Medivet: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Medivet Group Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Medivet Group Holdings Limited. In the year to April 2025 Medivet Group Limited reported turnover of £340m.
- Registered name
- MEDIVET GROUP LIMITED
- Company number
- 03481736
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 16 December 1997
- Registered office area
- Watford
- Industry code on the register
- 75000: Veterinary activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to April 2025, filed 16 September 2025
What does Medivet do?
Medivet is a veterinary group that runs vet practices and 24-hour hospitals across the UK, caring for pets such as dogs, cats and rabbits. It earns money from consultations, treatments, surgery and medicines, and from a monthly pet health plan that spreads the cost of routine care such as vaccinations and flea treatment. Its practices trade under the Medivet name, and it also offers referral services for specialist treatment.
In brief: veterinary group · vet practices and hospitals · pet health plans · UK
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: medivet.co.uk.
Who owns Medivet?
The Companies House register records Medivet Group Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Medivet Group Limited, company number 03481736. Medivet Group Holdings Limited is itself company number 12359612.
That places Medivet Group Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Medivet?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Medivet Group Limited.
All 4 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Neil Lake | 14 January 2025 |
| Benjamin David Jacklin | 8 August 2025 |
| Nicholas Swift | 30 October 2025 |
| Andrew Nethercot | 30 December 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Medivet file?
Medivet Group Limited reported turnover of £340m in the year to April 2025. That was down 3.9% on £353m the year before.
It reported 3,569 employees. The year before it reported 3,987.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £193m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £139m the year before.
Staff costs came to £138m. That is an average of £39,000 a head. It ended the year with £66m at the bank and net assets of -£523m.
| Measure | Apr 2025 | Apr 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £340m | £353m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£193m (filed) | -£139m (filed) |
| Employees | 3,569 | 3,987 |
| Staff costs | £138m | £141m |
| Average staff cost per head | £39,000 | £35,000 |
| Bank and cash | £66m | £56m |
| Net assets | -£523m | -£321m |
| Interest paid | £106m | |
| Interest received | £11m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.5m |
Read the accounts to April 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Medivet?
Medivet Group Limited has registered 16 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Glas Trust Corporation Limited | 16 May 2022 |
| Glas Trust Corporation Limited | 17 February 2022 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Medivet files as Medivet Group Limited, whose person with significant control is Medivet Group Holdings Limited, with turnover of £340m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Medivet
What does Medivet do?
Medivet is a veterinary group that runs vet practices and 24-hour hospitals across the UK, caring for pets such as dogs, cats and rabbits. It earns money from consultations, treatments, surgery and medicines, and from a monthly pet health plan that spreads the cost of routine care such as vaccinations and flea treatment. Its practices trade under the Medivet name, and it also offers referral services for specialist treatment.
Who owns Medivet?
The Companies House register records Medivet Group Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Medivet Group Limited.
How much does Medivet make?
Medivet Group Limited reported turnover of £340m in the year to April 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £193m.
How many people work at Medivet?
Medivet Group Limited reported 3,569 employees in the year to April 2025.
Who runs Medivet?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Medivet Group Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Medivet Group Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 03481736, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Medivet: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/medivet/. Figures from Companies House filings for MEDIVET GROUP LIMITED (03481736).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the vet groups: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Specsavers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
IVC Evidensia: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Barchester: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks