Battle · 4 companies

Burger chains

Top of the stack, or flipped?

GBK leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Five Guys is the biggest by turnover at £560m, against £125m at GBK. GBK keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £3.85 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Five Guys and Honest Burgers file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Byron files for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.

Accounts compared: Five Guys to Dec 2024 · Byron to Dec 2024 · Honest Burgers to Jan 2025 · GBK to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Five GuysFive Guys European Holdings Limited £560m +3.2% -£37m -6.6% 8,372 £22,000 £67,000 -£310m £47m Dec 2024 Group
2 GBKGourmet Burger Kitchen (UK) Limited £125m +29.8% £5m 3.9% 2,235 £20,000 £56,000 £1.0m n/d Dec 2024 n/d
3 Honest BurgersHonest Group Ltd £60m +6.2% -£3m -5.4% 836 £27,000 £72,000 -£33m £4m Jan 2025 Group
4 ByronTristar Foods Limited £14m -13.6% -£0.7m -4.6% 197 £26,000 £73,000 -£2.0m £0.6m Dec 2024 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. GBK converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £3.85 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £6.56 at Five Guys.
  2. Five Guys is the largest on the top line, £560m of turnover, 4.5x GBK's £125m.
  3. GBK is growing fastest, turnover +29.8% on its own prior year. Byron went backwards.
  4. Five Guys is the biggest employer with 8,372 people; Honest Burgers pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £27,000.
  5. GBK has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £1.0m, while Five Guys holds the most cash at £47m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

GBK keeps the most: £3.85 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Five Guys does worst, losing £6.56.

Financing bites hardest at Five Guys: £11.87 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £35.77 of every £100Payroll£35.77Financing: £0.06 of every £100Other costs: £60.33 of every £100Other costs£60.33Profit: £3.85 of every £100Profit £3.85GBKYear to Dec 2024£125mPayroll: £36.19 of every £100Payroll£36.19Other costs: £68.45 of every £100Other costs£68.45Loss (the costs beyond £100): £4.64 of every £100Loss £4.64ByronYear to Dec 2024£14mPayroll: £37.23 of every £100Payroll£37.23Financing: £6.95 of every £100£6.95Other costs: £61.21 of every £100Other costs£61.21Loss (the costs beyond £100): £5.40 of every £100Loss £5.40Honest BurgersYear to Jan 2025£60mPayroll: £33.29 of every £100Payroll£33.29Financing: £11.87 of every £100Financing£11.87Other costs: £61.39 of every £100Other costs£61.39Loss (the costs beyond £100): £6.56 of every £100Loss £6.56Five GuysYear to Dec 2024£560m
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Five Guys (£560m), GBK (£125m), Honest Burgers (£60m), Byron (£14m).

By headcount, Five Guys leads with 8,372 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 1 month of each other. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Five Guys£560mGBK£125mHonest Burgers£60mByron£14m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

GBK grew fastest, turnover +29.8% on its own prior year, ahead of Honest Burgers (+6.2%), Five Guys (+3.2%), Byron (-13.6%).

GBK+29.8%Honest Burgers+6.2%Five Guys+3.2%Byron-13.6%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Five Guys employs the most, 8,372 people, against 2,235 at GBK.

Honest Burgers has the highest average staff cost, about £27,000 a head; GBK the lowest, about £20,000.

Byron brings in the most turnover per employee, about £73,000, against £56,000 at GBK. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureFive GuysByronHonest BurgersGBK
Registered nameFIVE GUYS EUROPEAN HOLDINGS LIMITEDTRISTAR FOODS LIMITEDHONEST GROUP LTDGOURMET BURGER KITCHEN (UK) LIMITED
Company number11249161145367520932750806800894
Incorporated2018202220142009
Accounts filed7 October 20258 January 202613 October 202526 September 2025
Turnover, prior year£543m£17m£56m£96m
Pre-tax profit, prior year-£16m-£1.3m-£6m-£5m
Staff costs£186m£5m£22m£45m
Payroll share of turnover33.3%36.2%37.2%35.8%
Employees, prior year8,4803408211,652
Dividends paidn/dn/dn/dn/d
Charges outstanding5214

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Burger chains: common questions

Who is the biggest of Five Guys, Byron, Honest Burgers or GBK?

Five Guys, with turnover of £560m in the year to December 2024.

Which makes the most profit?

GBK: £5m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.

Which employs the most people?

Five Guys, with 8,372 employees in its latest accounts.

Five Guys or Byron: which is bigger?

Five Guys, with turnover of £560m against £14m at Byron on their latest filings. On margin, Byron keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Five Guys or Honest Burgers: which is bigger?

Five Guys, with turnover of £560m against £60m at Honest Burgers on their latest filings. On margin, Honest Burgers keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Five Guys or GBK: which is bigger?

Five Guys, with turnover of £560m against £125m at GBK on their latest filings. On margin, GBK keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Byron or Honest Burgers: which is bigger?

Honest Burgers, with turnover of £60m against £14m at Byron on their latest filings. On margin, Byron keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Byron or GBK: which is bigger?

GBK, with turnover of £125m against £14m at Byron on their latest filings. On margin, GBK keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Honest Burgers or GBK: which is bigger?

GBK, with turnover of £125m against £60m at Honest Burgers on their latest filings. On margin, GBK keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.