VS Series

IVC Evidensia v CVS Group

Two of the UK's biggest vet groups, and what a trip to the vet pays for

IVC Evidensia leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. IVC Evidensia is the biggest by turnover at £1,219m, against £673m at CVS Group. IVC Evidensia keeps more of every £100 it takes, £5.46 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. CVS Group files group accounts that include subsidiaries; IVC Evidensia files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: IVC Evidensia to Sep 2025 · CVS Group to Jun 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 IVC EvidensiaInspiring Vet Care Limited £1,219m +3.2% £67m 5.5% 14,036 £37,000 £87,000 £117m £16m Sep 2025 Single company
2 CVS GroupCVS Group PLC £673m +4.0% £33m 4.8% 8,864 £37,000 £76,000 £300m £16m Jun 2025 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. IVC Evidensia converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £5.46 reaches pre-tax profit, against £4.84 at CVS Group.
  2. IVC Evidensia is the largest on the top line, £1,219m of turnover, 1.8x CVS Group's £673m.
  3. CVS Group is growing fastest, turnover +4.0% on its own prior year.
  4. IVC Evidensia is the biggest employer with 14,036 people; IVC Evidensia pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £37,000.
  5. CVS Group has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £300m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

IVC Evidensia keeps the most: £5.46 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. CVS Group keeps the least, £4.84.

Financing bites hardest at IVC Evidensia: £10.22 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £43.01 of every £100Payroll£43.01Financing: £10.22 of every £100£10.22Other costs: £41.30 of every £100Other costs£41.30Profit: £5.46 of every £100Profit £5.46IVC EvidensiaYear to Sep 2025£1,219m turnoverPayroll: £48.41 of every £100Payroll£48.41Financing: £2.55 of every £100Other costs: £44.19 of every £100Other costs£44.19Profit: £4.84 of every £100Profit £4.84CVS GroupYear to Jun 2025£673m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is IVC Evidensia (£1,219m), CVS Group (£673m).

By headcount, IVC Evidensia leads with 14,036 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 3 months of each other. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

IVC Evidensia£1,219mCVS Group£673m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

CVS Group grew fastest, turnover +4.0% on its own prior year, ahead of IVC Evidensia (+3.2%).

CVS Group+4.0%IVC Evidensia+3.2%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

IVC Evidensia employs the most, 14,036 people, against 8,864 at CVS Group.

IVC Evidensia has the highest average staff cost, about £37,000 a head; CVS Group the lowest, about £37,000.

IVC Evidensia brings in the most turnover per employee, about £87,000, against £76,000 at CVS Group. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureIVC EvidensiaCVS Group
Registered nameINSPIRING VET CARE LIMITEDCVS GROUP PLC
Company number0774679506312831
Incorporated20112007
Accounts filed7 July 20265 November 2025
Turnover, prior year£1,181m£647m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£41m£38m
Staff costs£524m£326m
Payroll share of turnover43.0%48.4%
Employees, prior year14,7118,822
Dividends paidn/d£5m
Charges outstanding50

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

IVC Evidensia v CVS Group: common questions

Who is the biggest of IVC Evidensia or CVS Group?

IVC Evidensia, with turnover of £1,219m in the year to September 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

IVC Evidensia: £67m pre-tax in the year to September 2025.

Which employs the most people?

IVC Evidensia, with 14,036 employees in its latest accounts.

IVC Evidensia or CVS Group: which is bigger?

IVC Evidensia, with turnover of £1,219m against £673m at CVS Group on their latest filings. On margin, IVC Evidensia keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.