McDonald's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mcdonald'S Real Estate Llp. In the year to December 2024 Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited reported turnover of £1,822m.
- Registered name
- MCDONALDS RESTAURANTS LIMITED
- Company number
- 01002769
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 18 February 1971
- Registered office area
- North London
- Industry code on the register
- 56102: Food and beverage service activities
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2024, filed 1 August 2025
What does McDonald's do?
McDonald's is a fast food restaurant chain serving burgers, fries, chicken, breakfast and drinks, for eating in, drive-thru, collection and delivery. Most of its UK restaurants are run by franchisees, who pay McDonald's rent and a share of their sales, while the company runs the rest itself. Customers can order through its app and self-service kiosks as well as at the counter. McDonald's Restaurants Limited is the UK business of the American McDonald's group.
In brief: fast food restaurant chain · mostly franchised · eat in, drive-thru and delivery · UK arm of US group
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: mcdonalds.com/gb/en-gb.html.
Who owns McDonald's?
The Companies House register records Mcdonald'S Real Estate Llp as the person with significant control of Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited, company number 01002769. Mcdonald'S Real Estate Llp is itself company number OC303157.
That places Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs McDonald's?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited.
All 5 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Sarah Cole | 12 November 2021 |
| James Martin Thorne | 16 October 2023 |
| Lauren Louise Fischer | 15 September 2025 |
| Clifford Lee Thomas | 19 December 2025 |
| Timothy James Kenward | 1 May 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did McDonald's file?
Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited reported turnover of £1,822m in the year to December 2024. That was down 0.8% on £1,836m the year before.
It reported 24,375 employees. The year before it reported 26,384.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £120m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £66m the year before.
Staff costs came to £331m. That is an average of £14,000 a head. It ended the year with £22m at the bank and net assets of £778m. It paid dividends of £83m.
| Measure | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £1,822m | £1,836m |
| Pre-tax profit | £120m (filed) | £66m (filed) |
| Employees | 24,375 | 26,384 |
| Staff costs | £331m | £334m |
| Average staff cost per head | £14,000 | £13,000 |
| Bank and cash | £22m | £16m |
| Net assets | £778m | £789m |
| Dividends paid | £83m | £27m |
| Interest received | £0.3m | |
| Directors' pay | £1.8m |
Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against McDonald's?
Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited has registered 2 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Both outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The Burwood House Group Limited | 11 February 2019 |
| Csc (Eldon Square) Limited | 12 August 2009 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How McDonald's compares
McDonald's files as Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited, whose person with significant control is Mcdonald'S Real Estate Llp, with turnover of £1,822m in its latest filed year.
Questions about McDonald's
What does McDonald's do?
McDonald's is a fast food restaurant chain serving burgers, fries, chicken, breakfast and drinks, for eating in, drive-thru, collection and delivery. Most of its UK restaurants are run by franchisees, who pay McDonald's rent and a share of their sales, while the company runs the rest itself. Customers can order through its app and self-service kiosks as well as at the counter. McDonald's Restaurants Limited is the UK business of the American McDonald's group.
Who owns McDonald's?
The Companies House register records Mcdonald'S Real Estate Llp as the person with significant control of Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited.
How much does McDonald's make?
Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited reported turnover of £1,822m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £120m.
How many people work at McDonald's?
Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited reported 24,375 employees in the year to December 2024.
Who runs McDonald's?
The Companies House register lists 5 current officers for Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Mcdonalds Restaurants Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01002769, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “McDonald's: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/mcdonalds/. Figures from Companies House filings for MCDONALDS RESTAURANTS LIMITED (01002769).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
McDonald's v Burger King: revenue, profit and who owns them
Read →Company profile
Wetherspoons: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greggs: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Nando's: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks