Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed September 2025

Aldi: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Aldi Stores Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2024 it reported turnover of £18,125m.

£18,125m
Turnover, up 1.3%
£416m
Pre-tax profit
50,655
Employees
Registered name
ALDI STORES LIMITED
Company number
02321869
Status
Active
Incorporated
25 November 1988
Registered office area
Coventry
Industry code on the register
47110: Retail trade
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 22 September 2025

What does Aldi do?

Aldi is a discount supermarket chain selling groceries and household goods, most of them under its own labels. It keeps prices low by stocking a small range, selling mainly own-brand products and running simple, efficient stores, all operated by the company itself. Its weekly Specialbuys add changing non-food lines. Aldi's UK business is part of the German Aldi Süd group and is based in Atherstone, Warwickshire.

In brief: discount supermarket · mostly own-label range · company-run stores · part of Aldi Süd

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: aldi.co.uk.

Who owns Aldi?

Aldi Stores Limited, company number 02321869, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Aldi?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Aldi Stores Limited.

All 6 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Karl Peter Jansen1 January 2009
Daniel Mark Austin Ronald20 July 2015
Giles Hurley20 July 2015
Julie Anne Ashfield28 September 2017
Ruth Elizabeth Kelly1 January 2025
Hayleigh Lupino14 October 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Aldi file?

Aldi Stores Limited reported turnover of £18,125m in the year to December 2024. That was up 1.3% on £17,888m the year before.

It reported 50,655 employees. The year before it reported 48,746.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £416m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £537m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,603m. That is an average of £32,000 a head. It ended the year with £118m at the bank and net assets of £3,593m. It paid dividends of £250m.

Dec 2024£88.66£2.30 profit
Dec 2023£88.91£3.00 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£18,125m£17,888m
Pre-tax profit£416m (filed)£537m (filed)
Employees50,65548,746
Staff costs£1,603m£1,447m
Average staff cost per head£32,000£30,000
Bank and cash£118m£217m
Net assets£3,593m£3,581m
Dividends paid£250m
Interest paid£35m
Interest received£16m
Directors' pay£6m

Read the accounts to December 2024 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing

Are there any charges against Aldi?

Aldi Stores Limited has registered 28 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
North East London Nhs Foundation Trust2 April 2026
Cedarvale, C.C. Projects24 February 2025
The Secretary of State for Defence3 November 2021
The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government4 May 2017
Strawson J4M8 Limited9 September 2016

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Aldi compares

Aldi files as Aldi Stores Limited, with turnover of £18,125m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Aldi

What does Aldi do?

Aldi is a discount supermarket chain selling groceries and household goods, most of them under its own labels. It keeps prices low by stocking a small range, selling mainly own-brand products and running simple, efficient stores, all operated by the company itself. Its weekly Specialbuys add changing non-food lines. Aldi's UK business is part of the German Aldi Süd group and is based in Atherstone, Warwickshire.

Who owns Aldi?

Aldi Stores Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Aldi make?

Aldi Stores Limited reported turnover of £18,125m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £416m.

How many people work at Aldi?

Aldi Stores Limited reported 50,655 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Aldi?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for Aldi Stores Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Aldi Stores Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02321869, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Aldi: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/aldi/. Figures from Companies House filings for ALDI STORES LIMITED (02321869).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings