Accounts to January 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed May 2026

Waitrose: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Waitrose Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is John Lewis Plc. In the year to January 2026 Waitrose Limited reported turnover of £7,767m.

£7,767m
Turnover, up 6.9%
£111m
Pre-tax profit
44,900
Employees
Registered name
WAITROSE LIMITED
Company number
00099405
Status
Active
Incorporated
3 September 1908
Registered office area
Reading
Industry code on the register
47110: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 14 May 2026

What does Waitrose do?

Waitrose is a UK supermarket chain selling food, drink and groceries, with a focus on quality and own-label ranges. It sells through its own shops and online grocery delivery. It began in Acton, west London, in 1904 and has been part of the John Lewis Partnership since 1937. Because the Partnership is owned by its employees, Waitrose staff are partners who share in its profits. It runs the myWaitrose loyalty scheme.

In brief: supermarket chain · own shops and online delivery · own-label ranges · employee-owned

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: waitrose.com.

Who owns Waitrose?

Waitrose Limited
Waitrose · company 00099405
John Lewis Plc
Company

The Companies House register records John Lewis Plc as the person with significant control of Waitrose Limited, company number 00099405. John Lewis Plc is itself company number 00233462.

That places Waitrose Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Waitrose?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Waitrose Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Jane Christina Cheong Tung Sing1 November 2021
Andrew John Mounsey6 September 2024
Jason Mark Tarry12 September 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Waitrose file?

Waitrose Limited reported turnover of £7,767m in the year to January 2026. That was up 6.9% on £7,267m the year before.

It reported 44,900 employees.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £111m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £138m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,151m. That is an average of £26,000 a head. It ended the year with £71m at the bank and net assets of £718m.

Jan 2026£14.82£82.68£1.43 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Jan 2025
Turnover£7,767m£7,267m
Pre-tax profit£111m (filed)£138m (filed)
Employees44,900n/d
Staff costs£1,151m
Average staff cost per head£26,000
Bank and cash£71m£67m
Net assets£718m£645m
Interest paid£83m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Waitrose?

Waitrose Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Rmig Endowment Trust1 June 2006
Chl Cache Holdings Limited19 May 1998
Chartwell Land Development Limited27 July 1995

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Waitrose compares

Waitrose files as Waitrose Limited, whose person with significant control is John Lewis Plc, with turnover of £7,767m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Waitrose

What does Waitrose do?

Waitrose is a UK supermarket chain selling food, drink and groceries, with a focus on quality and own-label ranges. It sells through its own shops and online grocery delivery. It began in Acton, west London, in 1904 and has been part of the John Lewis Partnership since 1937. Because the Partnership is owned by its employees, Waitrose staff are partners who share in its profits. It runs the myWaitrose loyalty scheme.

Who owns Waitrose?

The Companies House register records John Lewis Plc as the person with significant control of Waitrose Limited.

How much does Waitrose make?

Waitrose Limited reported turnover of £7,767m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £111m.

How many people work at Waitrose?

Waitrose Limited reported 44,900 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs Waitrose?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for Waitrose Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Waitrose Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00099405, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Waitrose: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/waitrose/. Figures from Companies House filings for WAITROSE LIMITED (00099405).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings