Accounts to February 2026 · Group accounts · Filed August 2026

Specsavers: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr Douglas John David Perkins. In the year to February 2026 Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited reported turnover of £4,262m.

£4,262m
Turnover, up 7.0%
£430m
Pre-tax profit
46,616
Employees
Registered name
SPECSAVERS OPTICAL SUPERSTORES LIMITED
Company number
01721624
Status
Active
Incorporated
9 May 1983
Registered office area
Portsmouth
Industry code on the register
41100: Construction of buildings
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to February 2026, filed 19 August 2026

What does Specsavers do?

Specsavers is an opticians and hearing care business offering eye tests, glasses, contact lenses and hearing aids through high street stores. It makes money from sales of glasses, lenses and hearing aids, private eye examinations and NHS-funded sight tests and services. Each store is run as a joint venture, with local partners owning a share of their own business alongside the Specsavers group. It was founded in Guernsey in 1984 by Doug and Mary Perkins and remains family-owned.

In brief: opticians and audiology · glasses, lenses and hearing aids · joint venture stores · family-owned, Guernsey

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: specsavers.co.uk.

Who owns Specsavers?

Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited
Specsavers · company 01721624
Mr Douglas John David Perkins
Individual

The Companies House register records Mr Douglas John David Perkins as the person with significant control of Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited, company number 01721624.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Specsavers?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Douglas John David Perkins
Specsavers Optical Group Limited1 June 1998
Mary Lesley Perkins1 March 2000
John Douglas Perkins16 July 2007
Paul Bryan Fussey1 November 2010
Thomas Michael Buller21 May 2019
Andrew Goodwin Kidd21 June 2023
Peter Dominic John Wright21 June 2023

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Specsavers file?

Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited reported turnover of £4,262m in the year to February 2026. That was up 7.0% on £3,985m the year before.

It reported 46,616 employees. The year before it reported 46,283.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £430m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £339m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,668m. That is an average of £36,000 a head. It ended the year with £233m at the bank and net assets of £358m.

Feb 2026£39.14£50.60£10.08 profit
Feb 2025£40.40£51.08£8.52 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureFeb 2026Feb 2025
Turnover£4,262m£3,985m
Pre-tax profit£430m (filed)£339m (filed)
Employees46,61646,283
Staff costs£1,668m£1,610m
Average staff cost per head£36,000£35,000
Bank and cash£233m£208m
Net assets£358m£285m
Interest paid£7m
Interest received£16m

Read the accounts to February 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Specsavers?

Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited has registered 1 charge at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Blacks Leisure Group PLC21 May 1986

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Specsavers compares

Specsavers files as Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited, whose person with significant control is Mr Douglas John David Perkins, with turnover of £4,262m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Specsavers

What does Specsavers do?

Specsavers is an opticians and hearing care business offering eye tests, glasses, contact lenses and hearing aids through high street stores. It makes money from sales of glasses, lenses and hearing aids, private eye examinations and NHS-funded sight tests and services. Each store is run as a joint venture, with local partners owning a share of their own business alongside the Specsavers group. It was founded in Guernsey in 1984 by Doug and Mary Perkins and remains family-owned.

Who owns Specsavers?

The Companies House register records Mr Douglas John David Perkins as the person with significant control of Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited.

How much does Specsavers make?

Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited reported turnover of £4,262m in the year to February 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £430m.

How many people work at Specsavers?

Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited reported 46,616 employees in the year to February 2026.

Who runs Specsavers?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01721624, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Specsavers: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/specsavers/. Figures from Companies House filings for SPECSAVERS OPTICAL SUPERSTORES LIMITED (01721624).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings