VS Series

The Ivy Collection v Gordon Ramsay Restaurants

The brasserie brand against the celebrity chef

The Ivy Collection leads on 5 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. The Ivy Collection is the biggest by turnover at £327m, against £134m at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants. The Ivy Collection keeps more of every £100 it takes, £9.87 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Gordon Ramsay Restaurants's turnover growth looks like a one-off in the latest accounts (a gain inside a group, an acquisition or a longer accounting period), so it is shown but not counted when picking winners.

Accounts compared: The Ivy Collection to Jan 2025 · Gordon Ramsay Restaurants to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 The Ivy CollectionTroia (UK) Restaurants Limited £327m +3.9% £32m 9.9% 5,544 £24,000 £59,000 £120m £23m Jan 2025 Group
2 Gordon Ramsay RestaurantsGordon Ramsay Restaurants Ltd £134m +40.0% -£13m -9.4% 1,168 £39,000 £115,000 -£41m £1.2m Dec 2024 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. The Ivy Collection converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £9.87 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £9.38 at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants.
  2. The Ivy Collection is the largest on the top line, £327m of turnover, 2.4x Gordon Ramsay Restaurants's £134m.
  3. The Ivy Collection is growing fastest, turnover +3.9% on its own prior year.
  4. The Ivy Collection is the biggest employer with 5,544 people; Gordon Ramsay Restaurants pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £39,000.
  5. The Ivy Collection has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £120m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

The Ivy Collection keeps the most: £9.87 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Gordon Ramsay Restaurants does worst, losing £9.38.

Financing bites hardest at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: £3.94 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £40.10 of every £100Payroll£40.10Financing: £0.46 of every £100Other costs: £49.58 of every £100Other costs£49.58Profit: £9.87 of every £100Profit £9.87The Ivy CollectionYear to Jan 2025£327m turnoverPayroll: £34.41 of every £100Payroll£34.41Financing: £3.94 of every £100Other costs: £71.03 of every £100Other costs£71.03Loss (the costs beyond £100): £9.38 of every £100Loss £9.38Gordon Ramsay RestaurantsYear to Dec 2024£134m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is The Ivy Collection (£327m), Gordon Ramsay Restaurants (£134m).

By headcount, The Ivy Collection leads with 5,544 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. All are on the same filing basis.

The Ivy Collection£327mGordon Ramsay Restaurants£134m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Gordon Ramsay Restaurants grew fastest, turnover +40.0% on its own prior year, ahead of The Ivy Collection (+3.9%).

Gordon Ramsay Restaurants+40.0%The Ivy Collection+3.9%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

The Ivy Collection employs the most, 5,544 people, against 1,168 at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants.

Gordon Ramsay Restaurants has the highest average staff cost, about £39,000 a head; The Ivy Collection the lowest, about £24,000.

Gordon Ramsay Restaurants brings in the most turnover per employee, about £115,000, against £59,000 at The Ivy Collection. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureThe Ivy CollectionGordon Ramsay Restaurants
Registered nameTROIA (UK) RESTAURANTS LIMITEDGORDON RAMSAY RESTAURANTS LTD
Company number0850420107360142
Incorporated20132010
Accounts filed24 June 202528 October 2025
Turnover, prior year£315m£96m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£38m-£3m
Staff costs£131m£46m
Payroll share of turnover40.1%34.4%
Employees, prior year5,6631,344
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding104

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

The Ivy Collection v Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: common questions

Who is the biggest of The Ivy Collection or Gordon Ramsay Restaurants?

The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m in the year to January 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

The Ivy Collection: £32m pre-tax in the year to January 2025.

Which employs the most people?

The Ivy Collection, with 5,544 employees in its latest accounts.

The Ivy Collection or Gordon Ramsay Restaurants: which is bigger?

The Ivy Collection, with turnover of £327m against £134m at Gordon Ramsay Restaurants on their latest filings. On margin, The Ivy Collection keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.