Accounts to March 2026 · Single company accounts · Filed September 2026

Atom Bank: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Atom Bank PLC's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Atom Holdco Plc. In the year to March 2026 Atom Bank PLC reported turnover of £501m.

£501m
Turnover, up 13.3%
£9m
Pre-tax profit
560
Employees
Registered name
ATOM BANK PLC
Company number
08632552
Status
Active
Incorporated
31 July 2013
Registered office area
Durham
Industry code on the register
64191: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 4 September 2026

What does Atom Bank do?

Atom bank is an app-only bank that offers savings accounts, mortgages and loans for businesses. It has no branches: customers open and manage savings accounts in its app, while its mortgages and business loans are arranged through brokers. It makes money on the difference between the interest it pays savers and the interest it charges borrowers. It was founded in 2014.

In brief: app-only bank · savings, mortgages and business loans · no branches

Source: Atom Bank's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Atom Bank?

Atom Bank PLC
Atom Bank · company 08632552
Atom Holdco Plc
Company

The Companies House register records Atom Holdco Plc as the person with significant control of Atom Bank PLC, company number 08632552. Atom Holdco Plc is itself company number 14129045.

That places Atom Bank PLC inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Atom Bank?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Atom Bank PLC.

All 12 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Sait Ergun Özen1 April 2016
David Andrew Roper31 July 2018
Cheryl Joanne Millington6 November 2018
Laura Farnworth3 December 2019
Laurence David Edgar Hollingworth29 September 2021
Christine Anne Coe27 October 2021
Andrew David Marshall1 November 2022
Lee Michael Rochford23 May 2023
Murat Kalkan21 January 2025
Fabrizio Cesario21 January 2025
Catherine Prentke English5 February 2026
Maria Del Mar Fernandez-Aceytuno Zurdo31 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Atom Bank file?

Atom Bank PLC reported turnover of £501m in the year to March 2026. That was up 13.3% on £442m the year before.

It reported 560 employees. The year before it reported 544.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £9m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £5m the year before.

Staff costs came to £40m. That is an average of £72,000 a head. It ended the year with £2,620m at the bank and net assets of £505m.

Mar 2026£90.13£1.86 profit
Mar 2025£90.49£1.15 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£501m£442m
Pre-tax profit£9m (filed)£5m (filed)
Employees560544
Staff costs£40m£37m
Average staff cost per head£72,000£68,000
Bank and cash£2,620m£1,902m
Net assets£505m£425m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Atom Bank?

Atom Bank PLC has registered 9 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Abn Amro Clearing Bank N.V9 October 2025
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee for the Security Beneficiaries19 June 2019
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee13 March 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Atom Bank files as Atom Bank PLC, whose person with significant control is Atom Holdco Plc, with turnover of £501m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Atom Bank

What does Atom Bank do?

Atom bank is an app-only bank that offers savings accounts, mortgages and loans for businesses. It has no branches: customers open and manage savings accounts in its app, while its mortgages and business loans are arranged through brokers. It makes money on the difference between the interest it pays savers and the interest it charges borrowers. It was founded in 2014.

Who owns Atom Bank?

The Companies House register records Atom Holdco Plc as the person with significant control of Atom Bank PLC.

How much does Atom Bank make?

Atom Bank PLC reported turnover of £501m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £9m.

How many people work at Atom Bank?

Atom Bank PLC reported 560 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs Atom Bank?

The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Atom Bank PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Atom Bank PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 08632552, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Atom Bank: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/atom-bank/. Figures from Companies House filings for ATOM BANK PLC (08632552).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings