Accounts to March 2026 · Group accounts

Pets at Home: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Pets At Home Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to March 2026 it reported turnover of £1,470m.

£1,470m
Turnover, down 0.8%
£87m
Pre-tax profit
7,358
Employees
Registered name
PETS AT HOME GROUP PLC
Company number
08885072
Status
Active
Incorporated
10 February 2014
Registered office area
Stockport
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed date not recorded

What does Pets at Home do?

Pets at Home is a pet care business, selling pet food, accessories and pets through its stores and online, and providing vet care through its Vets for Pets practices. Many of its vet practices are run as joint ventures with the vets who work in them. Grooming salons in its stores and a pet care subscription plan add further income. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: pet food and accessories retailer · vet practices · stores and online · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: petsathomeplc.com.

Who owns Pets at Home?

Pets At Home Group PLC
Pets at Home · company 08885072
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Pets At Home Group PLC, company number 08885072, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Pets at Home?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Pets At Home Group PLC.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Michael Ian Burke27 March 2020
Zarin Homi Patel14 April 2021
Roger Burnley14 February 2023
Dr Natalie-Jane Anne Macdonald27 May 2023
Lesley Lazenby6 July 2023
Garret Turley12 July 2024
Sarah Pollard27 March 2026
James Bailey30 March 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Pets at Home file?

Pets At Home Group PLC reported turnover of £1,470m in the year to March 2026. That was down 0.8% on £1,482m the year before.

It reported 7,358 employees. The year before it reported 7,905.

Staff costs came to £323m. That is an average of £44,000 a head. It ended the year with £40m at the bank and net assets of £973m. It paid dividends of £59m.

Mar 2026£22.01£70.82£5.89 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£1,470m£1,482m
Pre-tax profit£87m (filed)
Employees7,3587,905
Staff costs£323m£324m
Average staff cost per head£44,000£41,000
Bank and cash£40m£40m
Net assets£973m£993m
Dividends paid£59m£60m
Interest paid£19m
Directors' pay£4m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Pets at Home?

Pets At Home Group PLC has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Pets at Home files as Pets At Home Group PLC, with turnover of £1,470m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Pets at Home

What does Pets at Home do?

Pets at Home is a pet care business, selling pet food, accessories and pets through its stores and online, and providing vet care through its Vets for Pets practices. Many of its vet practices are run as joint ventures with the vets who work in them. Grooming salons in its stores and a pet care subscription plan add further income. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Pets at Home?

Pets At Home Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Pets at Home make?

Pets At Home Group PLC reported turnover of £1,470m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £87m.

How many people work at Pets at Home?

Pets At Home Group PLC reported 7,358 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Pets at Home?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Pets At Home Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Pets At Home Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 08885072, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Pets at Home: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/pets-at-home/. Figures from Companies House filings for PETS AT HOME GROUP PLC (08885072).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings