Accounts to March 2026 · Group accounts · Filed July 2026

M&S: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Marks and Spencer Group plc is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to March 2026 it reported turnover of £17,274m.

£17,274m
Turnover, up 25.0%
£365m
Pre-tax profit
73,301
Employees
Registered name
MARKS AND SPENCER GROUP P.L.C.
Company number
04256886
Status
Active
Incorporated
23 July 2001
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2026, filed 24 July 2026

What does M&S do?

Marks and Spencer (M&S) is a retailer selling food, clothing, home and beauty products, mostly under its own M&S label. It sells through its own stores in the UK, its website and app, and through franchise partners overseas. It also offers banking and other services under the M&S name. Its focus on own-label products sets it apart from most other big retailers. It was founded in Leeds in 1884 and the group is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: retailer · own-label food, clothing and home · own stores, online and international franchises · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: corporate.marksandspencer.com.

Who owns M&S?

Marks and Spencer Group plc
M&S · company 04256886
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Marks and Spencer Group plc, company number 04256886, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs M&S?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Marks and Spencer Group plc.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Archibald John Norman1 September 2017
Nick James Folland1 February 2019
Tamara Ingram1 June 2020
Sapna Rani Sood1 June 2020
Evelyn Brigid Bourke1 February 2021
Fiona Eleanor Dawson25 May 2021
Stuart Barry Machin25 May 2022
Alison Ann Dolan6 January 2025
Sean Liam Doyle1 December 2025
Roger Michael Burnley1 December 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did M&S file?

Marks and Spencer Group plc reported turnover of £17,274m in the year to March 2026. That was up 25.0% on £13,817m the year before.

It reported 73,301 employees. The year before it reported 73,333.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £365m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £512m the year before.

Staff costs came to £2,445m. That is an average of £33,000 a head. It ended the year with £997m at the bank and net assets of £3,056m. It paid dividends of £77m.

Mar 2026£14.15£82.48£2.11 profit
Mar 2025£15.70£80.60£3.70 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2026Mar 2025
Turnover£17,274m£13,817m
Pre-tax profit£365m (filed)£512m (filed)
Employees73,30173,333
Staff costs£2,445m£2,169m
Average staff cost per head£33,000£30,000
Bank and cash£997m£865m
Net assets£3,056m£2,940m
Dividends paid£77m£61m
Interest paid£217m
Directors' pay£6m

Read the accounts to March 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

How M&S compares

That comparison uses M&S's accounts to March 2025. This page shows the newer year to March 2026.

M&S files as Marks and Spencer Group plc, with turnover of £17,274m in its latest filed year.

Questions about M&S

What does M&S do?

Marks and Spencer (M&S) is a retailer selling food, clothing, home and beauty products, mostly under its own M&S label. It sells through its own stores in the UK, its website and app, and through franchise partners overseas. It also offers banking and other services under the M&S name. Its focus on own-label products sets it apart from most other big retailers. It was founded in Leeds in 1884 and the group is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns M&S?

Marks and Spencer Group plc is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does M&S make?

Marks and Spencer Group plc reported turnover of £17,274m in the year to March 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £365m.

How many people work at M&S?

Marks and Spencer Group plc reported 73,301 employees in the year to March 2026.

Who runs M&S?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Marks and Spencer Group plc. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Marks and Spencer Group plc's filings at Companies House, company number 04256886, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “M&S: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/marks-and-spencer/. Figures from Companies House filings for MARKS AND SPENCER GROUP P.L.C. (04256886).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings