Battle · 7 companies
London's restaurant groups
Many tables, one question: whose empire is paying its way?
The Ivy Collection leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. The Ivy Collection is the biggest by turnover at £327m, against £203m at Zuma. Zuma keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £14.74 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Zuma, The Ivy Collection, Gordon Ramsay Restaurants, Birley Clubs and JKS Restaurants file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Caprice Holdings and Dishoom file for a single company, which flatters the groups on size. Gordon Ramsay Restaurants's turnover growth looks like a one-off in the latest accounts (a gain inside a group, an acquisition or a longer accounting period), so it is shown but not counted when picking winners.
Accounts compared: Caprice Holdings to Jan 2026 · Zuma to Dec 2024 · Dishoom to Dec 2024 · The Ivy Collection to Jan 2025 · Gordon Ramsay Restaurants to Dec 2024 · Birley Clubs to Jan 2025 · JKS Restaurants to Mar 2025
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Ivy CollectionTroia (UK) Restaurants Limited | £327m | +3.9% | £32m | 9.9% | 5,544 | £24,000 | £59,000 | £120m | £23m | Jan 2025 | Group |
| 2 | ZumaAzumi Limited | £203m | -1.0% | £30m | 14.7% | 2,149 | £28,000 | £94,000 | £73m | £28m | Dec 2024 | Group |
| 3 | DishoomDishoom Limited | £137m | +17.3% | £10m | 7.4% | 1,990 | £28,000 | £69,000 | £11m | £12m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
| 4 | Gordon Ramsay RestaurantsGordon Ramsay Restaurants Ltd | £134m | +40.0% | -£13m | -9.4% | 1,168 | £39,000 | £115,000 | -£41m | £1.2m | Dec 2024 | Group |
| 5 | Caprice HoldingsCaprice Holdings Limited | £90m | -3.9% | £8m | 9.1% | 1,006 | £32,000 | £90,000 | £28m | £1.9m | Jan 2026 | Single company |
| 6 | Birley ClubsMBH Group (UK) Limited | £81m | +6.6% | -£0.4m | -0.5% | 617 | £45,000 | £131,000 | -£17m | £1.9m | Jan 2025 | Group |
| 7 | JKS RestaurantsJKS Hospitality Limited | £73m | -1.5% | -£1.3m | -1.8% | 1,100 | £29,000 | £66,000 | £8m | £3m | Mar 2025 | Group |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
The Ivy Collection
£327m
Most pre-tax profit
The Ivy Collection
£32m
Highest profit margin
Zuma
14.7%
Fastest-growing turnover
Dishoom
+17.3%
Biggest employer
The Ivy Collection
5,544 staff
Highest pay per head
Birley Clubs
£45,000
Most turnover per head
Birley Clubs
£131,000
Largest net assets
The Ivy Collection
£120m
Most cash
Zuma
£28m
The Takeaway
- Zuma converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £14.74 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £9.38 at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants.
- The Ivy Collection is the largest on the top line, £327m of turnover, 1.6x Zuma's £203m.
- Dishoom is growing fastest, turnover +17.3% on its own prior year. Caprice Holdings, Zuma and JKS Restaurants went backwards.
- The Ivy Collection is the biggest employer with 5,544 people; Birley Clubs pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £45,000.
- The Ivy Collection has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £120m, while Zuma holds the most cash at £28m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Zuma keeps the most: £14.74 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Gordon Ramsay Restaurants does worst, losing £9.38.
Financing bites hardest at Birley Clubs: £25.33 of every £100 goes on interest.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each bar is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is The Ivy Collection (£327m), Zuma (£203m), Dishoom (£137m), Gordon Ramsay Restaurants (£134m), Caprice Holdings (£90m), Birley Clubs (£81m), JKS Restaurants (£73m).
By headcount, The Ivy Collection leads with 5,544 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Caprice Holdings to Jan 2026, Zuma to Dec 2024, Dishoom to Dec 2024, The Ivy Collection to Jan 2025, Gordon Ramsay Restaurants to Dec 2024, Birley Clubs to Jan 2025, JKS Restaurants to Mar 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants grew fastest, turnover +40.0% on its own prior year, ahead of Dishoom (+17.3%), Birley Clubs (+6.6%), The Ivy Collection (+3.9%), Zuma (-1.0%), JKS Restaurants (-1.5%), Caprice Holdings (-3.9%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
The Ivy Collection employs the most, 5,544 people, against 2,149 at Zuma.
Birley Clubs has the highest average staff cost, about £45,000 a head; The Ivy Collection the lowest, about £24,000.
Birley Clubs brings in the most turnover per employee, about £131,000, against £59,000 at The Ivy Collection. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Caprice Holdings
1,006
employees, about £32,000 pay a head, £90,000 turnover a head, -9.9% on the year
Zuma
2,149
employees, about £28,000 pay a head, £94,000 turnover a head, +1.5% on the year
Dishoom
1,990
employees, about £28,000 pay a head, £69,000 turnover a head, +7.2% on the year
The Ivy Collection
5,544
employees, about £24,000 pay a head, £59,000 turnover a head, -2.1% on the year
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants
1,168
employees, about £39,000 pay a head, £115,000 turnover a head, -13.1% on the year
Birley Clubs
617
employees, about £45,000 pay a head, £131,000 turnover a head, -2.7% on the year
JKS Restaurants
1,100
employees, about £29,000 pay a head, £66,000 turnover a head, +12.5% on the year
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by Ch Acquisition Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 11 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Caprice Holdings →
Azumi Limited · 04163938No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 6 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Zuma →
Dishoom Limited · 06226963Held by Ruby Bidco Holdings Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 2 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Dishoom →
Troia (UK) Restaurants Limited · 08504201Held by Richard Allan Caring
An individual recorded as a person with significant control. 10 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns The Ivy Collection →
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants Ltd · 07360142Held by Gordon Ramsay Restaurants (Global) Ltd
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 4 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Gordon Ramsay Restaurants →
MBH Group (UK) Limited · 06227148Held by Richard Allan Caring
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 7 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Birley Clubs →
JKS Hospitality Limited · 14643727Held by Mr Jyotin Sethi
An individual recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns JKS Restaurants →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Caprice Holdings | Zuma | Dishoom | The Ivy Collection | Gordon Ramsay Restaurants | Birley Clubs | JKS Restaurants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | CAPRICE HOLDINGS LIMITED | AZUMI LIMITED | DISHOOM LIMITED | TROIA (UK) RESTAURANTS LIMITED | GORDON RAMSAY RESTAURANTS LTD | MBH GROUP (UK) LIMITED | JKS HOSPITALITY LIMITED |
| Company number | 01661349 | 04163938 | 06226963 | 08504201 | 07360142 | 06227148 | 14643727 |
| Incorporated | 1982 | 2001 | 2007 | 2013 | 2010 | 2007 | 2023 |
| Accounts filed | 4 September 2026 | 8 September 2025 | 12 August 2025 | 24 June 2025 | 28 October 2025 | 24 June 2025 | 20 March 2026 |
| Turnover, prior year | £94m | £205m | £117m | £315m | £96m | £76m | £74m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | -£26m | £41m | £7m | £38m | -£3m | -£8m | -£5m |
| Staff costs | £32m | £61m | £55m | £131m | £46m | £27m | £32m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 35.5% | 29.9% | 40.3% | 40.1% | 34.4% | 34.0% | 44.6% |
| Employees, prior year | 1,116 | 2,118 | 1,857 | 5,663 | 1,344 | 634 | 978 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | £40m | £5m | n/d | n/d | £50k | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 11 | 6 | 2 | 10 | 4 | 7 | 1 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
London's restaurant groups: common questions
Who is the biggest of Caprice Holdings, Zuma, Dishoom, The Ivy Collection, Gordon Ramsay Restaurants, Birley Clubs or JKS Restaurants?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m in the year to January 2025.
Which makes the most profit?
The Ivy Collection: £32m pre-tax in the year to January 2025.
Which employs the most people?
The Ivy Collection, with 5,544 employees in its latest accounts.
Caprice Holdings or Zuma: which is bigger?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m against £90m at Caprice Holdings on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Caprice Holdings or Dishoom: which is bigger?
Dishoom, with turnover of £137m against £90m at Caprice Holdings on their latest filings. On margin, Caprice Holdings keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Caprice Holdings or The Ivy Collection: which is bigger?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £90m at Caprice Holdings on their latest filings. On margin, The Ivy Collection keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Caprice Holdings or Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: which is bigger?
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants, with turnover of £134m against £90m at Caprice Holdings on their latest filings. On margin, Caprice Holdings keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Caprice Holdings or Birley Clubs: which is bigger?
Caprice Holdings, with turnover of £90m against £81m at Birley Clubs on their latest filings. On margin, Caprice Holdings keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Caprice Holdings or JKS Restaurants: which is bigger?
Caprice Holdings, with turnover of £90m against £73m at JKS Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, Caprice Holdings keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Zuma or Dishoom: which is bigger?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m against £137m at Dishoom on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Zuma or The Ivy Collection: which is bigger?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £203m at Zuma on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Zuma or Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: which is bigger?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m against £134m at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Zuma or Birley Clubs: which is bigger?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m against £81m at Birley Clubs on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Zuma or JKS Restaurants: which is bigger?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m against £73m at JKS Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Dishoom or The Ivy Collection: which is bigger?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £137m at Dishoom on their latest filings. On margin, The Ivy Collection keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Dishoom or Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: which is bigger?
Dishoom, with turnover of £137m against £134m at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, Dishoom keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Dishoom or Birley Clubs: which is bigger?
Dishoom, with turnover of £137m against £81m at Birley Clubs on their latest filings. On margin, Dishoom keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Dishoom or JKS Restaurants: which is bigger?
Dishoom, with turnover of £137m against £73m at JKS Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, Dishoom keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
The Ivy Collection or Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: which is bigger?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £134m at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, The Ivy Collection keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
The Ivy Collection or Birley Clubs: which is bigger?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £81m at Birley Clubs on their latest filings. On margin, The Ivy Collection keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
The Ivy Collection or JKS Restaurants: which is bigger?
The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £73m at JKS Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, The Ivy Collection keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants or Birley Clubs: which is bigger?
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants, with turnover of £134m against £81m at Birley Clubs on their latest filings. On margin, Birley Clubs keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants or JKS Restaurants: which is bigger?
Gordon Ramsay Restaurants, with turnover of £134m against £73m at JKS Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, JKS Restaurants keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Birley Clubs or JKS Restaurants: which is bigger?
Birley Clubs, with turnover of £81m against £73m at JKS Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, Birley Clubs keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
Caprice Holdings v Zuma: revenue, profit and who owns them
VS SeriesZuma v Nobu: which is bigger on the accounts?
VS SeriesThe Ivy Collection v Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: who makes more money?
VS Series RESTAURANTSSteak restaurants
Rare talent on the menu, but somebody is getting grilled
Hawksmoor · Goodman · Flat Iron · Blacklock
4 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSBurger chains
Top of the stack, or flipped?
Five Guys · Byron · Honest Burgers · GBK
4 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSPizza chains
The winner takes the biggest slice. The rest get the crusts.
Domino's · Pizza Hut · PizzaExpress
3 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSMayfair's restaurants
The hottest table in town. And the one that lost its reservation.
Nobu · Hakkasan · La Petite Maison · Amazonico · Coya · Gymkhana
6 companies compared →