Accounts to February 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

Lidl: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Lidl Great Britain Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to February 2025 it reported turnover of £11,733m.

£11,733m
Turnover, up 7.9%
£157m
Pre-tax profit
34,697
Employees
Registered name
LIDL GREAT BRITAIN LIMITED
Company number
02816429
Status
Active
Incorporated
10 May 1993
Registered office area
Kingston
Industry code on the register
47110: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to February 2025, filed 23 October 2025

What does Lidl do?

Lidl GB runs Lidl discount supermarkets across Great Britain, selling groceries and household goods at low prices. Lidl was founded in Germany and opened its first British store in 1994. Its shops carry a smaller range than traditional supermarkets, mostly own-label products, which keeps costs and prices down. Weekly specials on non-food items add to the range. The stores are supplied from its own regional distribution centres. It is part of Germany's Schwarz Group.

In brief: discount supermarket · mostly own-label · company-run stores · part of Schwarz Group

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: corporate.lidl.co.uk.

Who owns Lidl?

Lidl Great Britain Limited, company number 02816429, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Lidl?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Lidl Great Britain Limited.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Ryan McDonnell15 September 2015
Richard Jeremy Taylor1 February 2022
David John Unterhalter7 March 2022
Stephanie Jane Rogers1 April 2023
Mr. Richard Charles Spencer Bourns1 March 2024
Fernando Enrique Figueras Hoffmann1 March 2024
Louise Elizabeth Weise1 January 2026
Roberto Eretta1 June 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Lidl file?

Lidl Great Britain Limited reported turnover of £11,733m in the year to February 2025. That was up 7.9% on £10,875m the year before.

It reported 34,697 employees. The year before it reported 31,448.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £157m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £44m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,023m. That is an average of £29,000 a head. It ended the year with £164m at the bank and net assets of £2,015m.

Feb 2025£88.52£1.34 profit
Feb 2024£91.50£0.40 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureFeb 2025Feb 2024
Turnover£11,733m£10,875m
Pre-tax profit£157m (filed)£44m (filed)
Employees34,69731,448
Staff costs£1,023m£881m
Average staff cost per head£29,000£28,000
Bank and cash£164m£218m
Net assets£2,015m£1,732m
Interest paid£166m
Interest received£9m
Directors' pay£7m

Read the accounts to February 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Lidl?

Lidl Great Britain Limited has registered 33 charges at Companies House, of which 31 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 31 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Glasgow City Council20 May 2026
Taylor Wimpey UK Limited13 November 2025
Danum Homes Limited30 September 2025
Glasgow City Council23 September 2024
National Highways Limited26 January 2024
National Westminster Bank PLC as Security Trustee7 September 2023
Lloyds Bank PLC25 February 2022
China Construction Bank Corporation, London Branch15 February 2022
Kfw Ipex-Bank Gmbh as Security Agent and Security Agent9 June 2020
Ing Bank, a Branch of Ing-Diba Ag9 March 2020
National Westminster Bank PLC as Security Trustee23 December 2019
The Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government4 November 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)18 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Agent)17 October 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Lidl compares

Lidl files as Lidl Great Britain Limited, with turnover of £11,733m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Lidl

What does Lidl do?

Lidl GB runs Lidl discount supermarkets across Great Britain, selling groceries and household goods at low prices. Lidl was founded in Germany and opened its first British store in 1994. Its shops carry a smaller range than traditional supermarkets, mostly own-label products, which keeps costs and prices down. Weekly specials on non-food items add to the range. The stores are supplied from its own regional distribution centres. It is part of Germany's Schwarz Group.

Who owns Lidl?

Lidl Great Britain Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Lidl make?

Lidl Great Britain Limited reported turnover of £11,733m in the year to February 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £157m.

How many people work at Lidl?

Lidl Great Britain Limited reported 34,697 employees in the year to February 2025.

Who runs Lidl?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Lidl Great Britain Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Lidl Great Britain Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02816429, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Lidl: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/lidl/. Figures from Companies House filings for LIDL GREAT BRITAIN LIMITED (02816429).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings