OakNorth: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
OakNorth Bank PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr Rishi Khosla. In the year to December 2025 OakNorth Bank PLC reported turnover of £606m.
- Registered name
- OAKNORTH BANK PLC
- Company number
- 08595042
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 3 July 2013
- Registered office area
- West London
- Industry code on the register
- 64191: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 29 March 2026
What does OakNorth do?
OakNorth is a bank that lends to growing businesses, including loans to buy, build or refurbish property. It pays for that lending with savings accounts offered to individuals and businesses. It sets out to lend faster and more flexibly than high street banks, designing each loan around the business. It is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority.
In brief: business lender · loans funded by savings accounts · no branches
Source: OakNorth's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns OakNorth?
The Companies House register records Mr Rishi Khosla as the person with significant control of OakNorth Bank PLC, company number 08595042.
The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs OakNorth?
The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for OakNorth Bank PLC.
All 10 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Mr. Rishi Khosla | 18 December 2013 |
| Joel Jack Perlman Azout | 18 December 2013 |
| Robert Michael Burgess | 1 January 2015 |
| Edward Barry Berk | 9 May 2017 |
| Carolyn Margaret Schuetz | 28 June 2021 |
| Timo Alexander Bernd Boldt | 8 August 2022 |
| Lord Jonathan Adair Turner | 1 January 2024 |
| Nilan Hilarion Peiris | 2 September 2024 |
| Gergely Mark Zaborszky | 26 May 2026 |
| Virginia Helen Duncan | 31 August 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did OakNorth file?
OakNorth Bank PLC reported turnover of £606m in the year to December 2025. That was up 1.8% on £595m the year before.
It reported 266 employees. The year before it reported 278.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £223m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £215m the year before.
Staff costs came to £43m. That is an average of £160,000 a head. It ended the year with £2,184m at the bank and net assets of £1,057m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £606m | £595m |
| Pre-tax profit | £223m (filed) | £215m (filed) |
| Employees | 266 | 278 |
| Staff costs | £43m | £48m |
| Average staff cost per head | £160,000 | £172,000 |
| Bank and cash | £2,184m | £2,689m |
| Net assets | £1,057m | £1,012m |
| Directors' pay | £5m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
OakNorth files as OakNorth Bank PLC, whose person with significant control is Mr Rishi Khosla, with turnover of £606m in its latest filed year.
Questions about OakNorth
What does OakNorth do?
OakNorth is a bank that lends to growing businesses, including loans to buy, build or refurbish property. It pays for that lending with savings accounts offered to individuals and businesses. It sets out to lend faster and more flexibly than high street banks, designing each loan around the business. It is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority.
Who owns OakNorth?
The Companies House register records Mr Rishi Khosla as the person with significant control of OakNorth Bank PLC.
How much does OakNorth make?
OakNorth Bank PLC reported turnover of £606m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £223m.
How many people work at OakNorth?
OakNorth Bank PLC reported 266 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs OakNorth?
The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for OakNorth Bank PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from OakNorth Bank PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 08595042, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “OakNorth: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/oaknorth/. Figures from Companies House filings for OAKNORTH BANK PLC (08595042).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the challenger banks: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Barclays Bank: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
HSBC Bank: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Revolut: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks