Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2026

Kew shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

RBG Kew Enterprises Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. In the year to March 2026 RBG Kew Enterprises Limited reported turnover of £26m.

£26m
Turnover, up 4.0%
£8m
Pre-tax profit
141
Employees
Registered name
RBG KEW ENTERPRISES LIMITED
Company number
02798886
Status
Active
Incorporated
12 March 1993
Registered office area
Twickenham
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 17 July 2026

What does Kew shops do?

RBG Kew Enterprises is the trading company of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, running its shops and other commercial services. It sells plant-inspired gifts, books and garden products in the shops at Kew Gardens and Wakehurst and through an online shop. It also handles venue hire, brand licensing, publishing and some events. The company is wholly owned by Kew and gives its profits to the charity under Gift Aid.

In brief: trading arm of Kew Gardens · shops and online shop · licensing and venue hire · profits to Kew

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 27 September 2026. Official website: kew.org.

Who owns Kew shops?

RBG Kew Enterprises Limited
Kew shops · company 02798886
The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Company

The Companies House register records The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew as the person with significant control of RBG Kew Enterprises Limited, company number 02798886. The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew is itself company number 0000NONE.

That places RBG Kew Enterprises Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Kew shops?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for RBG Kew Enterprises Limited.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Richard George Deverell18 September 2012
Sandra Caroline Botterell17 March 2016
Fern Karen Stoner1 July 2017
Adam Thow2 December 2019
Rachel Pan4 March 2020
Judith Margaret Batchelar28 April 2021
Dr Fay Margaret Cooke19 March 2024
Rebecca Jane Munro19 March 2024
Dr Vjera Magdalenic-Moussavi26 March 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Kew shops file?

RBG Kew Enterprises Limited reported turnover of £26m in the year to March 2026. That was up 4.0% on £25m the year before.

It reported 141 employees. The year before it reported 136.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £8m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £8m the year before.

Staff costs came to £7m. That is an average of £48,000 a head. It ended the year with £9m at the bank and net assets of £0.3m.

Mar 2026£25.74£43.06£31.20£31.20 profit
Mar 2025£25.04£42.97£31.99£31.99 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£26m£25m
Pre-tax profit£8m (filed)£8m (filed)
Employees141136
Staff costs£7m£6m
Average staff cost per head£48,000£47,000
Bank and cash£9m£9m
Net assets£0.3m£0.3m
Interest received£0.1m
Directors' pay£0.4m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Kew shops files as RBG Kew Enterprises Limited, whose person with significant control is The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, with turnover of £26m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Kew shops

What does Kew shops do?

RBG Kew Enterprises is the trading company of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, running its shops and other commercial services. It sells plant-inspired gifts, books and garden products in the shops at Kew Gardens and Wakehurst and through an online shop. It also handles venue hire, brand licensing, publishing and some events. The company is wholly owned by Kew and gives its profits to the charity under Gift Aid.

Who owns Kew shops?

The Companies House register records The Board Of Trustees Of The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew as the person with significant control of RBG Kew Enterprises Limited.

How much does Kew shops make?

RBG Kew Enterprises Limited reported turnover of £26m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £8m.

How many people work at Kew shops?

RBG Kew Enterprises Limited reported 141 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Kew shops?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for RBG Kew Enterprises Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from RBG Kew Enterprises Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02798886, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Kew shops: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/kew-enterprises/. Figures from Companies House filings for RBG KEW ENTERPRISES LIMITED (02798886).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings