Zopa: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Zopa Group PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Brett Allen Hildebrand. In the year to December 2025 Zopa Group PLC reported turnover of £615m.
- Registered name
- ZOPA GROUP PLC
- Company number
- 10624955
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 17 February 2017
- Registered office area
- East London
- Industry code on the register
- 64205: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 7 May 2026
What does Zopa do?
Zopa is a digital bank offering a current account, savings accounts and ISAs, personal loans, credit cards and car finance through its app. It was founded in 2005 as the world's first peer-to-peer lending company and launched Zopa Bank in 2020. It runs its services through its app rather than branches. It is regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority.
In brief: digital bank · app-based · loans, credit cards, savings and current account · started peer-to-peer lending
Source: Zopa's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns Zopa?
The Companies House register records Brett Allen Hildebrand as the person with significant control of Zopa Group PLC, company number 10624955.
The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Zopa?
The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Zopa Group PLC.
All 13 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Jaidev Janardana | 31 March 2017 |
| Richard Frank Goulding | 6 September 2017 |
| Gordon McCallum | 14 February 2019 |
| Victoria Elizabeth Matthews | 22 May 2020 |
| Nicholas Aspinall | 11 June 2020 |
| Michael Charles Woodburn | 15 October 2020 |
| Paul Alexander Cutter | 12 January 2022 |
| Stephen Jon Hulme | 12 January 2022 |
| Gaenor Bagley | 12 January 2022 |
| Philippa Lambert | 1 June 2023 |
| Max Alexander Ohrstrand | 30 October 2025 |
| Dr Paula Constance Walter | 1 September 2026 |
| Bruce Alan Fletcher | 1 September 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Zopa file?
Zopa Group PLC reported turnover of £615m in the year to December 2025. That was down 24.9% on £818m the year before.
It reported 924 employees. The year before it reported 801.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £43m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £29m the year before.
Staff costs came to £100m. That is an average of £108,000 a head. It ended the year with £2,226m at the bank and net assets of £629m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £615m | £818m |
| Pre-tax profit | £43m (filed) | £29m (filed) |
| Employees | 924 | 801 |
| Staff costs | £100m | £80m |
| Average staff cost per head | £108,000 | £100,000 |
| Bank and cash | £2,226m | £2,761m |
| Net assets | £629m | £496m |
| Directors' pay | £2m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Zopa files as Zopa Group PLC, whose person with significant control is Brett Allen Hildebrand, with turnover of £615m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Zopa
What does Zopa do?
Zopa is a digital bank offering a current account, savings accounts and ISAs, personal loans, credit cards and car finance through its app. It was founded in 2005 as the world's first peer-to-peer lending company and launched Zopa Bank in 2020. It runs its services through its app rather than branches. It is regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority.
Who owns Zopa?
The Companies House register records Brett Allen Hildebrand as the person with significant control of Zopa Group PLC.
How much does Zopa make?
Zopa Group PLC reported turnover of £615m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £43m.
How many people work at Zopa?
Zopa Group PLC reported 924 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs Zopa?
The Companies House register lists 13 current officers for Zopa Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Zopa Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 10624955, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Zopa: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/zopa/. Figures from Companies House filings for ZOPA GROUP PLC (10624955).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the challenger banks: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Barclays Bank: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
HSBC Bank: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Revolut: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks