Accounts to December 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed June 2026

PureGym: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Pure Gym Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Gym Bidco Limited. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to December 2025 Pure Gym Limited reported turnover of £464m.

£464m
Turnover, up 11.4%
£87m
Pre-tax profit
4,067
Employees
Registered name
PURE GYM LIMITED
Company number
06690189
Status
Active
Incorporated
5 September 2008
Registered office area
Leeds
Industry code on the register
93130: Sports activities and amusement and recreation activities
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 6 June 2026

What does PureGym do?

PureGym runs gyms that members join for access to gym equipment and training space. It keeps its gyms simple and affordable, leaving out extras such as swimming pools and cafés that it says most people never use. Instead it concentrates on equipment, space and a welcoming atmosphere, which keeps membership prices down. It opened its first gym in Leeds in 2009.

In brief: gym chain · affordable memberships · no pools or cafés · started in Leeds

Source: PureGym's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns PureGym?

Pure Gym Limited
PureGym · company 06690189
Gym Bidco Limited
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records Gym Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Pure Gym Limited, company number 06690189. Gym Bidco Limited is itself company number 08507812. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 6 April 2016.

That places Pure Gym Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs PureGym?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Pure Gym Limited.

All 2 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Alexander Basil John Wood10 October 2018
Rebecca Elizabeth Passmore31 December 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did PureGym file?

Pure Gym Limited reported turnover of £464m in the year to December 2025. That was up 11.4% on £416m the year before.

It reported 4,067 employees. The year before it reported 3,734.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £87m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £79m the year before.

Staff costs came to £92m. That is an average of £23,000 a head. It ended the year with £48m at the bank and net assets of £782m.

Dec 2025£19.89£51.04£18.68£18.68 profit
Dec 2024£18.73£62.40£18.87£18.87 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£464m£416m
Pre-tax profit£87m (filed)£79m (filed)
Employees4,0673,734
Staff costs£92m£78m
Average staff cost per head£23,000£21,000
Bank and cash£48m£102m
Net assets£782m£667m
Interest paid£48m
Interest received£37m
Directors' pay£6m

Read the accounts to December 2025 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing

Are there any charges against PureGym?

Pure Gym Limited has registered 14 charges at Companies House, of which 3 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 3 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch10 October 2024
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch17 October 2023
Barclays Bank PLC28 November 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How PureGym compares

PureGym files as Pure Gym Limited, whose person with significant control is Gym Bidco Limited, with turnover of £464m in its latest filed year.

Questions about PureGym

What does PureGym do?

PureGym runs gyms that members join for access to gym equipment and training space. It keeps its gyms simple and affordable, leaving out extras such as swimming pools and cafés that it says most people never use. Instead it concentrates on equipment, space and a welcoming atmosphere, which keeps membership prices down. It opened its first gym in Leeds in 2009.

Who owns PureGym?

The Companies House register records Gym Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Pure Gym Limited. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does PureGym make?

Pure Gym Limited reported turnover of £464m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £87m.

How many people work at PureGym?

Pure Gym Limited reported 4,067 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs PureGym?

The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for Pure Gym Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Pure Gym Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 06690189, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “PureGym: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/puregym/. Figures from Companies House filings for PURE GYM LIMITED (06690189).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings