Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

English Heritage shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

English Heritage Trading Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is The English Heritage Trust. In the year to March 2025 English Heritage Trading Limited reported turnover of £22m.

English Heritage shops has filed accounts for the year to 31 March 2026 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 March 2025. It will update when they are.

£22m
Turnover, down 4.3%
£0.9m
Pre-tax profit
147
Employees
Registered name
ENGLISH HERITAGE TRADING LIMITED
Company number
02970369
Status
Active
Incorporated
16 September 1994
Registered office area
Swindon
Industry code on the register
82990: Office administrative, office support and other business support
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 27 October 2025

What does English Heritage shops do?

English Heritage Trading is the trading company of the English Heritage charity, selling gifts in shops at its historic sites and online. It sources and sells history-inspired products, including books, jewellery, toys, homewares and food and drink, in gift shops at more than 100 properties. The online shop carries the wider range and products exclusive to it. As a wholly owned subsidiary, it passes its profits to English Heritage to help look after the sites.

In brief: trading arm of English Heritage · gift shops at historic sites · online shop · profits to the charity

Source: English Heritage shops' own website, retrieved 27 September 2026.

Who owns English Heritage shops?

English Heritage Trading Limited
English Heritage shops · company 02970369
The English Heritage Trust
Company

The Companies House register records The English Heritage Trust as the person with significant control of English Heritage Trading Limited, company number 02970369. The English Heritage Trust is itself company number 07447221.

That places English Heritage Trading Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs English Heritage shops?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for English Heritage Trading Limited.

All 5 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Tony Cates22 June 2023
Addison Michael Devlin1 May 2024
Peter Richard Liney31 December 2025
Elizabeth Anne Sophia Hogg2 April 2026
Anthony John Hales14 August 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did English Heritage shops file?

English Heritage Trading Limited reported turnover of £22m in the year to March 2025. That was down 4.3% on £23m the year before.

It reported 147 employees. The year before it reported 168.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.9m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1.3m the year before.

Staff costs came to £6m. That is an average of £38,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.3m at the bank and net assets of £2m.

Mar 2025£25.19£70.61£4.20 profit
Mar 2024£24.98£69.36£5.66 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£22m£23m
Pre-tax profit£0.9m (filed)£1.3m (filed)
Employees147168
Staff costs£6m£6m
Average staff cost per head£38,000£34,000
Bank and cash£0.3m£0.1m
Net assets£2m£2m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against English Heritage shops?

English Heritage Trading Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

English Heritage shops files as English Heritage Trading Limited, whose person with significant control is The English Heritage Trust, with turnover of £22m in its latest filed year.

Questions about English Heritage shops

What does English Heritage shops do?

English Heritage Trading is the trading company of the English Heritage charity, selling gifts in shops at its historic sites and online. It sources and sells history-inspired products, including books, jewellery, toys, homewares and food and drink, in gift shops at more than 100 properties. The online shop carries the wider range and products exclusive to it. As a wholly owned subsidiary, it passes its profits to English Heritage to help look after the sites.

Who owns English Heritage shops?

The Companies House register records The English Heritage Trust as the person with significant control of English Heritage Trading Limited.

How much does English Heritage shops make?

English Heritage Trading Limited reported turnover of £22m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.9m.

How many people work at English Heritage shops?

English Heritage Trading Limited reported 147 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs English Heritage shops?

The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for English Heritage Trading Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from English Heritage Trading Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02970369, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “English Heritage shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/english-heritage-trading/. Figures from Companies House filings for ENGLISH HERITAGE TRADING LIMITED (02970369).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings