Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed August 2026

Monzo: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Monzo Bank Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Monzo Bank Holding Group Limited. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to March 2026 Monzo Bank Limited reported turnover of £1,724m.

£1,724m
Turnover, up 39.2%
£132m
Pre-tax profit
4,591
Employees
Registered name
MONZO BANK LIMITED
Company number
09446231
Status
Active
Incorporated
18 February 2015
Registered office area
East-Central London
Industry code on the register
64191: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 27 August 2026

What does Monzo do?

Monzo is a UK bank that runs entirely through a smartphone app, offering current accounts, savings, loans and business accounts. It was founded in London in 2015 and has no branches. It makes money from fees on card payments, interest on lending, and paid subscription plans that add extra features. Its coral-coloured cards and real-time spending notifications helped set the pattern for app-based banking in the UK.

In brief: app-only bank · personal and business accounts · no branches · subscription plans

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: monzo.com.

Who owns Monzo?

Monzo Bank Limited
Monzo · company 09446231
Monzo Bank Holding Group Limited
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records Monzo Bank Holding Group Limited as the person with significant control of Monzo Bank Limited, company number 09446231. Monzo Bank Holding Group Limited is itself company number 14785367. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 12 September 2023.

That places Monzo Bank Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Monzo?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Monzo Bank Limited.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Eileen Burbidge21 April 2015
Fiona Catherine McBain1 January 2020
Valerie Michelle Dias1 June 2021
Paul McCullagh12 September 2023
Jane Fields Wicker-Miurin1 April 2024
Mark Newbery25 November 2024
Diana Louise Patricia Layfield1 February 2026
Rupert Graham Keeley1 June 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Monzo file?

Monzo Bank Limited reported turnover of £1,724m in the year to March 2026. That was up 39.2% on £1,239m the year before.

It reported 4,591 employees. The year before it reported 3,786.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £132m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £52m the year before.

Staff costs came to £402m. That is an average of £88,000 a head. It ended the year with £15,436m at the bank and net assets of £1,029m.

Mar 2026£23.31£69.01£7.67 profit
Mar 2025£27.45£68.35£4.21 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£1,724m£1,239m
Pre-tax profit£132m (filed)£52m (filed)
Employees4,5913,786
Staff costs£402m£340m
Average staff cost per head£88,000£90,000
Bank and cash£15,436m£11,018m
Net assets£1,029m£903m
Directors' pay£6m

Read the accounts to March 2026 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing

Are there any charges against Monzo?

Monzo Bank Limited has registered 4 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England15 March 2022
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee13 March 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Monzo compares

That comparison uses Monzo's accounts to March 2025. This page shows the newer year to March 2026.

Monzo files as Monzo Bank Limited, whose person with significant control is Monzo Bank Holding Group Limited, with turnover of £1,724m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Monzo

What does Monzo do?

Monzo is a UK bank that runs entirely through a smartphone app, offering current accounts, savings, loans and business accounts. It was founded in London in 2015 and has no branches. It makes money from fees on card payments, interest on lending, and paid subscription plans that add extra features. Its coral-coloured cards and real-time spending notifications helped set the pattern for app-based banking in the UK.

Who owns Monzo?

The Companies House register records Monzo Bank Holding Group Limited as the person with significant control of Monzo Bank Limited. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Monzo make?

Monzo Bank Limited reported turnover of £1,724m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £132m.

How many people work at Monzo?

Monzo Bank Limited reported 4,591 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Monzo?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Monzo Bank Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Monzo Bank Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 09446231, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Monzo: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/monzo/. Figures from Companies House filings for MONZO BANK LIMITED (09446231).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings