Accounts to July 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

Wetherspoons: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

J D Wetherspoon PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to July 2025 it reported turnover of £2,128m.

£2,128m
Turnover, up 4.5%
£89m
Pre-tax profit
24,329
Employees
Registered name
J D WETHERSPOON PLC
Company number
01709784
Status
Active
Incorporated
25 March 1983
Registered office area
Watford
Industry code on the register
56302: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to July 2025, filed 15 October 2025

What does Wetherspoons do?

Wetherspoon runs pubs in the UK and Ireland serving low-priced food and drink, and also runs a number of hotels. It is known for keeping prices low, serving food all day and converting large old buildings such as banks and cinemas into pubs. It manages its pubs directly rather than letting them to tenants. Tim Martin opened the first pub in north London in 1979, and J D Wetherspoon plc is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: pub chain · low-priced food and drink · company-managed pubs and hotels · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: jdwetherspoon.com.

Who owns Wetherspoons?

J D Wetherspoon PLC
Wetherspoons · company 01709784
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

J D Wetherspoon PLC, company number 01709784, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Wetherspoons?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for J D Wetherspoon PLC.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Timothy Randall Martin
John David Hutson4 September 1996
Debra Van Gene1 March 2006
Nigel Connor18 December 2014
Benjamin Newton Whitley12 November 2015
Ben Thorne17 December 2020
Hudson Simmons20 December 2021
Deborah Jayne Whittingham20 December 2021
James Ullman4 May 2022
John Anthony Herring12 January 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Wetherspoons file?

J D Wetherspoon PLC reported turnover of £2,128m in the year to July 2025. That was up 4.5% on £2,036m the year before.

It reported 24,329 employees. The year before it reported 24,397.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £89m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £61m the year before.

Staff costs came to £838m. That is an average of £34,000 a head. It ended the year with £39m at the bank and net assets of £362m. It paid dividends of £19m.

Jul 2025£39.39£53.34£4.20 profit
Jul 2024£38.62£58.40£2.98 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJul 2025Jul 2024
Turnover£2,128m£2,036m
Pre-tax profit£89m (filed)£61m (filed)
Employees24,32924,397
Staff costs£838m£786m
Average staff cost per head£34,000£32,000
Bank and cash£39m£57m
Net assets£362m£402m
Dividends paid£19m
Interest paid£65m
Interest received£11m
Directors' pay£2m

Read the accounts to July 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Wetherspoons?

J D Wetherspoon PLC has registered 26 charges at Companies House, of which 4 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 4 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited (and Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees)6 June 2024
Hsbc Corporate Trustee Company (UK) Limited (and Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees)4 February 2019
Lloyds Tsb Bank PLC24 September 2011
East Hertfordshire District Council26 January 2007

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Wetherspoons compares

Wetherspoons files as J D Wetherspoon PLC, with turnover of £2,128m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Wetherspoons

What does Wetherspoons do?

Wetherspoon runs pubs in the UK and Ireland serving low-priced food and drink, and also runs a number of hotels. It is known for keeping prices low, serving food all day and converting large old buildings such as banks and cinemas into pubs. It manages its pubs directly rather than letting them to tenants. Tim Martin opened the first pub in north London in 1979, and J D Wetherspoon plc is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Wetherspoons?

J D Wetherspoon PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Wetherspoons make?

J D Wetherspoon PLC reported turnover of £2,128m in the year to July 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £89m.

How many people work at Wetherspoons?

J D Wetherspoon PLC reported 24,329 employees in the year to July 2025.

Who runs Wetherspoons?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for J D Wetherspoon PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from J D Wetherspoon PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 01709784, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Wetherspoons: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/wetherspoons/. Figures from Companies House filings for J D WETHERSPOON PLC (01709784).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings