Accounts to January 2025 · Group accounts · Filed June 2025

Birley Clubs: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

MBH Group (UK) Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Richard Allan Caring. In the year to January 2025 MBH Group (UK) Limited reported turnover of £81m.

£81m
Turnover, up 6.6%
-£0.4m
Pre-tax profit
617
Employees
Registered name
MBH GROUP (UK) LIMITED
Company number
06227148
Status
Active
Incorporated
25 April 2007
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2025, filed 24 June 2025

What does Birley Clubs do?

Birley Clubs is a group of private members' clubs in Mayfair, London, including Annabel's, Mark's Club, Harry's Bar and George. Members pay annual subscriptions for access to the clubs' restaurants, bars and private rooms, and spending on food, drink and private events adds to that income. The clubs were founded by Mark Birley, starting with Annabel's in Berkeley Square in 1963, and admission is limited to members and their guests.

In brief: private members' clubs · Mayfair, London · dining and nightlife · membership subscriptions

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 25 September 2026.

Who owns Birley Clubs?

MBH Group (UK) Limited
Birley Clubs · company 06227148
Richard Allan Caring
Company

The Companies House register records Richard Allan Caring as the person with significant control of MBH Group (UK) Limited, company number 06227148. Richard Allan Caring is itself company number 06227164.

That places MBH Group (UK) Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Birley Clubs?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for MBH Group (UK) Limited.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Richard Allan Caring18 May 2007
George Mark Randle Jones18 August 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Birley Clubs file?

MBH Group (UK) Limited reported turnover of £81m in the year to January 2025. That was up 6.6% on £76m the year before.

It reported 617 employees. The year before it reported 634.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.4m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £8m the year before.

Staff costs came to £27m. That is an average of £45,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.9m at the bank and net assets of -£17m. It paid dividends of £50k.

Jan 2025£34.03£25.33£41.14£0.50 loss
Dec 2023£34.88£75.50£10.38 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2025Dec 2023
Turnover£81m£76m
Pre-tax profit-£0.4m (filed)-£8m (filed)
Employees617634
Staff costs£27m£26m
Average staff cost per head£45,000£42,000
Bank and cash£1.9m£1.5m
Net assets-£17m-£15m
Dividends paid£50k£27k
Interest paid£20m
Interest received£14m

Read the accounts to January 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Birley Clubs?

MBH Group (UK) Limited has registered 13 charges at Companies House, of which 7 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 7 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Agent6 May 2026
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Agent31 December 2025
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Agent12 May 2025
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Agent13 June 2024
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Agent21 December 2022
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited as Security Agent4 May 2022
Hsbc UK Bank PLC as Security Trustee10 May 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Birley Clubs files as MBH Group (UK) Limited, whose person with significant control is Richard Allan Caring, with turnover of £81m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Birley Clubs

What does Birley Clubs do?

Birley Clubs is a group of private members' clubs in Mayfair, London, including Annabel's, Mark's Club, Harry's Bar and George. Members pay annual subscriptions for access to the clubs' restaurants, bars and private rooms, and spending on food, drink and private events adds to that income. The clubs were founded by Mark Birley, starting with Annabel's in Berkeley Square in 1963, and admission is limited to members and their guests.

Who owns Birley Clubs?

The Companies House register records Richard Allan Caring as the person with significant control of MBH Group (UK) Limited.

How much does Birley Clubs make?

MBH Group (UK) Limited reported turnover of £81m in the year to January 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £0.4m.

How many people work at Birley Clubs?

MBH Group (UK) Limited reported 617 employees in the year to January 2025.

Who runs Birley Clubs?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for MBH Group (UK) Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from MBH Group (UK) Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 06227148, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Birley Clubs: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/birley-clubs/. Figures from Companies House filings for MBH GROUP (UK) LIMITED (06227148).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings