Battle · 3 companies
Budget 24-hour gyms
No frills, no contracts, no mercy for the weakest
PureGym leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. PureGym is the biggest by turnover at £464m, against £245m at The Gym Group. JD Gyms keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £31.09 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are up to 11 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. The Gym Group files group accounts that include subsidiaries; PureGym and JD Gyms file for a single company, which flatters the group on size.
Accounts compared: PureGym to Dec 2025 · The Gym Group to Dec 2025 · JD Gyms to Feb 2025
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PureGymPure Gym Limited | £464m | +11.4% | £87m | 18.7% | 4,067 | £23,000 | £114,000 | £782m | £48m | Dec 2025 | Single company |
| 2 | The Gym GroupThe Gym Group PLC | £245m | +8.2% | £7m | 3.0% | 1,924 | £31,000 | £127,000 | £142m | £3m | Dec 2025 | Group |
| 3 | JD GymsJD Sports Gyms Limited | £122m | +21.1% | £38m | 31.1% | 1,203 | £18,000 | £102,000 | £38m | £3m | Feb 2025 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
The Takeaway
- JD Gyms converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £31.09 reaches pre-tax profit, against £3.02 at The Gym Group.
- PureGym is the largest on the top line, £464m of turnover, 1.9x The Gym Group's £245m.
- JD Gyms is growing fastest, turnover +21.1% on its own prior year.
- PureGym is the biggest employer with 4,067 people; The Gym Group pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £31,000.
- PureGym has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £782m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
JD Gyms keeps the most: £31.09 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. The Gym Group keeps the least, £3.02.
Financing bites hardest at PureGym: £10.40 of every £100 goes on interest.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is PureGym (£464m), The Gym Group (£245m), JD Gyms (£122m).
By headcount, PureGym leads with 4,067 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: PureGym to Dec 2025, The Gym Group to Dec 2025, JD Gyms to Feb 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
JD Gyms grew fastest, turnover +21.1% on its own prior year, ahead of PureGym (+11.4%), The Gym Group (+8.2%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
PureGym employs the most, 4,067 people, against 1,924 at The Gym Group.
The Gym Group has the highest average staff cost, about £31,000 a head; JD Gyms the lowest, about £18,000.
The Gym Group brings in the most turnover per employee, about £127,000, against £102,000 at JD Gyms. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by Gym Bidco Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control in the 75% to 100% band. 3 outstanding charges on the register.
Who owns PureGym →
The Gym Group PLC · 08528493Owned by its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange, so no single controller appears on the register.
Who owns The Gym Group →
JD Sports Gyms Limited · 08770057Held by Jd Sports Fashion Plc
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns JD Gyms →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | PureGym | The Gym Group | JD Gyms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | PURE GYM LIMITED | THE GYM GROUP PLC | JD SPORTS GYMS LIMITED |
| Company number | 06690189 | 08528493 | 08770057 |
| Incorporated | 2008 | 2013 | 2013 |
| Accounts filed | 6 June 2026 | 16 May 2026 | 30 October 2025 |
| Turnover, prior year | £416m | £226m | £101m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | £79m | £3m | -£29k |
| Staff costs | £92m | £59m | £21m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 19.9% | 24.0% | 17.3% |
| Employees, prior year | 3,734 | 1,837 | 954 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 3 | 0 | 1 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Budget 24-hour gyms: common questions
Who is the biggest of PureGym, The Gym Group or JD Gyms?
PureGym, with turnover of £464m in the year to December 2025.
Which makes the most profit?
PureGym: £87m pre-tax in the year to December 2025.
Which employs the most people?
PureGym, with 4,067 employees in its latest accounts.
PureGym or The Gym Group: which is bigger?
PureGym, with turnover of £464m against £245m at The Gym Group on their latest filings. On margin, PureGym keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
PureGym or JD Gyms: which is bigger?
PureGym, with turnover of £464m against £122m at JD Gyms on their latest filings. On margin, JD Gyms keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
The Gym Group or JD Gyms: which is bigger?
The Gym Group, with turnover of £245m against £122m at JD Gyms on their latest filings. On margin, JD Gyms keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
PureGym v The Gym Group: turnover, profit and staff compared
VS Series GYMSLondon's premium gyms
Premium prices, premium pressure: someone is running out of breath
Third Space · Gymbox · 1Rebel · Equinox · Barry's
5 companies compared →
GYMSHealth clubs
One makes a splash. Another is left treading water.
David Lloyd · Virgin Active · Nuffield Health · Bannatyne
4 companies compared →
LEISUREUK holiday parks
Making waves or washed out: the great British staycation showdown
Center Parcs · Butlin's · Haven
3 companies compared →
LEISURECinema chains
Blockbuster, or straight to streaming?
Cineworld · Odeon · Vue · Everyman · Picturehouse · Showcase
6 companies compared →