Battle · 5 companies
Vet groups
Top dog, or in the doghouse?
Pets at Home leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Pets at Home is the biggest by turnover at £1,470m, against £1,219m at IVC Evidensia. Pets at Home keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £5.89 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 11 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. CVS Group, VetPartners and Pets at Home file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Medivet and IVC Evidensia file for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.
Accounts compared: Medivet to Apr 2025 · IVC Evidensia to Sep 2025 · CVS Group to Jun 2025 · VetPartners to Jun 2025 · Pets at Home to Mar 2026
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pets at HomePets At Home Group PLC | £1,470m | -0.8% | £87m | 5.9% | 7,358 | £44,000 | £200,000 | £973m | £40m | Mar 2026 | Group |
| 2 | IVC EvidensiaInspiring Vet Care Limited | £1,219m | +3.2% | £67m | 5.5% | 14,036 | £37,000 | £87,000 | £117m | £16m | Sep 2025 | Single company |
| 3 | VetPartnersVetPartners Group Limited | £870m | +2.0% | -£73m | -8.4% | 12,137 | £33,000 | £72,000 | £92m | £36m | Jun 2025 | Group |
| 4 | CVS GroupCVS Group PLC | £673m | +4.0% | £33m | 4.8% | 8,864 | £37,000 | £76,000 | £300m | £16m | Jun 2025 | Group |
| 5 | MedivetMedivet Group Limited | £340m | -3.9% | -£193m | -57.0% | 3,569 | £39,000 | £95,000 | -£523m | £66m | Apr 2025 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
Pets at Home
£1,470m
Most pre-tax profit
Pets at Home
£87m
Highest profit margin
Pets at Home
5.9%
Fastest-growing turnover
CVS Group
+4.0%
Biggest employer
IVC Evidensia
14,036 staff
Highest pay per head
Pets at Home
£44,000
Most turnover per head
Pets at Home
£200,000
Largest net assets
Pets at Home
£973m
Most cash
Medivet
£66m
The Takeaway
- Pets at Home converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £5.89 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £56.97 at Medivet.
- Pets at Home is the largest on the top line, £1,470m of turnover, 1.2x IVC Evidensia's £1,219m.
- CVS Group is growing fastest, turnover +4.0% on its own prior year. Medivet and Pets at Home went backwards.
- IVC Evidensia is the biggest employer with 14,036 people; Pets at Home pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £44,000.
- Pets at Home has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £973m, while Medivet holds the most cash at £66m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Pets at Home keeps the most: £5.89 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Medivet does worst, losing £56.97.
Financing bites hardest at Medivet: £31.08 of every £100 goes on interest.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Pets at Home (£1,470m), IVC Evidensia (£1,219m), VetPartners (£870m), CVS Group (£673m), Medivet (£340m).
By headcount, IVC Evidensia leads with 14,036 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Medivet to Apr 2025, IVC Evidensia to Sep 2025, CVS Group to Jun 2025, VetPartners to Jun 2025, Pets at Home to Mar 2026. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
CVS Group grew fastest, turnover +4.0% on its own prior year, ahead of IVC Evidensia (+3.2%), VetPartners (+2.0%), Pets at Home (-0.8%), Medivet (-3.9%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
IVC Evidensia employs the most, 14,036 people, against 12,137 at VetPartners.
Pets at Home has the highest average staff cost, about £44,000 a head; VetPartners the lowest, about £33,000.
Pets at Home brings in the most turnover per employee, about £200,000, against £72,000 at VetPartners. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Medivet
3,569
employees, about £39,000 pay a head, £95,000 turnover a head, -10.5% on the year
IVC Evidensia
14,036
employees, about £37,000 pay a head, £87,000 turnover a head, -4.6% on the year
CVS Group
8,864
employees, about £37,000 pay a head, £76,000 turnover a head, +0.5% on the year
VetPartners
12,137
employees, about £33,000 pay a head, £72,000 turnover a head, +1.4% on the year
Pets at Home
7,358
employees, about £44,000 pay a head, £200,000 turnover a head, -6.9% on the year
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by Medivet Group Holdings Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 2 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Medivet →
Inspiring Vet Care Limited · 07746795Held by Ivc Acquisition Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 5 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns IVC Evidensia →
CVS Group PLC · 06312831Owned by its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange, so no single controller appears on the register.
Who owns CVS Group →
VetPartners Group Limited · 10026937Held by Scooby Bidco Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 3 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns VetPartners →
Pets At Home Group PLC · 08885072Owned by its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange, so no single controller appears on the register.
Who owns Pets at Home →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Medivet | IVC Evidensia | CVS Group | VetPartners | Pets at Home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | MEDIVET GROUP LIMITED | INSPIRING VET CARE LIMITED | CVS GROUP PLC | VETPARTNERS GROUP LIMITED | PETS AT HOME GROUP PLC |
| Company number | 03481736 | 07746795 | 06312831 | 10026937 | 08885072 |
| Incorporated | 1997 | 2011 | 2007 | 2016 | 2014 |
| Accounts filed | 16 September 2025 | 7 July 2026 | 5 November 2025 | 14 January 2026 | n/d |
| Turnover, prior year | £353m | £1,181m | £647m | £853m | £1,482m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | -£139m | £41m | £38m | -£261m | n/d |
| Staff costs | £138m | £524m | £326m | £401m | £323m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 40.5% | 43.0% | 48.4% | 46.1% | 22.0% |
| Employees, prior year | 3,987 | 14,711 | 8,822 | 11,964 | 7,905 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | n/d | £5m | n/d | £59m |
| Charges outstanding | 2 | 5 | 0 | 3 | 0 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Vet groups: common questions
Who is the biggest of Medivet, IVC Evidensia, CVS Group, VetPartners or Pets at Home?
Pets at Home, with turnover of £1,470m in the year to March 2026.
Which makes the most profit?
Pets at Home: £87m pre-tax in the year to March 2026.
Which employs the most people?
IVC Evidensia, with 14,036 employees in its latest accounts.
Medivet or IVC Evidensia: which is bigger?
IVC Evidensia, with turnover of £1,219m against £340m at Medivet on their latest filings. On margin, IVC Evidensia keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Medivet or CVS Group: which is bigger?
CVS Group, with turnover of £673m against £340m at Medivet on their latest filings. On margin, CVS Group keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Medivet or VetPartners: which is bigger?
VetPartners, with turnover of £870m against £340m at Medivet on their latest filings. On margin, VetPartners keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Medivet or Pets at Home: which is bigger?
Pets at Home, with turnover of £1,470m against £340m at Medivet on their latest filings. On margin, Pets at Home keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
IVC Evidensia or CVS Group: which is bigger?
IVC Evidensia, with turnover of £1,219m against £673m at CVS Group on their latest filings. On margin, IVC Evidensia keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
IVC Evidensia or VetPartners: which is bigger?
IVC Evidensia, with turnover of £1,219m against £870m at VetPartners on their latest filings. On margin, IVC Evidensia keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
IVC Evidensia or Pets at Home: which is bigger?
Pets at Home, with turnover of £1,470m against £1,219m at IVC Evidensia on their latest filings. On margin, Pets at Home keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
CVS Group or VetPartners: which is bigger?
VetPartners, with turnover of £870m against £673m at CVS Group on their latest filings. On margin, CVS Group keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
CVS Group or Pets at Home: which is bigger?
Pets at Home, with turnover of £1,470m against £673m at CVS Group on their latest filings. On margin, Pets at Home keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
VetPartners or Pets at Home: which is bigger?
Pets at Home, with turnover of £1,470m against £870m at VetPartners on their latest filings. On margin, Pets at Home keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
IVC Evidensia v CVS Group: which is bigger on the accounts?
VS Series CONSUMER BRANDSProtein brands
Bulking up or cutting back: the accounts don't lie
MyProtein · Huel · Bulk · Grenade
4 companies compared →
CONSUMER BRANDSBritish activewear
Leggings on, gloves off
Gymshark · Castore · Tala · Represent
4 companies compared →
SUPERMARKETSSupermarkets
Unexpected item in the bagging area: a loser
Tesco · Asda · Aldi · Lidl · Waitrose
5 companies compared →
RETAILDIY and trade
Nailed it, or coming unstuck?
Screwfix · Toolstation · Wickes · B&Q
4 companies compared →