Accounts to March 2026 · Group accounts · Filed July 2026

Starling Bank: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Starling Bank Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Starling Intermediate Holdings Limited. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to March 2026 Starling Bank Limited reported turnover of £855m.

£855m
Turnover, down 8.6%
£234m
Pre-tax profit
3,902
Employees
Registered name
STARLING BANK LIMITED
Company number
09092149
Status
Active
Incorporated
18 June 2014
Registered office area
East London
Industry code on the register
64191: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 12 July 2026

What does Starling Bank do?

Starling Bank is a fully licensed UK bank that runs through a smartphone app, offering personal, joint and business accounts. It was founded in 2014 and describes itself as Britain's first digital bank. It has no branches, and has offices in London, Cardiff, Southampton and Manchester. It earns money from lending and card fees. It also sells its own banking software, Engine, to other banks.

In brief: app-based bank · personal and business accounts · no branches · Engine banking software

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: starlingbank.com.

Who owns Starling Bank?

Starling Bank Limited
Starling Bank · company 09092149
Starling Intermediate Holdings Limited
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records Starling Intermediate Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Starling Bank Limited, company number 09092149. Starling Intermediate Holdings Limited is itself company number 16240204. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 30 September 2025.

That places Starling Bank Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Starling Bank?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Starling Bank Limited.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Declan Ferguson13 July 2022
Julie Chakraverty1 March 2024
Veronica Ridley24 May 2024
Raman Bhatia24 June 2024
Darren Scott Pope1 October 2024
Colin William Bell6 October 2025
John Edmund Mountain18 June 2026
Daniel Toby Olley1 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Starling Bank file?

Starling Bank Limited reported turnover of £855m in the year to March 2026. That was down 8.6% on £935m the year before.

It reported 3,902 employees. The year before it reported 3,939.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £234m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £223m the year before.

Staff costs came to £325m. That is an average of £83,000 a head. It ended the year with £4,189m at the bank and net assets of £1,269m.

Mar 2026£38.02£34.59£27.39£27.39 profit
Mar 2025£32.47£43.65£23.88£23.88 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£855m£935m
Pre-tax profit£234m (filed)£223m (filed)
Employees3,9023,939
Staff costs£325m£304m
Average staff cost per head£83,000£77,000
Bank and cash£4,189m£6,687m
Net assets£1,269m£1,046m
Directors' pay£4m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Starling Bank?

Starling Bank Limited has registered 8 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee15 November 2019
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee for the Security Beneficiaries19 June 2019
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee13 March 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Starling Bank compares

Starling Bank files as Starling Bank Limited, whose person with significant control is Starling Intermediate Holdings Limited, with turnover of £855m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Starling Bank

What does Starling Bank do?

Starling Bank is a fully licensed UK bank that runs through a smartphone app, offering personal, joint and business accounts. It was founded in 2014 and describes itself as Britain's first digital bank. It has no branches, and has offices in London, Cardiff, Southampton and Manchester. It earns money from lending and card fees. It also sells its own banking software, Engine, to other banks.

Who owns Starling Bank?

The Companies House register records Starling Intermediate Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Starling Bank Limited. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Starling Bank make?

Starling Bank Limited reported turnover of £855m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £234m.

How many people work at Starling Bank?

Starling Bank Limited reported 3,902 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Starling Bank?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Starling Bank Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Starling Bank Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 09092149, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Starling Bank: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/starling-bank/. Figures from Companies House filings for STARLING BANK LIMITED (09092149).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings