Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

Tate shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Tate Enterprises Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery. In the year to March 2026 Tate Enterprises Ltd reported turnover of £37m.

£37m
Turnover, up 3.5%
£5m
Pre-tax profit
425
Employees
Registered name
TATE ENTERPRISES LTD
Company number
03173975
Status
Active
Incorporated
15 March 1996
Registered office area
South West London
Industry code on the register
47789: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 25 July 2026

What does Tate shops do?

Tate Enterprises is the trading company of Tate, running the shops, cafés, restaurants and publishing arm of its four galleries. It sells books, prints and merchandise in shops at Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives and online, and publishes art books through Tate Publishing, founded in 1911. It also licenses images from the collection and hires out gallery spaces for filming. It is wholly owned by Tate and returns its profits to the gallery.

In brief: trading arm of Tate · gallery shops and online shop · Tate Publishing and catering · profits to Tate

Source: Tate shops' own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns Tate shops?

Tate Enterprises Ltd
Tate shops · company 03173975
The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery
Company

The Companies House register records The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery as the person with significant control of Tate Enterprises Ltd, company number 03173975. The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery is itself company number NOT APPL.

That places Tate Enterprises Ltd inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Tate shops?

The Companies House register lists 14 current officers for Tate Enterprises Ltd.

All 14 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Hamish David John Anderson20 February 2017
Julia Marie Carmel Nora Allen24 September 2018
David James Laurens Crichton-Miller1 October 2019
Dame Anya Susannah Hindmarch14 June 2022
Rajendra Ruia15 June 2022
Sunaina Gokani13 October 2022
Charlene Akyiaa Prempeh-Bonsu22 February 2023
David Richard Shelley22 February 2023
Adam Jon Storey12 June 2023
Charlotte Joy Clark20 June 2024
Karin Hindsbo1 August 2024
Jamaria Kong12 March 2025
Alan Maccuish17 February 2026
Nicholas William Wright23 June 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Tate shops file?

Tate Enterprises Ltd reported turnover of £37m in the year to March 2026. That was up 3.5% on £36m the year before.

It reported 425 employees. The year before it reported 441.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £14m. That is an average of £32,000 a head. It ended the year with £7m at the bank and net assets of £8m.

Mar 2026£37.02£49.51£13.47 profit
Mar 2025£37.92£48.40£13.68 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£37m£36m
Pre-tax profit£5m (filed)£5m (filed)
Employees425441
Staff costs£14m£14m
Average staff cost per head£32,000£31,000
Bank and cash£7m£4m
Net assets£8m£6m
Interest received£67k
Directors' pay£0.4m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Tate shops?

Tate Enterprises Ltd has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Apol Silva & Orchards Limited31 July 2012

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Tate shops files as Tate Enterprises Ltd, whose person with significant control is The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery, with turnover of £37m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Tate shops

What does Tate shops do?

Tate Enterprises is the trading company of Tate, running the shops, cafés, restaurants and publishing arm of its four galleries. It sells books, prints and merchandise in shops at Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives and online, and publishes art books through Tate Publishing, founded in 1911. It also licenses images from the collection and hires out gallery spaces for filming. It is wholly owned by Tate and returns its profits to the gallery.

Who owns Tate shops?

The Companies House register records The Board Of Trustees Of The Tate Gallery as the person with significant control of Tate Enterprises Ltd.

How much does Tate shops make?

Tate Enterprises Ltd reported turnover of £37m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m.

How many people work at Tate shops?

Tate Enterprises Ltd reported 425 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Tate shops?

The Companies House register lists 14 current officers for Tate Enterprises Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Tate Enterprises Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 03173975, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Tate shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/tate-enterprises/. Figures from Companies House filings for TATE ENTERPRISES LTD (03173975).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings