Battle · 6 companies

London's Michelin-starred restaurants

The stars are on the door. Are they on the balance sheet?

St. JOHN leads on 2 of the five measures that matter most: turnover, pre-tax profit, profit margin, growth and net assets. St. JOHN is the biggest by turnover at £14m, against £14m at River Café. Trishna keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £29.09 as pre-tax profit.

The year ends are up to 7 months apart, so this compares each company's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months. St. JOHN files group accounts that include subsidiaries; Gymkhana, Trishna, Kitchen Table, Sabor and River Café file for a single company, which flatters the group on size.

Accounts compared: Gymkhana to Mar 2025 · Trishna to Mar 2025 · Kitchen Table to Mar 2025 · Sabor to Mar 2025 · St. JOHN to Oct 2025 · River Café to Apr 2025

The Numbers

#CompanyTurnoverChangePre-tax profitMarginEmployeesPay per headTurnover per headNet assetsBank and cashAccounts toBasis
1 St. JOHNSt. JOHN Group Limited £14m +10.6% £0.6m 4.2% 155 n/d £93,000 -£0.5m £0.1m Oct 2025 Group
2 River CaféThe River Cafe Limited £14m +5.6% £0.2m 1.7% 158 £48,000 £86,000 £0.4m £0.7m Apr 2025 Single company
3 GymkhanaGymkhana Restaurants Ltd £10m +7.9% £2m 21.1% 105 £31,000 £98,000 £8m £0.3m Mar 2025 Single company
4 TrishnaTrishna Restaurants Limited £4m -14.3% £1.2m 29.1% 46 £28,000 £91,000 £5m £78k Mar 2025 Single company
5 SaborSabor Restaurants Limited £4m -3.2% £0.3m 8.0% n/d n/d n/d £0.2m £0.2m Mar 2025 Single company
6 Kitchen TableKitchen Table Restaurants Limited £1.3m -20.8% -£0.2m -17.0% 16 £40,000 £79,000 -£1.8m £72k Mar 2025 Single company

Ranked by turnover. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each company's own prior year. Pre-tax profit is filed except where marked (est.).

Category winners

The Takeaway

  1. Trishna converts the most of its turnover. Of every £100, £29.09 reaches pre-tax profit, against a loss of £16.98 at Kitchen Table.
  2. St. JOHN is the largest on the top line, £14m of turnover, 1.1x River Café's £14m.
  3. St. JOHN is growing fastest, turnover +10.6% on its own prior year. Trishna, Kitchen Table and Sabor went backwards.
  4. River Café is the biggest employer with 158 people; River Café pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £48,000.
  5. Gymkhana has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £8m, while River Café holds the most cash at £0.7m.

Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?

Trishna keeps the most: £29.09 of every £100 of turnover becomes pre-tax profit. Kitchen Table does worst, losing £16.98.

Financing bites hardest at Kitchen Table: £10.11 of every £100 goes on interest.

Every profit figure here is the one the company filed.

The chart splits each company's turnover into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.

Out of every £100 of turnover

£100£0 Payroll: £30.80 of every £100Payroll£30.80Financing: £1.10 of every £100Other costs: £39.02 of every £100£39.02Profit: £29.09 of every £100Profit £29.09TrishnaYear to Mar 2025£4mPayroll: £31.45 of every £100Payroll£31.45Financing: £3.11 of every £100Other costs: £44.32 of every £100£44.32Profit: £21.11 of every £100Profit £21.11GymkhanaYear to Mar 2025£10mFinancing: £1.43 of every £100Other costs: £90.56 of every £100£90.56Profit: £8.01 of every £100Profit £8.01SaborYear to Mar 2025£4mFinancing: £1.00 of every £100Other costs: £94.77 of every £100£94.77Profit: £4.23 of every £100Profit £4.23St. JOHNYear to Oct 2025£14mPayroll: £56.18 of every £100Payroll£56.18Other costs: £42.10 of every £100£42.10Profit: £1.72 of every £100Profit £1.72River CaféYear to Apr 2025£14mPayroll: £50.19 of every £100Payroll£50.19Financing: £10.11 of every £100£10.11Other costs: £56.68 of every £100£56.68Loss (the costs beyond £100): £16.98 of every £100Loss £16.98KitchenTableYear to Mar 2025£1.3m
Payroll (staff costs)Financing (interest paid)Other running costsPre-tax profitLoss: the costs beyond £100

Each column is £100 of that company's own turnover, so companies of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Companies run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, financing is interest paid, other running costs are everything else, and profit is pre-tax profit, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.

Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?

By turnover the order is St. JOHN (£14m), River Café (£14m), Gymkhana (£10m), Trishna (£4m), Sabor (£4m), Kitchen Table (£1.3m).

By headcount, River Café leads with 158 employees.

The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: Gymkhana to Mar 2025, Trishna to Mar 2025, Kitchen Table to Mar 2025, Sabor to Mar 2025, St. JOHN to Oct 2025, River Café to Apr 2025. The bases differ: group accounts include the businesses a company owns, single-company accounts do not.

St. JOHN£14mRiver Café£14mGymkhana£10mTrishna£4mSabor£4mKitchen Table£1.3m

Turnover on the latest filing

Who is growing fastest?

St. JOHN grew fastest, turnover +10.6% on its own prior year, ahead of Gymkhana (+7.9%), River Café (+5.6%), Sabor (-3.2%), Trishna (-14.3%), Kitchen Table (-20.8%).

St. JOHN+10.6%Gymkhana+7.9%River Café+5.6%Sabor-3.2%Trishna-14.3%Kitchen Table-20.8%

Turnover change on each company's own prior year

Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?

River Café employs the most, 158 people, against 155 at St. JOHN.

River Café has the highest average staff cost, about £48,000 a head; Trishna the lowest, about £28,000.

Gymkhana brings in the most turnover per employee, about £98,000, against £79,000 at Kitchen Table. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.

What does the full ledger show?

MeasureGymkhanaTrishnaKitchen TableSaborSt. JOHNRiver Café
Registered nameGYMKHANA RESTAURANTS LTDTRISHNA RESTAURANTS LIMITEDKITCHEN TABLE RESTAURANTS LIMITEDSABOR RESTAURANTS LIMITEDST. JOHN GROUP LIMITEDTHE RIVER CAFE LIMITED
Company number083783870627235407987470106511411404819202105075
Incorporated201320072012201720221987
Accounts filed7 January 20262 January 20268 January 202623 January 202629 July 202610 May 2026
Turnover, prior year£10m£5m£1.6m£4m£13m£13m
Pre-tax profit, prior year£2m£1.5m-£0.1m£0.3m£0.4m£0.2m
Staff costs£3m£1.3m£0.6mn/dn/d£8m
Payroll share of turnover31.4%30.8%50.2%n/dn/d56.2%
Employees, prior year100431837152149
Dividends paidn/dn/dn/dn/dn/dn/d
Charges outstanding464312

A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.

London's Michelin-starred restaurants: common questions

Who is the biggest of Gymkhana, Trishna, Kitchen Table, Sabor, St. JOHN or River Café?

St. JOHN, with turnover of £14m in the year to October 2025.

Which makes the most profit?

Gymkhana: £2m pre-tax in the year to March 2025.

Which employs the most people?

River Café, with 158 employees in its latest accounts.

Gymkhana or Trishna: which is bigger?

Gymkhana, with turnover of £10m against £4m at Trishna on their latest filings. On margin, Trishna keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymkhana or Kitchen Table: which is bigger?

Gymkhana, with turnover of £10m against £1.3m at Kitchen Table on their latest filings. On margin, Gymkhana keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymkhana or Sabor: which is bigger?

Gymkhana, with turnover of £10m against £4m at Sabor on their latest filings. On margin, Gymkhana keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymkhana or St. JOHN: which is bigger?

St. JOHN, with turnover of £14m against £10m at Gymkhana on their latest filings. On margin, Gymkhana keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Gymkhana or River Café: which is bigger?

River Café, with turnover of £14m against £10m at Gymkhana on their latest filings. On margin, Gymkhana keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Trishna or Kitchen Table: which is bigger?

Trishna, with turnover of £4m against £1.3m at Kitchen Table on their latest filings. On margin, Trishna keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Trishna or Sabor: which is bigger?

Trishna, with turnover of £4m against £4m at Sabor on their latest filings. On margin, Trishna keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Trishna or St. JOHN: which is bigger?

St. JOHN, with turnover of £14m against £4m at Trishna on their latest filings. On margin, Trishna keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Trishna or River Café: which is bigger?

River Café, with turnover of £14m against £4m at Trishna on their latest filings. On margin, Trishna keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Kitchen Table or Sabor: which is bigger?

Sabor, with turnover of £4m against £1.3m at Kitchen Table on their latest filings. On margin, Sabor keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Kitchen Table or St. JOHN: which is bigger?

St. JOHN, with turnover of £14m against £1.3m at Kitchen Table on their latest filings. On margin, St. JOHN keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Kitchen Table or River Café: which is bigger?

River Café, with turnover of £14m against £1.3m at Kitchen Table on their latest filings. On margin, River Café keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Sabor or St. JOHN: which is bigger?

St. JOHN, with turnover of £14m against £4m at Sabor on their latest filings. On margin, Sabor keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Sabor or River Café: which is bigger?

River Café, with turnover of £14m against £4m at Sabor on their latest filings. On margin, Sabor keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

St. JOHN or River Café: which is bigger?

St. JOHN, with turnover of £14m against £14m at River Café on their latest filings. On margin, St. JOHN keeps more of each £100 as pre-tax profit.

Where do these figures come from?

Each company's latest accounts filed at Companies House. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.