Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed October 2025

Barchester: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Barchester Healthcare Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr Chaim Shimon Deutsch. In the year to December 2024 Barchester Healthcare Limited reported turnover of £967m.

Barchester has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£967m
Turnover, up 11.0%
£55m
Pre-tax profit
17,200
Employees
Registered name
BARCHESTER HEALTHCARE LIMITED
Company number
02792285
Status
Active
Incorporated
22 February 1993
Registered office area
Inverness
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 3 October 2025

What does Barchester do?

Barchester Healthcare is a care provider running care homes in Britain that offer residential, nursing and dementia care, along with independent hospitals providing mental health services. Its income comes from fees for residents' care, paid either privately by residents and their families or by local authorities and the NHS for publicly funded places. Its homes are registered with and inspected by the relevant care regulators, such as the Care Quality Commission in England. It is privately owned.

In brief: care homes · residential, nursing and dementia care · private and publicly funded fees · privately owned

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: barchester.com.

Who owns Barchester?

Barchester Healthcare Limited
Barchester · company 02792285
Mr Chaim Shimon Deutsch
Individual

The Companies House register records Mr Chaim Shimon Deutsch as the person with significant control of Barchester Healthcare Limited, company number 02792285.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Barchester?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Barchester Healthcare Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Pete Calveley1 June 2014
Yechiel Aryeh Lehrfield16 October 2025
Dominic Jude Kay7 November 2025
Alison Ann Glover18 December 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Barchester file?

Barchester Healthcare Limited reported turnover of £967m in the year to December 2024. That was up 11.0% on £871m the year before.

It reported 17,200 employees. The year before it reported 16,250.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £55m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £39m the year before.

Staff costs came to £519m. That is an average of £30,000 a head. It ended the year with £16m at the bank and net assets of £256m.

Dec 2024£53.71£36.35£5.67 profit
Dec 2023£54.04£41.48£4.48 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£967m£871m
Pre-tax profit£55m (filed)£39m (filed)
Employees17,20016,250
Staff costs£519m£471m
Average staff cost per head£30,000£29,000
Bank and cash£16m£31m
Net assets£256m£236m
Interest paid£41m
Interest received£2m
Directors' pay£3m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Barchester?

Barchester Healthcare Limited has registered 17 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Finco Trs Limited (As Security Agent)30 October 2025

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Barchester files as Barchester Healthcare Limited, whose person with significant control is Mr Chaim Shimon Deutsch, with turnover of £967m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Barchester

What does Barchester do?

Barchester Healthcare is a care provider running care homes in Britain that offer residential, nursing and dementia care, along with independent hospitals providing mental health services. Its income comes from fees for residents' care, paid either privately by residents and their families or by local authorities and the NHS for publicly funded places. Its homes are registered with and inspected by the relevant care regulators, such as the Care Quality Commission in England. It is privately owned.

Who owns Barchester?

The Companies House register records Mr Chaim Shimon Deutsch as the person with significant control of Barchester Healthcare Limited.

How much does Barchester make?

Barchester Healthcare Limited reported turnover of £967m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £55m.

How many people work at Barchester?

Barchester Healthcare Limited reported 17,200 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Barchester?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Barchester Healthcare Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Barchester Healthcare Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02792285, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Barchester: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/barchester/. Figures from Companies House filings for BARCHESTER HEALTHCARE LIMITED (02792285).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings