Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed December 2025

Science Museum shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

SCMG Enterprises Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is The Board Of Trustees Of The Science Museum. In the year to March 2025 SCMG Enterprises Limited reported turnover of £20m.

£20m
Turnover, down 8.6%
£4m
Pre-tax profit
912
Employees
Registered name
SCMG ENTERPRISES LIMITED
Company number
02196149
Status
Active
Incorporated
19 November 1987
Registered office area
South West London
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 15 December 2025

What does Science Museum shops do?

SCMG Enterprises is the trading company of the Science Museum Group, running shops, catering and other commercial services across its museums. It operates across the Science Museum, National Railway Museum, National Science and Media Museum, Science and Industry Museum and Locomotion. Its income comes from on-site and online retail, cinemas and simulators, catering, corporate hire, brand licensing, image sales and publishing. Set up in 1988, it is wholly owned by the Group and its profits support the museums.

In brief: trading arm of the Science Museum Group · shops, catering and cinemas · corporate hire and licensing · founded 1988

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 27 September 2026. Official website: sciencemuseumgroup.org.uk.

Who owns Science Museum shops?

SCMG Enterprises Limited
Science Museum shops · company 02196149
The Board Of Trustees Of The Science Museum
Individual

The Companies House register records The Board Of Trustees Of The Science Museum as the person with significant control of SCMG Enterprises Limited, company number 02196149.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Science Museum shops?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for SCMG Enterprises Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Sir Ian Craig Blatchford2 November 2010
Shri Mukundagiri1 March 2020
Nicolas Michel Sebastien Raynaud26 March 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Science Museum shops file?

SCMG Enterprises Limited reported turnover of £20m in the year to March 2025. That was down 8.6% on £22m the year before.

It reported 912 employees. The year before it reported 980.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £4m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £41m. That is an average of £45,000 a head. It ended the year with £9m at the bank and net assets of £3m.

Mar 2025£78.31£21.69£21.69 profit
Mar 2024£79.28£20.72£20.72 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£20m£22m
Pre-tax profit£4m (filed)£5m (filed)
Employees912980
Staff costs£41m£40m
Average staff cost per head£45,000£41,000
Bank and cash£9m£12m
Net assets£3m£3m
Interest received£0.2m
Directors' pay£0.1m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Science Museum shops?

SCMG Enterprises Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC4 April 2000

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Science Museum shops files as SCMG Enterprises Limited, whose person with significant control is The Board Of Trustees Of The Science Museum, with turnover of £20m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Science Museum shops

What does Science Museum shops do?

SCMG Enterprises is the trading company of the Science Museum Group, running shops, catering and other commercial services across its museums. It operates across the Science Museum, National Railway Museum, National Science and Media Museum, Science and Industry Museum and Locomotion. Its income comes from on-site and online retail, cinemas and simulators, catering, corporate hire, brand licensing, image sales and publishing. Set up in 1988, it is wholly owned by the Group and its profits support the museums.

Who owns Science Museum shops?

The Companies House register records The Board Of Trustees Of The Science Museum as the person with significant control of SCMG Enterprises Limited.

How much does Science Museum shops make?

SCMG Enterprises Limited reported turnover of £20m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £4m.

How many people work at Science Museum shops?

SCMG Enterprises Limited reported 912 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Science Museum shops?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for SCMG Enterprises Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from SCMG Enterprises Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02196149, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Science Museum shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/scmg-enterprises/. Figures from Companies House filings for SCMG ENTERPRISES LIMITED (02196149).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings