Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

National Gallery shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

National Gallery Global Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to March 2026 it reported turnover of £18m.

£18m
Turnover, up 10.4%
£1.7m
Pre-tax profit
165
Employees
Registered name
NATIONAL GALLERY GLOBAL LIMITED
Company number
02280277
Status
Active
Incorporated
26 July 1988
Registered office area
West-Central London
Industry code on the register
47789: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 21 July 2026

What does National Gallery shops do?

National Gallery Global is the trading company of the National Gallery in London, running its shops, cafés and restaurants. It sells books, prints and gifts in the gallery's shops and through an online shop, including prints made to order from paintings in the collection. It also publishes books, licenses images through its picture library and hires out spaces for events and filming. Its income goes to support the National Gallery.

In brief: trading arm of the National Gallery · shops, online shop and cafés · publishing and image licensing · venue hire

Source: National Gallery shops' own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns National Gallery shops?

National Gallery Global Limited, company number 02280277, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs National Gallery shops?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for National Gallery Global Limited.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Rune Michael Gustafson11 April 2008
Dr Gabriele Maria Finaldi30 October 2015
James Nicholas Lambert Obe7 February 2022
Anne Pitcher8 February 2023
Jose Luis Duran Schulz8 February 2023
Leonie Victoria Foster19 July 2023
Susan Jane Noonan4 September 2023
Joanna Mary Prosser25 July 2025
Andrew William Hibbert9 February 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did National Gallery shops file?

National Gallery Global Limited reported turnover of £18m in the year to March 2026. That was up 10.4% on £16m the year before.

It reported 165 employees. The year before it reported 115.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.7m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £4m the year before.

Staff costs came to £7m. That is an average of £43,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.6m at the bank and net assets of £0.8m.

Mar 2026£39.39£51.42£9.19 profit
Mar 2025£28.90£49.35£21.76£21.76 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£18m£16m
Pre-tax profit£1.7m (filed)£4m (filed)
Employees165115
Staff costs£7m£5m
Average staff cost per head£43,000£41,000
Bank and cash£1.6m£2m
Net assets£0.8m£0.8m
Interest received£28k
Directors' pay£0.3m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against National Gallery shops?

National Gallery Global Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
The Trustees of the National Gallery Trust23 December 2000

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

National Gallery shops files as National Gallery Global Limited, with turnover of £18m in its latest filed year.

Questions about National Gallery shops

What does National Gallery shops do?

National Gallery Global is the trading company of the National Gallery in London, running its shops, cafés and restaurants. It sells books, prints and gifts in the gallery's shops and through an online shop, including prints made to order from paintings in the collection. It also publishes books, licenses images through its picture library and hires out spaces for events and filming. Its income goes to support the National Gallery.

Who owns National Gallery shops?

National Gallery Global Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does National Gallery shops make?

National Gallery Global Limited reported turnover of £18m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.7m.

How many people work at National Gallery shops?

National Gallery Global Limited reported 165 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs National Gallery shops?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for National Gallery Global Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from National Gallery Global Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02280277, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “National Gallery shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/national-gallery-global/. Figures from Companies House filings for NATIONAL GALLERY GLOBAL LIMITED (02280277).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings