Accounts to June 2025 · Group accounts · Filed November 2025

CVS Group: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

CVS Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to June 2025 it reported turnover of £673m.

£673m
Turnover, up 4.0%
£33m
Pre-tax profit
8,864
Employees
Registered name
CVS GROUP PLC
Company number
06312831
Status
Active
Incorporated
13 July 2007
Registered office area
Ipswich
Industry code on the register
75000: Veterinary activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to June 2025, filed 5 November 2025

What does CVS Group do?

CVS Group runs veterinary practices in the UK and Australia, treating pets, horses and farm animals. Alongside first-opinion practices it operates specialist referral hospitals and out-of-hours clinics. It also earns money from diagnostic laboratories, the VetDirect buying group, the Healthy Pet Club health plan, which spreads the cost of routine care into regular payments, and Animed Direct, an online shop for pet medicines and supplies.

In brief: veterinary practices · referrals and out-of-hours care · laboratories · online pharmacy

Source: CVS Group's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns CVS Group?

CVS Group PLC
CVS Group · company 06312831
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

CVS Group PLC, company number 06312831, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs CVS Group?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for CVS Group PLC.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Richard William Mark Fairman1 August 2018
Robin Jay Alfonso28 November 2019
Richard Andrew Gray16 July 2020
David Charles Wilton24 September 2021
Scott Morrison8 June 2023
Joanne Mary Shaw1 July 2023
Paul Stephen Higgs25 July 2024
Helen Margaret Keays1 April 2026
Jane Bednall1 April 2026
Laura Kate Hagan1 May 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did CVS Group file?

CVS Group PLC reported turnover of £673m in the year to June 2025. That was up 4.0% on £647m the year before.

It reported 8,864 employees. The year before it reported 8,822.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £33m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £38m the year before.

Staff costs came to £326m. That is an average of £37,000 a head. It ended the year with £16m at the bank and net assets of £300m. It paid dividends of £5m.

Jun 2025£48.41£44.19£4.84 profit
Jun 2024£47.52£46.58£5.90 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJun 2025Jun 2024
Turnover£673m£647m
Pre-tax profit£33m (filed)£38m (filed)
Employees8,8648,822
Staff costs£326m£308m
Average staff cost per head£37,000£35,000
Bank and cash£16m£17m
Net assets£300m£260m
Dividends paid£5m£5m
Interest paid£17m
Directors' pay£1.8m

Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against CVS Group?

CVS Group PLC has registered 3 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How CVS Group compares

CVS Group files as CVS Group PLC, with turnover of £673m in its latest filed year.

Questions about CVS Group

What does CVS Group do?

CVS Group runs veterinary practices in the UK and Australia, treating pets, horses and farm animals. Alongside first-opinion practices it operates specialist referral hospitals and out-of-hours clinics. It also earns money from diagnostic laboratories, the VetDirect buying group, the Healthy Pet Club health plan, which spreads the cost of routine care into regular payments, and Animed Direct, an online shop for pet medicines and supplies.

Who owns CVS Group?

CVS Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does CVS Group make?

CVS Group PLC reported turnover of £673m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £33m.

How many people work at CVS Group?

CVS Group PLC reported 8,864 employees in the year to June 2025.

Who runs CVS Group?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for CVS Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from CVS Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 06312831, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “CVS Group: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/cvs-group/. Figures from Companies House filings for CVS GROUP PLC (06312831).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings