VS Series

Just Eat v Deliveroo

Two apps, one doorstep: who is winning the delivery war?

Just Eat leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. Deliveroo is the biggest by turnover at £2,072m, against £1,106m at Just Eat. Just Eat keeps more of every £100 it takes, £22.03 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are close enough to compare like for like. Deliveroo files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Just Eat files for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: Just Eat to Dec 2024 · Deliveroo to Dec 2024

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 DeliverooDeliveroo Limited £2,072m +2.1% £12m 0.6% 3,760 £95,000 £551,000 £439m £461m Dec 2024 Group
2 Just EatJust Eat.co.uk Ltd £1,106m +3.1% £244m 22.0% 1,114 £75,000 £993,000 £367m £30m Dec 2024 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Just Eat converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £22.03 reaches pre-tax profit, against £0.59 at Deliveroo.
  2. Deliveroo is the largest on the top line, £2,072m of turnover, 1.9x Just Eat's £1,106m.
  3. Just Eat is growing fastest, turnover +3.1% on its own prior year.
  4. Deliveroo is the biggest employer with 3,760 people; Deliveroo pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £95,000.
  5. Deliveroo has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £439m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Just Eat keeps the most: £22.03 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Deliveroo keeps the least, £0.59.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £7.56 of every £100£7.56Financing: £0.03 of every £100Other costs: £70.38 of every £100Other costs£70.38Profit: £22.03 of every £100Profit £22.03Just EatYear to Dec 2024£1,106m turnoverPayroll: £17.30 of every £100Payroll£17.30Financing: £0.19 of every £100Other costs: £81.92 of every £100Other costs£81.92Profit: £0.59 of every £100Profit £0.59DeliverooYear to Dec 2024£2,072m turnover
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is Deliveroo (£2,072m), Just Eat (£1,106m).

By headcount, Deliveroo leads with 3,760 employees.

The accounting periods all end in the same month. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

Deliveroo£2,072mJust Eat£1,106m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

Just Eat grew fastest, turnover +3.1% on its own prior year, ahead of Deliveroo (+2.1%).

Just Eat+3.1%Deliveroo+2.1%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

Deliveroo employs the most, 3,760 people, against 1,114 at Just Eat.

Deliveroo has the highest average staff cost, about £95,000 a head; Just Eat the lowest, about £75,000.

Just Eat brings in the most turnover per employee, about £993,000, against £551,000 at Deliveroo. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureJust EatDeliveroo
Registered nameJUST EAT.CO.UK LTDDELIVEROO LIMITED
Company number0465631513227665
Incorporated20032021
Accounts filed12 September 202528 May 2025
Turnover, prior year£1,073m£2,030m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£203m-£11m
Staff costs£84m£358m
Payroll share of turnover7.6%17.3%
Employees, prior year1,1603,807
Dividends paidn/dn/d
Charges outstanding10

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

Just Eat v Deliveroo: common questions

Who is the biggest of Just Eat or Deliveroo?

Deliveroo, with turnover of £2,072m in the year to December 2024.

Which makes the most profit?

Just Eat: £244m pre-tax in the year to December 2024.

Which employs the most people?

Deliveroo, with 3,760 employees in its latest accounts.

Just Eat or Deliveroo: which is bigger?

Deliveroo, with turnover of £2,072m against £1,106m at Just Eat on their latest filings. On margin, Just Eat keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit. The full head to head is in the VS Series. Read the VS page →

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.