Accounts to December 2024 · Single company accounts · Filed July 2025

David Lloyd: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

David Lloyd Leisure Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is David Lloyd Leisure Group Limited. In the year to December 2024 David Lloyd Leisure Limited reported turnover of £717m.

David Lloyd has filed accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 at Companies House. Those figures are not yet in Spark Intel's data, so this page shows the previous year, to 31 December 2024. It will update when they are.

£717m
Turnover, up 13.8%
£55m
Pre-tax profit
5,773
Employees
Registered name
DAVID LLOYD LEISURE LIMITED
Company number
01516226
Status
Active
Incorporated
8 September 1980
Registered office area
St. Albans
Industry code on the register
93120: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Latest accounts
Year to December 2024, filed 30 July 2025

What does David Lloyd do?

David Lloyd runs premium health, racquets and fitness clubs in the UK and Europe. Members pay for access to clubs with gyms, swimming pools, tennis courts, spas, fitness studios and children's activity and soft play areas. It aims its clubs at whole families rather than individual gym-goers. The range of facilities under one roof, especially racquet sports, sets it apart from budget gym chains.

In brief: premium health and fitness clubs · membership-based · pools, tennis and spas · UK and Europe

Source: David Lloyd's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns David Lloyd?

David Lloyd Leisure Limited
David Lloyd · company 01516226
David Lloyd Leisure Group Limited
Company

The Companies House register records David Lloyd Leisure Group Limited as the person with significant control of David Lloyd Leisure Limited, company number 01516226. David Lloyd Leisure Group Limited is itself company number 06261643.

That places David Lloyd Leisure Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs David Lloyd?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for David Lloyd Leisure Limited.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Patrick James Burrows1 December 2017
James Willis28 August 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did David Lloyd file?

David Lloyd Leisure Limited reported turnover of £717m in the year to December 2024. That was up 13.8% on £630m the year before.

It reported 5,773 employees. The year before it reported 5,475.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £55m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £17m the year before.

Staff costs came to £194m. That is an average of £34,000 a head. It ended the year with £4m at the bank and net assets of £468m.

Dec 2024£27.00£51.76£7.64 profit
Dec 2023£27.10£75.67£2.77 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2024Dec 2023
Turnover£717m£630m
Pre-tax profit£55m (filed)-£17m (filed)
Employees5,7735,475
Staff costs£194m£171m
Average staff cost per head£34,000£31,000
Bank and cash£4m£4m
Net assets£468m£418m
Interest paid£97m
Interest received£44m
Directors' pay£1.9m

Read the accounts to December 2024 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against David Lloyd?

David Lloyd Leisure Limited has registered 29 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
The Society Incorporated by Lloyd's Act 1871 by the Name of Lloyds20 January 2026
Glas Trust Corporation Limited as the Security Agent21 November 2025
Barclays Bank PLC11 July 2024
Barclays Bank PLC11 July 2024
Glas Trust Corporation Limited21 June 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

David Lloyd files as David Lloyd Leisure Limited, whose person with significant control is David Lloyd Leisure Group Limited, with turnover of £717m in its latest filed year.

Questions about David Lloyd

What does David Lloyd do?

David Lloyd runs premium health, racquets and fitness clubs in the UK and Europe. Members pay for access to clubs with gyms, swimming pools, tennis courts, spas, fitness studios and children's activity and soft play areas. It aims its clubs at whole families rather than individual gym-goers. The range of facilities under one roof, especially racquet sports, sets it apart from budget gym chains.

Who owns David Lloyd?

The Companies House register records David Lloyd Leisure Group Limited as the person with significant control of David Lloyd Leisure Limited.

How much does David Lloyd make?

David Lloyd Leisure Limited reported turnover of £717m in the year to December 2024. It filed a pre-tax profit of £55m.

How many people work at David Lloyd?

David Lloyd Leisure Limited reported 5,773 employees in the year to December 2024.

Who runs David Lloyd?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for David Lloyd Leisure Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from David Lloyd Leisure Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01516226, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “David Lloyd: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/david-lloyd/. Figures from Companies House filings for DAVID LLOYD LEISURE LIMITED (01516226).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings