September 2025
Turnover, prior year£1,751m£214m£123m£93m
Pre-tax profit, prior year-£202m£14m£6m£12m
Staff costs£150m£27m£12m£6m
Payroll share of turnover8.7%10.5%9.7%7.5%
Employees, prior year7,12728534185
Dividends paidn/dn/d£1kn/d
Charges outstanding0550

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Protein brands: common questions

Who is the biggest of MyProtein, Huel, Bulk or Grenade?

MyProtein, with turnover of £1,718m in the year to December 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Huel: £19m pre-tax in the year to July 2025.

Which employs the most people?

MyProtein, with 2,912 employees in its latest accounts.

MyProtein or Huel: which is bigger?

MyProtein, with turnover of £1,718m against £254m at Huel on their latest filings. On margin, Huel keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

MyProtein or Bulk: which is bigger?

MyProtein, with turnover of £1,718m against £129m at Bulk on their latest filings. On margin, Bulk keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

MyProtein or Grenade: which is bigger?

MyProtein, with turnover of £1,718m against £81m at Grenade on their latest filings. On margin, Grenade keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Huel or Bulk: which is bigger?

Huel, with turnover of £254m against £129m at Bulk on their latest filings. On margin, Huel keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Huel or Grenade: which is bigger?

Huel, with turnover of £254m against £81m at Grenade on their latest filings. On margin, Huel keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Bulk or Grenade: which is bigger?

Bulk, with turnover of £129m against £81m at Grenade on their latest filings. On margin, Grenade keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.