Accounts to December 2024 · Group accounts · Filed June 2025

Greggs: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Greggs PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to December 2024 it reported turnover of £2,014m.

Greggs has filed accounts for the year to 27 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 28 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£2,014m
Turnover, up 11.3%
£204m
Pre-tax profit
32,258
Employees
Deep dive · What story does the money tell?How does Greggs really make its money? Inside its 2025 accountsRead the full story, line by line from the accounts →
Registered name
GREGGS PLC
Company number
00502851
Status
Active
Incorporated
29 December 1951
Registered office area
Newcastle
Industry code on the register
10710: Manufacture of food products
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 30 June 2025

What does Greggs do?

Greggs is a bakery chain selling sausage rolls, bakes, sandwiches and coffee to eat on the go. It makes most of its products in its own bakeries and sells them through company-run shops, franchised sites at stations and motorway services, and delivery apps. It started in Newcastle upon Tyne and keeps its prices low by controlling production from bakery to shop. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: bakery and food-to-go retailer · makes its own products · company-run and franchised shops · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: corporate.greggs.co.uk.

Who owns Greggs?

Greggs PLC
Greggs · company 00502851
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Greggs PLC, company number 00502851, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Greggs?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Greggs PLC.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Richard John Hutton13 March 2006
Roisin Currie1 February 2022
Nina Jayne Richards15 February 2022
Lynne Marie Weedall17 May 2022
Matthew Samuel Davies2 August 2022
Nigel Gordon Mills7 March 2023
Tamara Jane Rogers1 June 2024
Sarah Dickson19 December 2024
Richard Smothers1 February 2026
Ikdeep Singh1 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Greggs file?

Greggs PLC reported turnover of £2,014m in the year to December 2024. That was up 11.3% on £1,810m the year before.

It reported 32,258 employees. The year before it reported 30,085.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £204m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £188m the year before.

Staff costs came to £687m. That is an average of £21,000 a head. It ended the year with £125m at the bank and net assets of £571m. It paid dividends of £107m.

Dec 2024£34.09£55.09£10.12 profit
Dec 2023£32.78£56.82£10.41 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£2,014m£1,810m
Pre-tax profit£204m (filed)£188m (filed)
Employees32,25830,085
Staff costs£687m£593m
Average staff cost per head£21,000£20,000
Bank and cash£125m£195m
Net assets£571m£531m
Dividends paid£107m£61m
Interest paid£14m
Directors' pay£8m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Greggs?

Greggs PLC has registered 25 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Cin Industrial Investments Limited17 May 1980

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Greggs compares

Greggs files as Greggs PLC, with turnover of £2,014m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Greggs

What does Greggs do?

Greggs is a bakery chain selling sausage rolls, bakes, sandwiches and coffee to eat on the go. It makes most of its products in its own bakeries and sells them through company-run shops, franchised sites at stations and motorway services, and delivery apps. It started in Newcastle upon Tyne and keeps its prices low by controlling production from bakery to shop. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Greggs?

Greggs PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Greggs make?

Greggs PLC reported turnover of £2,014m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £204m.

How many people work at Greggs?

Greggs PLC reported 32,258 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs Greggs?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Greggs PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Greggs PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 00502851, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Greggs: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/greggs/. Figures from Companies House filings for GREGGS PLC (00502851).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings