Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2025

Asda: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Asda Stores Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Asda Group Limited. In the year to December 2024 Asda Stores Limited reported turnover of £23,774m.

Asda has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£23,774m
Turnover, down 3.5%
-£834m
Pre-tax profit
131,027
Employees
Registered name
ASDA STORES LIMITED
Company number
00464777
Status
Active
Incorporated
19 February 1949
Registered office area
Leeds
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 16 September 2025

What does Asda do?

Asda is a supermarket chain selling groceries, George clothing and general merchandise. It trades through large supermarkets and superstores, smaller convenience stores, petrol forecourts and an online grocery service with home delivery and click and collect. It competes mainly on low prices against the other big UK grocers, and its George clothing range is sold in its stores and online. The business started in Yorkshire.

In brief: supermarket chain · groceries, clothing and general merchandise · own stores and online delivery · George clothing brand

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: asda.com.

Who owns Asda?

Asda Stores Limited
Asda · company 00464777
Asda Group Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Asda Group Limited as the person with significant control of Asda Stores Limited, company number 00464777. Asda Group Limited is itself company number 01396513.

That places Asda Stores Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Asda?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Asda Stores Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Helen Kathryn Selby6 April 2020
Michael Gleeson24 May 2023
Helen Kathryn Selby23 May 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Asda file?

Asda Stores Limited reported turnover of £23,774m in the year to December 2024. That was down 3.5% on £24,631m the year before.

It reported 131,027 employees. The year before it reported 135,911.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £834m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £217m the year before.

Staff costs came to £2,946m. That is an average of £22,000 a head.

Dec 2024£89.14£3.51 loss
Dec 2023£87.46£0.88 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£23,774m£24,631m
Pre-tax profit-£834m (filed)£217m (filed)
Employees131,027135,911
Staff costs£2,946m£2,871m
Average staff cost per head£22,000£21,000
Bank and cashn/d£288m
Net assets£2,361m£3,096m
Interest paid£471m
Interest received£208m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Asda?

Asda Stores Limited has registered 32 charges at Companies House, of which 26 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 26 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)15 January 2026
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)22 December 2025
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)22 December 2025
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch4 July 2025
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch30 May 2025
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch15 November 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch15 November 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)15 November 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch14 May 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch8 May 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch8 May 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch3 May 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch31 October 2023
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Trustee)24 May 2022
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Parties16 May 2022
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch12 May 2022
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Agent for the Benefit of the Secured Parties5 November 2021
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch (As Security Agent)26 August 2021
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Parties17 August 2021
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Agent for the Benefit of the Secured Parties17 August 2021
Homes and Communities Agency (Trading as Homes England)28 June 2021
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch as Security Agent for the Benefit of the Secured Parties.19 February 2021
University of Hertfordshire Higher Education Corporation30 April 1997
Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada.9 July 1986
Legal & General Assurance Society LTD.22 August 1972
Sun Life Assurance Co of Canada26 August 1971

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Asda compares

Asda files as Asda Stores Limited, whose person with significant control is Asda Group Limited, with turnover of £23,774m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Asda

What does Asda do?

Asda is a supermarket chain selling groceries, George clothing and general merchandise. It trades through large supermarkets and superstores, smaller convenience stores, petrol forecourts and an online grocery service with home delivery and click and collect. It competes mainly on low prices against the other big UK grocers, and its George clothing range is sold in its stores and online. The business started in Yorkshire.

Who owns Asda?

The Companies House register records Asda Group Limited as the person with significant control of Asda Stores Limited.

How much does Asda make?

Asda Stores Limited reported turnover of £23,774m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £834m.

How many people work at Asda?

Asda Stores Limited reported 131,027 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Asda?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Asda Stores Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Asda Stores Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00464777, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Asda: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/asda/. Figures from Companies House filings for ASDA STORES LIMITED (00464777).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings