VS Series

Revolut v Monzo

Two app banks that grew up side by side, and one question: which turned customers into profit?

Revolut leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Revolut is the biggest by turnover at £3,312m, against £1,724m at Monzo. Revolut keeps more of every £100 it takes, £43.71 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like.

Accounts compared: Revolut to Dec 2025 · Monzo to Mar 2026

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 RevolutRevolut Ltd £3,312m +35.0% £1,448m 43.7% 5,310 £121,000 £624,000 £2,650m £6,652m Dec 2025 Single company
2 MonzoMonzo Bank Limited £1,724m +39.2% £132m 7.7% 4,591 £88,000 £376,000 £1,029m £15,436m Mar 2026 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Revolut converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £43.71 reaches pre-tax profit, against £7.67 at Monzo.
  2. Revolut is the largest on the top line, £3,312m of turnover, 1.9x Monzo's £1,724m.
  3. Monzo is growing fastest, turnover +39.2% on its own prior year.
  4. Revolut is the biggest employer with 5,310 people; Revolut pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £121,000.
  5. Revolut has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £2,650m, while Monzo holds the most cash at £15,436m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Revolut keeps the most: £43.71 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Monzo keeps the least, £7.67.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £19.46 of every £100Payroll£19.46Other costs: £36.83 of every £100Other costs£36.83Profit: £43.71 of every £100Profit £43.71RevolutYear to Dec 2025£3,312m turnoverPayroll: £23.31 of every £100Payroll£23.31Other costs: £69.01 of every £100Other costs£69.01Profit: £7.67 of every £100Profit £7.67MonzoYear to Mar 2026£1,724m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Revolut (£3,312m), Monzo (£1,724m).

By headcount, Revolut leads with 5,310 employees.

The accounting periods all end within 3 months of each other. All are on the same filing basis.

Revolut£3,312mMonzo£1,724m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Monzo grew fastest, turnover +39.2% on its own prior year, ahead of Revolut (+35.0%).

Monzo+39.2%Revolut+35.0%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Revolut employs the most, 5,310 people, against 4,591 at Monzo.

Revolut has the highest average staff cost, about £121,000 a head; Monzo the lowest, about £88,000.

Revolut brings in the most turnover per employee, about £624,000, against £376,000 at Monzo. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureRevolutMonzo
Registered nameREVOLUT LTDMONZO BANK LIMITED
Company number0880441109446231
Incorporated20132015
Accounts filed3 April 202627 August 2026
Turnover, prior year£2,453m£1,239m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£970m£52m
Staff costs£645m£402m
Payroll share of turnover19.5%23.3%
Employees, prior year4,9183,786
Dividends paid£324mn/d
Charges outstanding02

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Revolut v Monzo: common questions

Who is the biggest of Revolut or Monzo?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m in the year to December 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Revolut: £1,448m pre-tax in the year to December 2025.

Which employs the most people?

Revolut, with 5,310 employees in its latest accounts.

Revolut or Monzo: which is bigger?

Revolut, with turnover of £3,312m against £1,724m at Monzo on their latest filings. On margin, Revolut keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.