Accounts to April 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed May 2026

River Café: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

The River Cafe Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Lady Ruth Rogers. In the year to April 2025 The River Cafe Limited reported turnover of £14m.

£14m
Turnover, up 5.6%
£0.2m
Pre-tax profit
158
Employees
Registered name
THE RIVER CAFE LIMITED
Company number
02105075
Status
Active
Incorporated
2 March 1987
Registered office area
West London
Industry code on the register
56101: Food and beverage service activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to April 2025, filed 10 May 2026

What does River Café do?

The River Café is an Italian restaurant at Thames Wharf in Hammersmith, London, with an open kitchen and a riverside garden terrace. It was founded in 1987 by Ruth Rogers and Rose Gray, in a building designed by Richard Rogers. Beyond the restaurant, it runs a café and an online shop selling its cookbooks, olive oil, drinks and homewares, and offers gift vouchers, events and off-site catering.

In brief: Italian restaurant · Hammersmith, London · cookbooks and online shop

Source: River Café's own website, retrieved 25 September 2026.

Who owns River Café?

The River Cafe Limited
River Café · company 02105075
Lady Ruth Rogers
Individual

The Companies House register records Lady Ruth Rogers as the person with significant control of The River Cafe Limited, company number 02105075.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs River Café?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for The River Cafe Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Lady Ruth Rogers
Lady Ruth Rogers28 February 2010
Roo Elias Rogers11 February 2022
Joshua Adam Berger1 June 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did River Café file?

The River Cafe Limited reported turnover of £14m in the year to April 2025. That was up 5.6% on £13m the year before.

It reported 158 employees. The year before it reported 149.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.2m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £0.2m the year before.

Staff costs came to £8m. That is an average of £48,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.7m at the bank and net assets of £0.4m.

Apr 2025£56.18£42.10£1.72 profit
Apr 2024£56.38£42.43£1.19 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureApr 2025Apr 2024
Turnover£14m£13m
Pre-tax profit£0.2m (filed)£0.2m (filed)
Employees158149
Staff costs£8m£7m
Average staff cost per head£48,000£49,000
Bank and cash£0.7m£0.5m
Net assets£0.4m£0.2m
Directors' pay£0.6m

Read the accounts to April 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against River Café?

The River Cafe Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 2 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Both outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Hsbc UK Bank PLC16 May 2020
Hill Samuel Bank Limited31 January 1990

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

River Café files as The River Cafe Limited, whose person with significant control is Lady Ruth Rogers, with turnover of £14m in its latest filed year.

Questions about River Café

What does River Café do?

The River Café is an Italian restaurant at Thames Wharf in Hammersmith, London, with an open kitchen and a riverside garden terrace. It was founded in 1987 by Ruth Rogers and Rose Gray, in a building designed by Richard Rogers. Beyond the restaurant, it runs a café and an online shop selling its cookbooks, olive oil, drinks and homewares, and offers gift vouchers, events and off-site catering.

Who owns River Café?

The Companies House register records Lady Ruth Rogers as the person with significant control of The River Cafe Limited.

How much does River Café make?

The River Cafe Limited reported turnover of £14m in the year to April 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £0.2m.

How many people work at River Café?

The River Cafe Limited reported 158 employees in the year to April 2025.

Who runs River Café?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for The River Cafe Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from The River Cafe Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 02105075, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “River Café: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/river-cafe/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE RIVER CAFE LIMITED (02105075).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings