Battle · 5 companies

London's premium gyms

Premium prices, premium pressure: someone is running out of breath

Third Space leads on 4 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Third Space is the biggest by turnover at £99m, against £28m at 1Rebel. Gymbox keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £15.74 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. 1Rebel, Equinox and Barry's file group accounts that include subsidiaries; Gymbox files for a single company, which flatters the groups on size.

Accounts compared: Third Space to Dec 2024 · Gymbox to Dec 2025 · 1Rebel to Dec 2025 · Equinox to Dec 2024 · Barry's to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 Third SpaceThird Space Holdings Limited £99m +42.9% £11m 11.4% 887 £41,000 £112,000 £21m £10m Dec 2024 n/d
2 1RebelOne Rebel Ltd £28m +3.7% £1.2m 4.2% 360 £20,000 £77,000 £6m £1.2m Dec 2025 Group
3 GymboxSparring Partners Limited £26m -0.5% £4m 15.7% 207 £26,000 £126,000 £2m £1.9m Dec 2025 Single company
4 EquinoxEquinox Fitness Holdings UK Limited £21m +8.0% -£21m -101.3% 193 £51,000 £108,000 -£96m £1.2m Dec 2024 Group
5 Barry'sBarrys Bootcamp UK Limited £16m +10.2% £2.0m 12.4% 183 £36,000 £87,000 -£0.8m £4m Dec 2024 Group

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Gymbox converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £15.74 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £101.30 at Equinox.
  2. Third Space is the largest on the top line, £99m of turnover, 3.6x 1Rebel's £28m.
  3. Third Space is growing fastest, turnover +42.9% on its own prior year. Gymbox went backwards.
  4. Third Space is the biggest employer with 887 people; Equinox pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £51,000.
  5. Third Space has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £21m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Gymbox keeps the most: £15.74 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Equinox does worst, losing £101.30.

Financing bites hardest at Equinox: £32.49 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £20.61 of every £100£20.61Other costs: £63.65 of every £100Other costs£63.65Profit: £15.74 of every £100Profit £15.74GymboxYear to Dec 2025£26mPayroll: £41.78 of every £100Payroll£41.78Financing: £0.58 of every £100Other costs: £45.28 of every £100Other costs£45.28Profit: £12.36 of every £100Profit £12.36Barry'sYear to Dec 2024£16mPayroll: £36.88 of every £100Payroll£36.88Other costs: £51.77 of every £100Other costs£51.77Profit: £11.35 of every £100Profit £11.35Third SpaceYear to Dec 2024£99mPayroll: £26.01 of every £100Payroll£26.01Financing: £2.35 of every £100Other costs: £67.49 of every £100Other costs£67.49Profit: £4.16 of every £100Profit £4.161RebelYear to Dec 2025£28mPayroll: £47.38 of every £100Payroll£47.38Financing: £32.49 of every £100Financing£32.49Other costs: £121.43 of every £100£121.43Loss (the costs beyond £100): £101.30 of every £100Loss £101.30EquinoxYear to Dec 2024£21m
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Third Space (£99m), 1Rebel (£28m), Gymbox (£26m), Equinox (£21m), Barry's (£16m).

By headcount, Third Space leads with 887 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Third Space to Dec 2024, Gymbox to Dec 2025, 1Rebel to Dec 2025, Equinox to Dec 2024, Barry's to Dec 2024. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Third Space£99m1Rebel£28mGymbox£26mEquinox£21mBarry's£16m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Third Space grew fastest, turnover +42.9% on its own prior year, ahead of Barry's (+10.2%), Equinox (+8.0%), 1Rebel (+3.7%), Gymbox (-0.5%).

Third Space+42.9%Barry's+10.2%Equinox+8.0%1Rebel+3.7%Gymbox-0.5%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Third Space employs the most, 887 people, against 360 at 1Rebel.

Equinox has the highest average staff cost, about £51,000 a head; 1Rebel the lowest, about £20,000.

Gymbox brings in the most turnover per employee, about £126,000, against £77,000 at 1Rebel. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureThird SpaceGymbox1RebelEquinoxBarry's
Registered nameTHIRD SPACE HOLDINGS LIMITEDSPARRING PARTNERS LIMITEDONE REBEL LTDEQUINOX FITNESS HOLDINGS UK LIMITEDBARRYS BOOTCAMP UK LIMITED
Company number0553857404204345088273531025650011120435
Incorporated20052001201320162017
Accounts filed12 September 20253 June 202625 August 202618 July 202523 December 2025
Turnover, prior year£69m£26m£27m£19m£14m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£7m£14m-£0.4m-£8m£1.3m
Staff costs£37m£5m£7m£10m£7m
Payroll share of turnover36.9%20.6%26.0%47.4%41.8%
Employees, prior year763203334180183
Dividends paidn/dn/dn/dn/dn/d
Charges outstanding12251

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

London's premium gyms: common questions

Who is the biggest of Third Space, Gymbox, 1Rebel, Equinox or Barry's?

Third Space, with turnover of £99m in the year to December 2024.

Which makes the most profit?

Third Space: £11m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.

Which employs the most people?

Third Space, with 887 employees in its latest accounts.

Third Space or Gymbox: which is bigger?

Third Space, with turnover of £99m against £26m at Gymbox on their latest filings. On margin, Gymbox keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Third Space or 1Rebel: which is bigger?

Third Space, with turnover of £99m against £28m at 1Rebel on their latest filings. On margin, Third Space keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Third Space or Equinox: which is bigger?

Third Space, with turnover of £99m against £21m at Equinox on their latest filings. On margin, Third Space keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Third Space or Barry's: which is bigger?

Third Space, with turnover of £99m against £16m at Barry's on their latest filings. On margin, Barry's keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymbox or 1Rebel: which is bigger?

1Rebel, with turnover of £28m against £26m at Gymbox on their latest filings. On margin, Gymbox keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymbox or Equinox: which is bigger?

Gymbox, with turnover of £26m against £21m at Equinox on their latest filings. On margin, Gymbox keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymbox or Barry's: which is bigger?

Gymbox, with turnover of £26m against £16m at Barry's on their latest filings. On margin, Gymbox keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

1Rebel or Equinox: which is bigger?

1Rebel, with turnover of £28m against £21m at Equinox on their latest filings. On margin, 1Rebel keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

1Rebel or Barry's: which is bigger?

1Rebel, with turnover of £28m against £16m at Barry's on their latest filings. On margin, Barry's keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Equinox or Barry's: which is bigger?

Equinox, with turnover of £21m against £16m at Barry's on their latest filings. On margin, Barry's keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.