Battle · 5 companies
Supermarkets
Unexpected item in the bagging area: a loser
Tesco leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Tesco is the biggest by turnover at £73,712m, against £23,774m at Asda. Tesco keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £3.26 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 14 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Tesco and Aldi file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Lidl and Waitrose file for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.
Accounts compared: Tesco to Feb 2026 · Asda to Dec 2024 · Aldi to Dec 2024 · Lidl to Feb 2025 · Waitrose to Jan 2026
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TescoTesco PLC | £73,712m | +5.4% | £2,403m | 3.3% | 227,188 | £42,000 | £324,000 | £11,463m | £2,515m | Feb 2026 | Group |
| 2 | AsdaAsda Stores Limited | £23,774m | -3.5% | -£834m | -3.5% | 131,027 | £22,000 | £181,000 | £2,361m | n/d | Dec 2024 | n/d |
| 3 | AldiAldi Stores Limited | £18,125m | +1.3% | £416m | 2.3% | 50,655 | £32,000 | £358,000 | £3,593m | £118m | Dec 2024 | Group |
| 4 | LidlLidl Great Britain Limited | £11,733m | +7.9% | £157m | 1.3% | 34,697 | £29,000 | £338,000 | £2,015m | £164m | Feb 2025 | Single company |
| 5 | WaitroseWaitrose Limited | £7,767m | +6.9% | £111m | 1.4% | 44,900 | £26,000 | £173,000 | £718m | £71m | Jan 2026 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
The Takeaway
- Tesco converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £3.26 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £3.51 at Asda.
- Tesco is the largest on the top line, £73,712m of turnover, 3.1x Asda's £23,774m.
- Lidl is growing fastest, turnover +7.9% on its own prior year. Asda went backwards.
- Tesco is the biggest employer with 227,188 people; Tesco pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £42,000.
- Tesco has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £11,463m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Tesco keeps the most: £3.26 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Asda does worst, losing £3.51.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Tesco (£73,712m), Asda (£23,774m), Aldi (£18,125m), Lidl (£11,733m), Waitrose (£7,767m).
By headcount, Tesco leads with 227,188 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Tesco to Feb 2026, Asda to Dec 2024, Aldi to Dec 2024, Lidl to Feb 2025, Waitrose to Jan 2026. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Lidl grew fastest, turnover +7.9% on its own prior year, ahead of Waitrose (+6.9%), Tesco (+5.4%), Aldi (+1.3%), Asda (-3.5%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
Tesco employs the most, 227,188 people, against 131,027 at Asda.
Tesco has the highest average staff cost, about £42,000 a head; Asda the lowest, about £22,000.
Aldi brings in the most turnover per employee, about £358,000, against £173,000 at Waitrose. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Tesco
227,188
employees, about £42,000 pay a head, £324,000 turnover a head, -0.9% on the year
Asda
131,027
employees, about £22,000 pay a head, £181,000 turnover a head, -3.6% on the year
Aldi
50,655
employees, about £32,000 pay a head, £358,000 turnover a head, +3.9% on the year
Lidl
34,697
employees, about £29,000 pay a head, £338,000 turnover a head, +10.3% on the year
Waitrose
44,900
employees, about £26,000 pay a head, £173,000 turnover a head
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Owned by its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange, so no single controller appears on the register. 2 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Tesco →
Asda Stores Limited · 00464777Held by Asda Group Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 26 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Asda →
Aldi Stores Limited · 02321869No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 5 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Aldi →
Lidl Great Britain Limited · 02816429No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 31 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Lidl →
Waitrose Limited · 00099405Held by John Lewis Plc
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 3 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Waitrose →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Tesco | Asda | Aldi | Lidl | Waitrose |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | TESCO PLC | ASDA STORES LIMITED | ALDI STORES LIMITED | LIDL GREAT BRITAIN LIMITED | WAITROSE LIMITED |
| Company number | 00445790 | 00464777 | 02321869 | 02816429 | 00099405 |
| Incorporated | 1947 | 1949 | 1988 | 1993 | 1908 |
| Accounts filed | 25 July 2026 | 16 September 2025 | 22 September 2025 | 23 October 2025 | 14 May 2026 |
| Turnover, prior year | £69,916m | £24,631m | £17,888m | £10,875m | £7,267m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | n/d | £217m | £537m | £44m | £138m |
| Staff costs | £9,461m | £2,946m | £1,603m | £1,023m | £1,151m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 12.8% | 12.4% | 8.8% | 8.7% | 14.8% |
| Employees, prior year | 229,140 | 135,911 | 48,746 | 31,448 | n/d |
| Dividends paid | £936m | n/d | £250m | n/d | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 2 | 26 | 5 | 31 | 3 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Supermarkets: common questions
Who is the biggest of Tesco, Asda, Aldi, Lidl or Waitrose?
Tesco, with turnover of £73,712m in the year to February 2026.
Which makes the most profit?
Tesco: £2,403m pre-tax in the year to February 2026.
Which employs the most people?
Tesco, with 227,188 employees in its latest accounts.
Tesco or Asda: which is bigger?
Tesco, with turnover of £73,712m against £23,774m at Asda on their latest filings. On margin, Tesco keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Tesco or Aldi: which is bigger?
Tesco, with turnover of £73,712m against £18,125m at Aldi on their latest filings. On margin, Tesco keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tesco or Lidl: which is bigger?
Tesco, with turnover of £73,712m against £11,733m at Lidl on their latest filings. On margin, Tesco keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Tesco or Waitrose: which is bigger?
Tesco, with turnover of £73,712m against £7,767m at Waitrose on their latest filings. On margin, Tesco keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Asda or Aldi: which is bigger?
Asda, with turnover of £23,774m against £18,125m at Aldi on their latest filings. On margin, Aldi keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Asda or Lidl: which is bigger?
Asda, with turnover of £23,774m against £11,733m at Lidl on their latest filings. On margin, Lidl keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Asda or Waitrose: which is bigger?
Asda, with turnover of £23,774m against £7,767m at Waitrose on their latest filings. On margin, Waitrose keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Aldi or Lidl: which is bigger?
Aldi, with turnover of £18,125m against £11,733m at Lidl on their latest filings. On margin, Aldi keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Aldi or Waitrose: which is bigger?
Aldi, with turnover of £18,125m against £7,767m at Waitrose on their latest filings. On margin, Aldi keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Lidl or Waitrose: which is bigger?
Lidl, with turnover of £11,733m against £7,767m at Waitrose on their latest filings. On margin, Waitrose keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
Tesco v Asda: the numbers behind the rivalry
VS SeriesAldi v Lidl: which is bigger on the accounts?
VS SeriesM&S v Waitrose: revenue, profit and who owns them
VS Series CONSUMER BRANDSProtein brands
Bulking up or cutting back: the accounts don't lie
MyProtein · Huel · Bulk · Grenade
4 companies compared →
CONSUMER BRANDSBritish activewear
Leggings on, gloves off
Gymshark · Castore · Tala · Represent
4 companies compared →
PETSVet groups
Top dog, or in the doghouse?
Medivet · IVC Evidensia · CVS Group · VetPartners · Pets at Home
5 companies compared →
RETAILDIY and trade
Nailed it, or coming unstuck?
Screwfix · Toolstation · Wickes · B&Q
4 companies compared →