Bulk: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Sports Supplements Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr Elliot James Dawes. In the year to December 2024 Sports Supplements Ltd reported turnover of £129m.
- Registered name
- SPORTS SUPPLEMENTS LTD
- Company number
- 05654661
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 14 December 2005
- Registered office area
- Colchester
- Industry code on the register
- 47910: Retail trade
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 4 October 2025
What does Bulk do?
Bulk is a sports nutrition brand selling protein powders, pre-workout, creatine, vitamins, snacks, and gym clothing and accessories. It sells direct to customers through its own websites and makes most of its products itself. A paid membership, Bulk Boost, gives unlimited free delivery, and discounts are offered to students. Founded in 2006 as Bulk Powders, it now trades as Bulk.
In brief: sports nutrition brand · protein and supplements · sold online direct · own manufacturing
Source: Bulk's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.
Who owns Bulk?
The Companies House register records Mr Elliot James Dawes as the person with significant control of Sports Supplements Ltd, company number 05654661.
The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Bulk?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Sports Supplements Ltd.
All 4 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Adam Rossiter | 19 December 2005 |
| Adam Rossiter | 19 December 2005 |
| Elliot James Dawes | 19 December 2005 |
| Robert James Campbell Easton | 30 September 2015 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Bulk file?
Sports Supplements Ltd reported turnover of £129m in the year to December 2024. That was up 4.6% on £123m the year before.
It reported 373 employees. The year before it reported 341.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.0m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £6m the year before.
Staff costs came to £12m. That is an average of £33,000 a head. It ended the year with £3m at the bank and net assets of £18m. It paid dividends of £1k.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £129m | £123m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£1.0m (filed) | £6m (filed) |
| Employees | 373 | 341 |
| Staff costs | £12m | £11m |
| Average staff cost per head | £33,000 | £32,000 |
| Bank and cash | £3m | £4m |
| Net assets | £18m | £19m |
| Dividends paid | £1k | £2k |
| Interest paid | £1.1m | |
| Interest received | £0.1m | |
| Directors' pay | £48k |
Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Bulk?
Sports Supplements Ltd has registered 6 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 5 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 27 August 2019 |
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 27 August 2019 |
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 9 July 2019 |
| Hsbc UK Bank PLC | 9 July 2019 |
| Hsbc Bank PLC | 21 December 2006 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How Bulk compares
Bulk files as Sports Supplements Ltd, whose person with significant control is Mr Elliot James Dawes, with turnover of £129m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Bulk
What does Bulk do?
Bulk is a sports nutrition brand selling protein powders, pre-workout, creatine, vitamins, snacks, and gym clothing and accessories. It sells direct to customers through its own websites and makes most of its products itself. A paid membership, Bulk Boost, gives unlimited free delivery, and discounts are offered to students. Founded in 2006 as Bulk Powders, it now trades as Bulk.
Who owns Bulk?
The Companies House register records Mr Elliot James Dawes as the person with significant control of Sports Supplements Ltd.
How much does Bulk make?
Sports Supplements Ltd reported turnover of £129m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax loss of £1.0m.
How many people work at Bulk?
Sports Supplements Ltd reported 373 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs Bulk?
The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Sports Supplements Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Sports Supplements Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 05654661, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Bulk: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/bulk/. Figures from Companies House filings for SPORTS SUPPLEMENTS LTD (05654661).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Bulk v MyProtein: the numbers behind the rivalry
Read →Battle
The battle of the protein brands: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
MyProtein: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Taylors of Harrogate: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Huel: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series