Battle · 3 companies
Delivery apps
One delivers the goods. Another is left waiting at the door.
Deliveroo leads on 2 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Deliveroo is the biggest by turnover at £2,072m, against £1,330m at Uber Eats. Just Eat keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £22.03 as pre-tax profit.
The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Deliveroo files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Uber Eats and Just Eat file for a single company, which flatters the group on size.
Accounts compared: Deliveroo to Dec 2024 · Uber Eats to Dec 2024 · Just Eat to Dec 2024
The Numbers
| # | Company | Turnover | Change | Pre-tax profit | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Turnover per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DeliverooDeliveroo Limited | £2,072m | +2.1% | £12m | 0.6% | 3,760 | £95,000 | £551,000 | £439m | £461m | Dec 2024 | Group |
| 2 | Uber EatsUber Eats UK Limited | £1,330m | +18.7% | £15m | 1.1% | 309 | £98,000 | £4.3m | £54m | n/d | Dec 2024 | Single company |
| 3 | Just EatJust Eat.co.uk Ltd | £1,106m | +3.1% | £244m | 22.0% | 1,114 | £75,000 | £993,000 | £367m | £30m | Dec 2024 | Single company |
Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by turnover
Deliveroo
£2,072m
Most pre-tax profit
Just Eat
£244m
Highest profit margin
Just Eat
22.0%
Fastest-growing turnover
Uber Eats
+18.7%
Biggest employer
Deliveroo
3,760 staff
Highest pay per head
Uber Eats
£98,000
Most turnover per head
Uber Eats
£4.3m
Largest net assets
Deliveroo
£439m
Most cash
Deliveroo
£461m
The Takeaway
- Just Eat converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £22.03 reaches pre-tax profit, against £0.59 at Deliveroo.
- Deliveroo is the largest on the top line, £2,072m of turnover, 1.6x Uber Eats's £1,330m.
- Uber Eats is growing fastest, turnover +18.7% on its own prior year.
- Deliveroo is the biggest employer with 3,760 people; Uber Eats pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £98,000.
- Deliveroo has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £439m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Just Eat keeps the most: £22.03 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Deliveroo keeps the least, £0.59.
Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.
The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of turnover
Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By turnover the order is Deliveroo (£2,072m), Uber Eats (£1,330m), Just Eat (£1,106m).
By headcount, Deliveroo leads with 3,760 employees.
The accounting periods all end in the same month. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.
Turnover on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Uber Eats grew fastest, turnover +18.7% on its own prior year, ahead of Just Eat (+3.1%), Deliveroo (+2.1%).
Turnover change on each company's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
Deliveroo employs the most, 3,760 people, against 1,114 at Just Eat.
Uber Eats has the highest average staff cost, about £98,000 a head; Just Eat the lowest, about £75,000.
Uber Eats brings in the most turnover per employee, about £4.3m, against £551,000 at Deliveroo. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the Companies House register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
Held by Doordash, Inc.
A company recorded as a person with significant control in the 75% to 100% band.
Who owns Deliveroo →
Uber Eats UK Limited · 10078453Held by Uber Uk Holding Company Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control.
Who owns Uber Eats →
Just Eat.co.uk Ltd · 04656315Held by Just Eat Holding Limited
A company recorded as a person with significant control. 1 outstanding charge on the register.
Who owns Just Eat →
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | Deliveroo | Uber Eats | Just Eat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | DELIVEROO LIMITED | UBER EATS UK LIMITED | JUST EAT.CO.UK LTD |
| Company number | 13227665 | 10078453 | 04656315 |
| Incorporated | 2021 | 2016 | 2003 |
| Accounts filed | 28 May 2025 | 19 September 2025 | 12 September 2025 |
| Turnover, prior year | £2,030m | £1,120m | £1,073m |
| Pre-tax profit, prior year | -£11m | £18m | £203m |
| Staff costs | £358m | £30m | £84m |
| Payroll share of turnover | 17.3% | 2.3% | 7.6% |
| Employees, prior year | 3,807 | 246 | 1,160 |
| Dividends paid | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | 0 | 0 | 1 |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
Delivery apps: common questions
Who is the biggest of Deliveroo, Uber Eats or Just Eat?
Deliveroo, with turnover of £2,072m in the year to December 2024.
Which makes the most profit?
Just Eat: £244m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.
Which employs the most people?
Deliveroo, with 3,760 employees in its latest accounts.
Deliveroo or Uber Eats: which is bigger?
Deliveroo, with turnover of £2,072m against £1,330m at Uber Eats on their latest filings. On margin, Uber Eats keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Deliveroo or Just Eat: which is bigger?
Deliveroo, with turnover of £2,072m against £1,106m at Just Eat on their latest filings. On margin, Just Eat keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →
Uber Eats or Just Eat: which is bigger?
Uber Eats, with turnover of £1,330m against £1,106m at Just Eat on their latest filings. On margin, Just Eat keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.
Where do these figures come from?
Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
Deliveroo or Uber Eats: The delivery app showdown: who is swallowing the biggest slice of the UK market?
VS SeriesJust Eat v Deliveroo: which is bigger on the accounts?
VS Series RESTAURANTSSteak restaurants
Rare talent on the menu, but somebody is getting grilled
Hawksmoor · Goodman · Flat Iron · Blacklock
4 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSBurger chains
Top of the stack, or flipped?
Five Guys · Byron · Honest Burgers · GBK
4 companies compared →
RESTAURANTSPizza chains
The winner takes the biggest slice. The rest get the crusts.
Domino's · Pizza Hut · PizzaExpress
3 companies compared →
COFFEECoffee chains
Full of beans, or feeling the grind?
Costa · Starbucks · Caffè Nero
3 companies compared →