VS Series

Aldi v Lidl

Germany's two discounters took on the big four. Which one keeps more of the till?

Aldi leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Aldi is the biggest by turnover at £18,125m, against £11,733m at Lidl. Aldi keeps more of every £100 it takes, £2.30 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Aldi files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Lidl files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: Aldi to Dec 2024 · Lidl to Feb 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 AldiAldi Stores Limited £18,125m +1.3% £416m 2.3% 50,655 £32,000 £358,000 £3,593m £118m Dec 2024 Group
2 LidlLidl Great Britain Limited £11,733m +7.9% £157m 1.3% 34,697 £29,000 £338,000 £2,015m £164m Feb 2025 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Aldi converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £2.30 reaches pre-tax profit, against £1.34 at Lidl.
  2. Aldi is the largest on the top line, £18,125m of turnover, 1.5x Lidl's £11,733m.
  3. Lidl is growing fastest, turnover +7.9% on its own prior year.
  4. Aldi is the biggest employer with 50,655 people; Aldi pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £32,000.
  5. Aldi has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £3,593m, while Lidl holds the most cash at £164m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Aldi keeps the most: £2.30 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Lidl keeps the least, £1.34.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £8.84 of every £100£8.84Financing: £0.20 of every £100Other costs: £88.66 of every £100Other costs£88.66Profit: £2.30 of every £100Profit £2.30AldiYear to Dec 2024£18,125m turnoverPayroll: £8.72 of every £100£8.72Financing: £1.42 of every £100Other costs: £88.52 of every £100Other costs£88.52Profit: £1.34 of every £100Profit £1.34LidlYear to Feb 2025£11,733m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Aldi (£18,125m), Lidl (£11,733m).

By headcount, Aldi leads with 50,655 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 2 months of each other. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Aldi£18,125mLidl£11,733m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Lidl grew fastest, turnover +7.9% on its own prior year, ahead of Aldi (+1.3%).

Lidl+7.9%Aldi+1.3%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Aldi employs the most, 50,655 people, against 34,697 at Lidl.

Aldi has the highest average staff cost, about £32,000 a head; Lidl the lowest, about £29,000.

Aldi brings in the most turnover per employee, about £358,000, against £338,000 at Lidl. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureAldiLidl
Registered nameALDI STORES LIMITEDLIDL GREAT BRITAIN LIMITED
Company number0232186902816429
Incorporated19881993
Accounts filed22 September 202523 October 2025
Turnover, prior year£17,888m£10,875m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£537m£44m
Staff costs£1,603m£1,023m
Payroll share of turnover8.8%8.7%
Employees, prior year48,74631,448
Dividends paid£250mn/d
Charges outstanding531

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Aldi v Lidl: common questions

Who is the biggest of Aldi or Lidl?

Aldi, with turnover of £18,125m in the year to December 2024.

Which makes the most profit?

Aldi: £416m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.

Which employs the most people?

Aldi, with 50,655 employees in its latest accounts.

Aldi or Lidl: which is bigger?

Aldi, with turnover of £18,125m against £11,733m at Lidl on their latest filings. On margin, Aldi keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.