Gymbox: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Sparring Partners Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Sparring Partners Holdings Limited. In the year to December 2025 Sparring Partners Limited reported turnover of £26m.
- Registered name
- SPARRING PARTNERS LIMITED
- Company number
- 04204345
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 24 April 2001
- Registered office area
- South East London
- Industry code on the register
- 93130: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 3 June 2026
What does Gymbox do?
Gymbox is a chain of gyms in London that sells monthly memberships to its own clubs. It is built around a large timetable of instructor-led classes, many with unusual formats, alongside free-weights areas and boxing rings. Its clubs have bold, nightclub-style interiors.
In brief: London gym chain · class-led · own clubs · monthly memberships
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: gymbox.com.
Who owns Gymbox?
The Companies House register records Sparring Partners Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Sparring Partners Limited, company number 04204345. Sparring Partners Holdings Limited is itself company number 07867372.
That places Sparring Partners Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Gymbox?
The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Sparring Partners Limited.
All 2 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Pascal Gerrit Jan Averdijk | 24 October 2024 |
| Neil David Randall | 24 October 2024 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Gymbox file?
Sparring Partners Limited reported turnover of £26m in the year to December 2025. That was down 0.5% on £26m the year before.
It reported 207 employees. The year before it reported 203.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £4m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £14m the year before.
Staff costs came to £5m. That is an average of £26,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.9m at the bank and net assets of £2m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £26m | £26m |
| Pre-tax profit | £4m (filed) | £14m (filed) |
| Employees | 207 | 203 |
| Staff costs | £5m | £7m |
| Average staff cost per head | £26,000 | £34,000 |
| Bank and cash | £1.9m | £4m |
| Net assets | £2m | -£1.7m |
| Interest received | £85k |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Gymbox?
Sparring Partners Limited has registered 16 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Kroll Trustee Services Limited (As Trustee for Each of the Secured Parties) | 18 February 2026 |
| Intercede 1765 Limited and Intercede 1766 Limited | 2 December 2008 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Gymbox files as Sparring Partners Limited, whose person with significant control is Sparring Partners Holdings Limited, with turnover of £26m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Gymbox
What does Gymbox do?
Gymbox is a chain of gyms in London that sells monthly memberships to its own clubs. It is built around a large timetable of instructor-led classes, many with unusual formats, alongside free-weights areas and boxing rings. Its clubs have bold, nightclub-style interiors.
Who owns Gymbox?
The Companies House register records Sparring Partners Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Sparring Partners Limited.
How much does Gymbox make?
Sparring Partners Limited reported turnover of £26m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £4m.
How many people work at Gymbox?
Sparring Partners Limited reported 207 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs Gymbox?
The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Sparring Partners Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Sparring Partners Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 04204345, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Gymbox: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/gymbox/. Figures from Companies House filings for SPARRING PARTNERS LIMITED (04204345).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of London's premium gyms: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Nuffield Health: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
David Lloyd: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
PureGym: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks