VS Series
Bulk v MyProtein
Protein powder, two brands, one gym bag
Bulk leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. MyProtein is the biggest by turnover at £1,718m, against £129m at Bulk. Both lost money; Bulk lost the least, £0.78 of every £100 it took.
The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. MyProtein files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Bulk files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.
Accounts compared: Bulk to Dec 2024 · MyProtein to Dec 2025
Who they are
Bulk
Sports Supplements Ltd · 05654661Bulk is a sports nutrition brand selling protein powders, pre-workout, creatine, vitamins, snacks, and gym clothing and accessories.In brief: sports nutrition brand · protein and supplements · sold online direct · own manufacturingFull profile →MyProtein
THG PLC · 06539496Myprotein is a sports nutrition brand that sells protein powders, snacks, vitamins and supplements, along with gym clothing, mainly online.In brief: sports nutrition brand · sells direct online · owned by THG · THG is listedFull profile →The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MyProteinTHG PLC | £1,718m | -1.9% | -£69m | -4.0% | 2,912 | £52,000 | £590,000 | £425m | £183m | Dec 2025 | Group |
| 2 | BulkSports Supplements Ltd | £129m | +4.6% | -£1.0m | -0.8% | 373 | £33,000 | £345,000 | £18m | £3m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
The Takeaway
- Bulk loses the least. Of every £100 it takes, it loses £0.78, against a loss of £4.04 at MyProtein.
- MyProtein is the largest on the top line, £1,718m of turnover, 13.3x Bulk's £129m.
- Bulk is growing fastest, turnover +4.6% on its own prior year. MyProtein went backwards.
- MyProtein is the biggest employer with 2,912 people; MyProtein pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £52,000.
- MyProtein has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £425m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Every company here made a loss. Bulk lost the least, £0.78 of every £100 of turnover. MyProtein does worst, losing £4.04.
Financing bites hardest at MyProtein: £4.66 of every £100 goes on interest.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is MyProtein (£1,718m), Bulk (£129m).
By headcount, MyProtein leads with 2,912 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Bulk to Dec 2024, MyProtein to Dec 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Bulk grew fastest, turnover +4.6% on its own prior year, ahead of MyProtein (-1.9%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
MyProtein employs the most, 2,912 people, against 373 at Bulk.
MyProtein has the highest average staff cost, about £52,000 a head; Bulk the lowest, about £33,000.
MyProtein brings in the most turnover per employee, about £590,000, against £345,000 at Bulk. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by Mr Elliot James Dawes
An individual recorded as a person with significant control. 5 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns Bulk →
THG PLC · 06539496Owned by its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange, so no single controller appears on the register.
Who owns MyProtein →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Bulk | MyProtein |
|---|---|---|
| Registered name | SPORTS SUPPLEMENTS LTD | THG PLC |
| Company number | 05654661 | 06539496 |
| Incorporated | 2005 | 2008 |
| Accounts filed | 4 October 2025 | 30 June 2026 |
| Turnover, prior year | £123m | £1,751m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | £6m | -£202m |
| Staff costs | £12m | £150m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 9.7% | 8.7% |
| Employees, prior year | 341 | 7,127 |
| Dividends paid | £1k | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 5 | 0 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Bulk v MyProtein: common questions
Who is the biggest of Bulk or MyProtein?
MyProtein, with turnover of £1,718m in the year to December 2025.
Which makes the most profit?
Bulk: the smallest loss, -£1.0m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.
Which employs the most people?
MyProtein, with 2,912 employees in its latest accounts.
Bulk or MyProtein: which is bigger?
MyProtein, with turnover of £1,718m against £129m at Bulk on their latest filings. On margin, Bulk keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.