Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed July 2026

Nuffield Health: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Nuffield Health has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2025 it reported turnover of £1,485m.

£1,485m
Turnover, up 2.2%
-£59m
Pre-tax profit
18,566
Employees
Registered name
NUFFIELD HEALTH
Company number
00576970
Status
Active
Incorporated
14 January 1957
Registered office area
Kingston
Industry code on the register
86900: Human health activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 7 July 2026

What does Nuffield Health do?

Nuffield Health is a healthcare charity that runs private hospitals, gyms and medical centres. Its income comes from private patients, health insurers, NHS referrals, gym memberships and health services it provides to employers. As a charity it has no shareholders, and it reinvests its profits in its services.

In brief: healthcare charity · private hospitals and gyms · no shareholders

Source: Nuffield Health's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Nuffield Health?

Nuffield Health, company number 00576970, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Nuffield Health?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Nuffield Health.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Dr Natalie-Jane Anne Macdonald27 January 2017
Patrick Adam Fernesley Figgis27 June 2018
Mark Andrew Stansfeld1 October 2021
Elizabeth Jane Robb18 October 2022
Iben Thomson30 November 2022
Tracey Anne Killen26 July 2023
Lee Rochford26 July 2023
Karen Tracy Whitworth1 September 2023
Dominic Dodd26 November 2025
Dr Sam Barrell1 January 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Nuffield Health file?

Nuffield Health reported turnover of £1,485m in the year to December 2025. That was up 2.2% on £1,453m the year before.

It reported 18,566 employees. The year before it reported 19,361.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £59m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £36m the year before.

Staff costs came to £566m. That is an average of £30,000 a head. It ended the year with £9m at the bank and net assets of £1,012m.

Dec 2025£38.13£61.08£3.96 loss
Dec 2024£38.66£63.85£2.50 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£1,485m£1,453m
Pre-tax profit-£59m (filed)-£36m (filed)
Employees18,56619,361
Staff costs£566m£562m
Average staff cost per head£30,000£29,000
Bank and cash£9m£10m
Net assets£1,012m£1,064m
Interest paid£71m
Directors' pay£0.4m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Nuffield Health?

Nuffield Health has registered 26 charges at Companies House, of which 12 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 12 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)12 May 2026
National Westminster Bank PLC (As Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)23 September 2022
Natwest Markets PLC (In Its Capacity as Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)30 October 2020
Natwest Markets PLC (As Security Trustee)13 August 2020
Natwest Markets PLC (As Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)30 July 2020
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC (Acting as Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)21 October 2016
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC (As Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)24 December 2015
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC31 October 2014
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC (In Its Capacity as Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)20 October 2014
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC as Security Trustee19 December 2011
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC (As Security Trustee for the Beneficiaries)9 December 2011
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC12 August 2009

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Nuffield Health files as Nuffield Health, with turnover of £1,485m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Nuffield Health

What does Nuffield Health do?

Nuffield Health is a healthcare charity that runs private hospitals, gyms and medical centres. Its income comes from private patients, health insurers, NHS referrals, gym memberships and health services it provides to employers. As a charity it has no shareholders, and it reinvests its profits in its services.

Who owns Nuffield Health?

Nuffield Health has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Nuffield Health make?

Nuffield Health reported turnover of £1,485m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £59m.

How many people work at Nuffield Health?

Nuffield Health reported 18,566 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Nuffield Health?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Nuffield Health. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Nuffield Health's filings at Companies House, company number 00576970, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Nuffield Health: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/nuffield-health/. Figures from Companies House filings for NUFFIELD HEALTH (00576970).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings