Accounts to September 2025 · Group accounts · Filed February 2026

Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Mitchells & Butlers PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to September 2025 it reported turnover of £2,711m.

£2,711m
Turnover, up 3.9%
£238m
Pre-tax profit
49,287
Employees
Registered name
MITCHELLS & BUTLERS PLC
Company number
04551498
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 October 2002
Registered office area
Birmingham
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to September 2025, filed 26 February 2026

What does Mitchells & Butlers do?

Mitchells & Butlers runs managed pubs, bars and restaurants across the UK under brands including All Bar One, Harvester, Toby Carvery, Miller & Carter, Nicholson's, O'Neill's and Vintage Inns. It makes money from food and drink sold in venues it operates itself, rather than leasing them to tenants. Its range of brands covers family dining, steakhouses, city bars and traditional pubs. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: managed pubs and restaurants · food and drink sales · multiple brands · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: mbplc.com.

Who owns Mitchells & Butlers?

Mitchells & Butlers PLC
Mitchells & Butlers · company 04551498
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Mitchells & Butlers PLC, company number 04551498, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Mitchells & Butlers?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Mitchells & Butlers PLC.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Robert Lewis Ivell9 May 2011
Edward Joseph Irwin21 March 2012
Philip Charles Urban27 September 2015
Joshua Marc Levy13 November 2015
Dave Charles Coplin29 February 2016
Keith Browne22 September 2016
Jane Bronwen Moriarty27 February 2019
Amanda Victoria Brown4 July 2022
Andrew David Freeman1 September 2022
Emma Harris20 April 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Mitchells & Butlers file?

Mitchells & Butlers PLC reported turnover of £2,711m in the year to September 2025. That was up 3.9% on £2,610m the year before.

It reported 49,287 employees. The year before it reported 50,455.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £238m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £199m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,023m. That is an average of £21,000 a head. It ended the year with £216m at the bank and net assets of £2,816m.

Sep 2025£37.74£49.80£8.78 profit
Sep 2024£36.25£56.13£7.62 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureSep 2025Sep 2024
Turnover£2,711m£2,610m
Pre-tax profit£238m (filed)£199m (filed)
Employees49,28750,455
Staff costs£1,023m£946m
Average staff cost per head£21,000£19,000
Bank and cash£216m£176m
Net assets£2,816m£2,566m
Interest paid£100m
Directors' pay£10m

Read the accounts to September 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Mitchells & Butlers?

Mitchells & Butlers PLC has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Mitchells & Butlers Retail Limited27 November 2003

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Mitchells & Butlers files as Mitchells & Butlers PLC, with turnover of £2,711m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Mitchells & Butlers

What does Mitchells & Butlers do?

Mitchells & Butlers runs managed pubs, bars and restaurants across the UK under brands including All Bar One, Harvester, Toby Carvery, Miller & Carter, Nicholson's, O'Neill's and Vintage Inns. It makes money from food and drink sold in venues it operates itself, rather than leasing them to tenants. Its range of brands covers family dining, steakhouses, city bars and traditional pubs. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Mitchells & Butlers?

Mitchells & Butlers PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Mitchells & Butlers make?

Mitchells & Butlers PLC reported turnover of £2,711m in the year to September 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £238m.

How many people work at Mitchells & Butlers?

Mitchells & Butlers PLC reported 49,287 employees in the year to September 2025.

Who runs Mitchells & Butlers?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Mitchells & Butlers PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Mitchells & Butlers PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 04551498, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/mitchells-and-butlers/. Figures from Companies House filings for MITCHELLS & BUTLERS PLC (04551498).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings