VS Series
Caprice Holdings v Zuma
Two London restaurant empires, one plate at a time
Zuma leads on 5 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Zuma is the biggest by turnover at £203m, against £90m at Caprice Holdings. Zuma keeps more of every £100 it takes, £14.74 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. Zuma files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Caprice Holdings files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.
Accounts compared: Caprice Holdings to Jan 2026 · Zuma to Dec 2024
Who they are
Caprice Holdings
Caprice Holdings Limited · 01661349Caprice Holdings is a restaurant group that runs Sexy Fish and Scott's along with J. Sheekey, Daphne's, Balthazar, Bacchanalia and 34 Mayfair.In brief: restaurant group · Sexy Fish, Scott's and J. Sheekey · London and internationalFull profile →Zuma
Azumi Limited · 04163938Zuma is a restaurant brand serving contemporary Japanese food, which it describes as authentic but not traditional.In brief: restaurant brand · contemporary Japanese dining · robata grill and sushi · London and internationalFull profile →The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ZumaAzumi Limited | £203m | -1.0% | £30m | 14.7% | 2,149 | £28,000 | £94,000 | £73m | £28m | Dec 2024 | Group |
| 2 | Caprice HoldingsCaprice Holdings Limited | £90m | -3.9% | £8m | 9.1% | 1,006 | £32,000 | £90,000 | £28m | £1.9m | Jan 2026 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
The Takeaway
- Zuma converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £14.74 reaches pre-tax profit, against £9.11 at Caprice Holdings.
- Zuma is the largest on the top line, £203m of turnover, 2.2x Caprice Holdings's £90m.
- Zuma is growing fastest, turnover -1.0% on its own prior year. Caprice Holdings and Zuma went backwards.
- Zuma is the biggest employer with 2,149 people; Caprice Holdings pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £32,000.
- Zuma has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £73m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Zuma keeps the most: £14.74 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Caprice Holdings keeps the least, £9.11.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Zuma (£203m), Caprice Holdings (£90m).
By headcount, Zuma leads with 2,149 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Caprice Holdings to Jan 2026, Zuma to Dec 2024. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Zuma grew fastest, turnover -1.0% on its own prior year, ahead of Caprice Holdings (-3.9%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
Zuma employs the most, 2,149 people, against 1,006 at Caprice Holdings.
Caprice Holdings has the highest average staff cost, about £32,000 a head; Zuma the lowest, about £28,000.
Zuma brings in the most turnover per employee, about £94,000, against £90,000 at Caprice Holdings. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by Ch Acquisition Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 11 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Caprice Holdings →
Azumi Limited · 04163938No controller recorded
The register shows no person with significant control. 6 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Zuma →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Caprice Holdings | Zuma |
|---|---|---|
| Registered name | CAPRICE HOLDINGS LIMITED | AZUMI LIMITED |
| Company number | 01661349 | 04163938 |
| Incorporated | 1982 | 2001 |
| Accounts filed | 4 September 2026 | 8 September 2025 |
| Turnover, prior year | £94m | £205m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | -£26m | £41m |
| Staff costs | £32m | £61m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 35.5% | 29.9% |
| Employees, prior year | 1,116 | 2,118 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | £40m |
| Charges outstanding | 11 | 6 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Caprice Holdings v Zuma: common questions
Who is the biggest of Caprice Holdings or Zuma?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m in the year to December 2024.
Which makes the most profit?
Zuma: £30m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.
Which employs the most people?
Zuma, with 2,149 employees in its latest accounts.
Caprice Holdings or Zuma: which is bigger?
Zuma, with turnover of £203m against £90m at Caprice Holdings on their latest filings. On margin, Zuma keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
Caprice Holdings v Zuma: revenue, profit and who owns them
VS SeriesZuma v Nobu: which is bigger on the accounts?
VS Series RESTAURANTSLondon's restaurant groups
Many tables, one question: whose empire is paying its way?
Caprice Holdings · Zuma · Dishoom · The Ivy Collection · Gordon Ramsay Restaurants · Birley Clubs · JKS Restaurants
7 companies compared →