Battle · 6 companies

Challenger banks

The upstarts came for the high street. Not all of them are banking the win.

Revolut leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Revolut is the biggest by turnover at £3,312m, against £1,724m at Monzo. Revolut keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £43.71 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Starling Bank, Zopa and OakNorth file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Monzo, Revolut and Atom Bank file for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.

Accounts compared: Monzo to Mar 2026 · Starling Bank to Mar 2026 · Revolut to Dec 2025 · Zopa to Dec 2025 · Atom Bank to Mar 2026 · OakNorth to Dec 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 RevolutRevolut Ltd £3,312m +35.0% £1,448m 43.7% 5,310 £121,000 £624,000 £2,650m £6,652m Dec 2025 Single company
2 MonzoMonzo Bank Limited £1,724m +39.2% £132m 7.7% 4,591 £88,000 £376,000 £1,029m £15,436m Mar 2026 Single company
3 Starling BankStarling Bank Limited £855m -8.6% £234m 27.4% 3,902 £83,000 £219,000 £1,269m £4,189m Mar 2026 Group
4 ZopaZopa Group PLC £615m -24.9% £43m 6.9% 924 £108,000 £665,000 £629m £2,226m Dec 2025 Group
5 OakNorthOakNorth Bank PLC £606m +1.8% £223m 36.7% 266 £160,000 £2.3m £1,057m £2,184m Dec 2025 Group
6 Atom BankAtom Bank PLC £501m +13.3% £9m 1.9% 560 £72,000 £894,000 £505m £2,620m Mar 2026 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Revolut converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £43.71 reaches pre-tax profit, against £1.86 at Atom Bank.
  2. Revolut is the largest on the top line, £3,312m of turnover, 1.9x Monzo's £1,724m.
  3. Monzo is growing fastest, turnover +39.2% on its own prior year. Starling Bank and Zopa went backwards.
  4. Revolut is the biggest employer with 5,310 people; OakNorth pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £160,000.
  5. Revolut has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £2,650m, while Monzo holds the most cash at £15,436m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Revolut keeps the most: £43.71 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Atom Bank keeps the least, £1.86.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £19.46 of every £100Payroll£19.46Other costs: £36.83 of every £100£36.83Profit: £43.71 of every £100Profit £43.71RevolutYear to Dec 2025£3,312mPayroll: £7.05 of every £100£7.05Other costs: £56.23 of every £100£56.23Profit: £36.73 of every £100Profit £36.73OakNorthYear to Dec 2025£606mPayroll: £38.02 of every £100Payroll£38.02Other costs: £34.59 of every £100£34.59Profit: £27.39 of every £100Profit £27.39StarlingBankYear to Mar 2026£855mPayroll: £23.31 of every £100Payroll£23.31Other costs: £69.01 of every £100£69.01Profit: £7.67 of every £100Profit £7.67MonzoYear to Mar 2026£1,724mPayroll: £16.24 of every £100Payroll£16.24Other costs: £76.83 of every £100£76.83Profit: £6.93 of every £100Profit £6.93ZopaYear to Dec 2025£615mPayroll: £8.01 of every £100£8.01Other costs: £90.13 of every £100£90.13Profit: £1.86 of every £100Profit £1.86Atom BankYear to Mar 2026£501m
Payroll (staff costs)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Revolut (£3,312m), Monzo (£1,724m), Starling Bank (£855m), Zopa (£615m), OakNorth (£606m), Atom Bank (£501m).

By headcount, Revolut leads with 5,310 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 3 months of each other. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Revolut£3,312mMonzo£1,724mStarling Bank£855mZopa£615mOakNorth£606mAtom Bank£501m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Monzo grew fastest, turnover +39.2% on its own prior year, ahead of Revolut (+35.0%), Atom Bank (+13.3%), OakNorth (+1.8%), Starling Bank (-8.6%), Zopa (-24.9%).

Monzo+39.2%Revolut+35.0%Atom Bank+13.3%OakNorth+1.8%Starling Bank-8.6%Zopa-24.9%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Revolut employs the most, 5,310 people, against 4,591 at Monzo.

OakNorth has the highest average staff cost, about £160,000 a head; Atom Bank the lowest, about £72,000.

OakNorth brings in the most turnover per employee, about £2.3m, against £219,000 at Starling Bank. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureMonzoStarling BankRevolutZopaAtom BankOakNorth
Registered nameMONZO BANK LIMITEDSTARLING BANK LIMITEDREVOLUT LTDZOPA GROUP PLCATOM BANK PLCOAKNORTH BANK PLC
Company number094462310909214908804411106249550863255208595042
Incorporated201520142013201720132013
Accounts filed27 August 202612 July 20263 April 20267 May 20264 September 202629 March 2026
Turnover, prior year£1,239m£935m£2,453m£818m£442m£595m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£52m£223m£970m£29m£5m£215m
Staff costs£402m£325m£645m£100m£40m£43m
Payroll share of turnover23.3%38.0%19.5%16.2%8.0%7.0%
Employees, prior year3,7863,9394,918801544278
Dividends paidn/dn/d£324mn/dn/dn/d
Charges outstanding230030

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Challenger banks: common questions

Who is the biggest of Monzo, Starling Bank, Revolut, Zopa, Atom Bank or OakNorth?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m in the year to December 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Revolut: £1,448m pre-tax in the year to December 2025.

Which employs the most people?

Revolut, with 5,310 employees in its latest accounts.

Monzo or Starling Bank: which is bigger?

Monzo, with turnover of £1,724m against £855m at Starling Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Starling Bank keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Monzo or Revolut: which is bigger?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m against £1,724m at Monzo on their latest filings. On margin, Revolut keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Monzo or Zopa: which is bigger?

Monzo, with turnover of £1,724m against £615m at Zopa on their latest filings. On margin, Monzo keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Monzo or Atom Bank: which is bigger?

Monzo, with turnover of £1,724m against £501m at Atom Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Monzo keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Monzo or OakNorth: which is bigger?

Monzo, with turnover of £1,724m against £606m at OakNorth on their latest filings. On margin, OakNorth keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Starling Bank or Revolut: which is bigger?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m against £855m at Starling Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Revolut keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Starling Bank or Zopa: which is bigger?

Starling Bank, with turnover of £855m against £615m at Zopa on their latest filings. On margin, Starling Bank keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Starling Bank or Atom Bank: which is bigger?

Starling Bank, with turnover of £855m against £501m at Atom Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Starling Bank keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Starling Bank or OakNorth: which is bigger?

Starling Bank, with turnover of £855m against £606m at OakNorth on their latest filings. On margin, OakNorth keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Revolut or Zopa: which is bigger?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m against £615m at Zopa on their latest filings. On margin, Revolut keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Revolut or Atom Bank: which is bigger?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m against £501m at Atom Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Revolut keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Revolut or OakNorth: which is bigger?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m against £606m at OakNorth on their latest filings. On margin, Revolut keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Zopa or Atom Bank: which is bigger?

Zopa, with turnover of £615m against £501m at Atom Bank on their latest filings. On margin, Zopa keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Zopa or OakNorth: which is bigger?

Zopa, with turnover of £615m against £606m at OakNorth on their latest filings. On margin, OakNorth keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Atom Bank or OakNorth: which is bigger?

OakNorth, with turnover of £606m against £501m at Atom Bank on their latest filings. On margin, OakNorth keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.