VS Series

M&S v Waitrose

Premium food, two very different owners

M&S leads on 5 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. M&S is the biggest by turnover at £17,274m, against £7,767m at Waitrose. M&S keeps more of every £100 it takes, £2.11 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. M&S files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Waitrose files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: M&S to Mar 2026 · Waitrose to Jan 2026

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 M&SMarks and Spencer Group plc £17,274m +25.0% £365m 2.1% 73,301 £33,000 £236,000 £3,056m £997m Mar 2026 Group
2 WaitroseWaitrose Limited £7,767m +6.9% £111m 1.4% 44,900 £26,000 £173,000 £718m £71m Jan 2026 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. M&S converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £2.11 reaches pre-tax profit, against £1.43 at Waitrose.
  2. M&S is the largest on the top line, £17,274m of turnover, 2.2x Waitrose's £7,767m.
  3. M&S is growing fastest, turnover +25.0% on its own prior year.
  4. M&S is the biggest employer with 73,301 people; M&S pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £33,000.
  5. M&S has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £3,056m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

M&S keeps the most: £2.11 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Waitrose keeps the least, £1.43.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £14.15 of every £100Payroll£14.15Financing: £1.26 of every £100Other costs: £82.48 of every £100Other costs£82.48Profit: £2.11 of every £100Profit £2.11M&SYear to Mar 2026£17,274m turnoverPayroll: £14.82 of every £100Payroll£14.82Financing: £1.07 of every £100Other costs: £82.68 of every £100Other costs£82.68Profit: £1.43 of every £100Profit £1.43WaitroseYear to Jan 2026£7,767m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is M&S (£17,274m), Waitrose (£7,767m).

By headcount, M&S leads with 73,301 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 2 months of each other. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

M&S£17,274mWaitrose£7,767m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

M&S grew fastest, turnover +25.0% on its own prior year, ahead of Waitrose (+6.9%).

M&S+25.0%Waitrose+6.9%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

M&S employs the most, 73,301 people, against 44,900 at Waitrose.

M&S has the highest average staff cost, about £33,000 a head; Waitrose the lowest, about £26,000.

M&S brings in the most turnover per employee, about £236,000, against £173,000 at Waitrose. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureM&SWaitrose
Registered nameMARKS AND SPENCER GROUP P.L.C.WAITROSE LIMITED
Company number0425688600099405
Incorporated20011908
Accounts filed24 July 202614 May 2026
Turnover, prior year£13,817m£7,267m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£512m£138m
Staff costs£2,445m£1,151m
Payroll share of turnover14.2%14.8%
Employees, prior year73,333n/d
Dividends paid£77mn/d
Charges outstanding03

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

M&S v Waitrose: common questions

Who is the biggest of M&S or Waitrose?

M&S, with turnover of £17,274m in the year to March 2026.

Which makes the most profit?

M&S: £365m pre-tax in the year to March 2026.

Which employs the most people?

M&S, with 73,301 employees in its latest accounts.

M&S or Waitrose: which is bigger?

M&S, with turnover of £17,274m against £7,767m at Waitrose on their latest filings. On margin, M&S keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.